We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Rome, Italy
1 review
“very recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel and the room are beautiful and very clean.
The location is perfect, near the beautiful Oosterpark and near the trams stops for everywhere. The staff are very very helpful and friendly.
I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and ofcourse for leaving this pleasant review. We hope to welcome you again!

Best regards,
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    290
    64
    19
    8
See reviews for
40
336
19
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Spent Easter bank hliday here ( 3 nights). Room clean tidy and comfortable, staff helpful. Location great, Bus stop and tram stop right outside, Railway ( trains were on time to the second!), a few minutes walk behind hotel. Only 2k (ish) to the city centre so we walked it all the time, ambling along different roads each time. Great cafes on same side of road heading for centre, only a few yards away.(just sit and watch the world go by. If you are a light sleeper a room at the front of the hotel may keep you awake due to the rumbling of the trams, no problem for me however. Free wifi in rooms very handy as well. Booked via a Lastminute.com package, so with accomadation and flights the price was very good, and we would certainly come here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your visit to our hotel and ofcourse for leaving this pleasant review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Very nice location indeed, staff were very helpful, attached Italian restaurant is very nice and reasonably priced.

Few bad bits.... twin room beds which kept moving apart....noisy neighbors above......2 euro for a snickers in the vending machine ( at least Dick Turpin wore a mask)......i found the beds small and uncomfortable.

Stones throw from a coffeeshop for those who indulge which is a pretty cool place, unlike the coffeshops in the dam which a full of red eyed, green cheeked young Americans trying to roll joints.

Travel to the center is easy by tram or bus.......word of advice here.....at central station buy a tram pass from the ticket counter. It's simple to use and will save you an absolute fortune........and don't worry guys....Baba's cafe is only a short walk away :)

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you very much in sharing your experience with us. It is only through guest comments such as yours that we can constantly improve our service and standards. We will look into the issue with the beds.
I do hope this will not deter you from visiting us in the near future.
Kind regards,
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I checked into this hotel away from the normal Centraal Station area. The neighborhood is quiet and has very Amsterdam interior designs. Look at the pictures and you will understand why. The rooms are comfortable and clean and has residential buildings at the back and small little shops across the road. In front of the hotel is the tram station that will get you to the Centraal Station. They also have bikes for rental in case you wanted to try something the Netherlands way. A walking distance will bring you to a great park, Oosterpark. Good for a stroll.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experienece with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed in the manor hotel for three nights.. Exactly what you need for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. The hotel was clean and smelt good. The staff were friendly and generally accommodating. The hotel is opposite a bus stop that takes 5 minutes to reach the centre. There is also a good cafe next door. I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,

Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Room was clean with a large and comfortable bed. Hotel is situated near Ousterpark but with a tram stop outside the hotel it is only a 15 minute ride into the centre. Did not use the restaurant as we felt the breakfast was a bit expensive at €17.50 so instead used a nearby café.
The reception staff were always friendly and on checking in the concierge was on hand with advice/tips for Amsterdam.
I have not rated the hotel as excellent as:-
1) on 2nd day of stay reported that one of the bedside reading lights was not working - still the same when we left 3 days later.
2) on one day the cups and spoons for the coffee/tea in the room were not cleaned.
3 )on the website http://www.hampshire-hotels.com/en/the-manor-hotel-amsterdam-hampshire-eden appears this statement
Loungebar
You can visit the Loungebar throughout the day for coffee or tea. In the evenings you can order wines and cocktails.
However on one evening when we order a cocktail we were told "We do not serve cocktails"!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quiete.r
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time in sharing your experince with us. It is only through guest comments such as yours that we can constantly improve our service & standards. The mentioned issues are being discussed with the responsible departments. I do hope this will not deter you from visiting us in the near future.
kind regards,

Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We loved the hotel, where we stayed two days upon our trip to Amsterdam. Breakfast was of very good value and the room was looking really nice and clean. Only downside is that from the first evening untill checkout time, the hotel was completely without power. The evening is long when you can't see or do anything.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing a review. Indeed we had a power issue in the beginning of January. I am very sorry the inconvience the power shut caused you. We hope this will not deter you from visiting the hotel again in the near future.

kind regards,

Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.