We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Well Done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great location, easy to get to and lots of good cafés and restaurants near by. Enoteca was Aldo good. I had a breakfast, lunch and dinner. All were very good, good value as well. Service as attentive. Rooms are modern and well appointed. Only know was housekeeping. My room was not cleaned until nearly 5 PM and no fresh towels!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. Notes about housekeeping have been discussed with the Housekeeper. We hope this will not deter you from visiting us again in the near future.
kind regards
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    335
    74
    18
    11
See reviews for
49
379
23
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

my wife and I stayed here in November 2013 for a long weekend. The hotel has a frequent tram into the city centre making it a good base for exploring. Very comfortable room with good amenities for a good price. Very unusual layout to the room, but I like quirky.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing a review.
kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was perfect for our stay in amsterdam, good location tram line leads straight to the hotel ( tram 9 ) only problem is the last tram at 12pm so you have to come back earlyish. Staff were fantastic always helped us when we needed help, rooms were great beds are amazing. Best hotel i have ever stayed in and for £56 for 2 nights i really cant fault it. Rooms where cleaned everyday no personal items touched always left as they where. If you are going to amsterdam to smoke visit smoke palace 20 seconds away from the hotel very good coffeeshop. Overall 5/5 stay would definatly book here again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you very much for this pleasant reviwe. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Well located, there is a tram stop just in front of the hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel offers complete facilities,Good choice, i recommend it! However, as i'm myself receptionist, the reception of the hotel staff could be more friendly/warm


  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time in wrting a review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed here in February 2014. I will begin with a few days before we arrived at the hotel I sent them an email to make a special requirement with the room. I was emailed back very quickly and they had reserved me a room with a balcony at no extra charge which was great.

We arrived at the hotel late at night and checked in no problem. Knowone to show you to your room though or offer a map of Amsterdam or any advice. Please also be aware you have to pay a 50euros deposit when checking in and do not get this back until the end of your holiday, please budget for this as we did not and ended up having to draw out extra cash.

When we got to the room it looked nice, apart from the big mirror on the wall was covered in dust and under the bed was absoloutley filthy with dust and an old chocolate bar wrapper. The cleaners clearly dont take the time to clean under the beds. The room was on the front of the hotel next to the road. The noise is not load at all and is easy to sleep at night.

As you will see from the other reviews the toliet situation is a strange one, there is a frosted glass door with an inch gap all the way around so you have clear visibility from the bed into the bathroom, there is also a mirror on the side of the room with a clear glass window looking directly at the toilet. We did not like that as was always abit awkward when you needed the toilet knowing someone can see you clearly.

Location - Is a good location if you do not want to be right in the centre of Amsterdam, get the number 9 tram from outside the hotel and you will be in the centre within 10 minutes. That part was excellent. Also there is a cafe directly next to the hotel called smoke palace, the best coffeshop in Amsterdam in my opinion and open late.

we did eat dinner at the hotel one night and were worried as previous reviews mentioned the price. We did not find it overly expensive and the food was nice. Maybe a little to pushy for us in trying to get us to order more drinks etc.

Overall I would say this is definatly not a 4 start rating hotel but it could be if they were a little more helpful and the rooms are knowhere near as dusty as it was. None of the above spolit our holiday in the slightest.

If I was to return to Amsterdam I personally would not stay in this hotel again however if I knew the rooms wouldnt be so dusty and you didnt have to watch eachother on the toilet.

if the toilet situation does not bother you and you do not want to be in the city centre but want to be close then I would say book this hotel. If not look elsewhere.

All in all we were happy with the price we paid for the hotel so definately not the worst hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. It is only through guest comments such as yours that we can constantly improve our service and standards. We do hope the comments will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.
kind regards,
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My Partner and I have just recently arrived hom from 3 nights at The Manor Hotel in Amsterdam (Valentines Weekend). The Hotel and the staff were fantastic. They all spoke perfect English which really did help us as we were new to exploring the beautiful city of Amsterdam. They provided us with a map and advised us the best mode of Transport to use was the Trams, I found using the trams a doddle and cheap when buying the 48hour option. The Hotel is relatively new, the interior is fresh, modern and funky. Our room had 2 LG tv's, a queen size bed (very comfy!), fantastic bathroom and a real modern feel about it, including the bums yes bums on the wallpaper behind the bed! The design is quirky I liked it very much. We did order room service for dinner and breakfast at one point and both were very enjoyable. As it was Valentines on arriving back at the hotel after a long day out a rose and a note to us wishing us a Happy Valentines was a great touch. You would have to be very incrediably picky to not enjoy your stay here!

Room Tip: Junior Double Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. And good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
kind regards
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel is a 15 minute Tram Ride from Amsterdam Central Station and provides comfortable clean accommodation at sensible prices. One tip-have breakfast in one of the excellent nearby cafes for less than half the price of the expensive Enoteca (which is better value for dinner). Tram is No 9. The staff were most helpful including allowing us to check in at 10 am due to early arrival!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing a review. we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.