We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will come back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“will come back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

really nice hotel. i loved the location and the building.
beautiful room and really kind people. never been to the internal restaurant but it seems a really good one. I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your visit to our hotel and ofcourse for leaving this pleasant review. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    348
    78
    19
    11
See reviews for
50
389
24
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I went there with my partner for a long week end and I took this hotel because it wasn’t in the centre, but it wasn’t so far, and it looked like a nice non-standard place.

I will start with the negative points:

First of all, the entrance: why there is a dressed table right in the entrance, which no one ever used? It’s just to say “hey, we have a restaurant”? I entered the hotel and I was already a little bit lost.

Then, the reception. I don’t know why you decided to have them like supermarket desks, but it’s a choice, and it doesn’t matter. But I had to wait, and too much, and then had a receptionist that wasn’t smiling at all … this is important for me, and it wasn’t a good start.

Property: the room was quite clean, except the fact that I found a hair in the bathroom wall near the toilet.. but the corridor to arrive in the room was terrible. Black stains everywhere, and not recent. I would heartily suggest to change the carpeting (also because the theme is awful).

In the end, the breakfast. Very well presented, large choice, ham, cheese, eggs, fruits but… 17euro?? Are you serious?? I had it once, then for 5euro I had every day a very good breakfast 50 metres from the hotel.

Positive points: very good position. There is a tram stop right in front of the hotel, and it goes directly to the centre. The bed is very comfy and the room is big enough…

Anyway, I would not suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time in wrting a review.I'm very sorry to hear that we did not meer your expectations.
With your input we can improve ourselves. I hope I may welcome you again so you can experience that we will do anything to give you a pleasant stay.


Could you contact me to discuss a proper solution for the caused inconvenience?

Best regards,
Claire van Campen
c.vancampen@hampshire-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here as a couple in Feb 13. It was a lovely hotel, the decor was modern and artisitic. Very unusual but it stands out from other hotels. The staff were polite and the rooms were clean (although a bit on the small side). We were hardly ever in the room as we wanted to explore Amsterdam.

There is a bus which stops directly outside the hotel which takes you into central Amsterdam in about 15 minutes. These buses run quite late too. We got a taxi back to the hotel one evening which was about €20, not too pricey.

We ate in the restauant one night and the food was delicious. The service was fantastic, staff were extremely polite and attentive. It was reasonably priced too.

If you are looking for a nice hotel, slightly out of the city centre, then this is a great choice. It is also only about a ten minute walk from the train station which has trains going directly to Schipol airport ( al ot cheaper than a taxi).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your visit to our hotel and ofcourse for leaving this pleasant review. We hope to welcome you again!

Best regards,
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I booked this hotel to do something special with my girlfriend on Christmas night. We Arrived very late at 12 o'clock. The guy who checked me in was not bad but he didn't explain anything. The only thing he said was room 37.

At the time i was very hungry so I asked a staff member for some food he only had some nuts from the bar. I was disappointed the room service had only pizza's no snacks. I was even more disappointed next morning when i found out that the hotel had a snack machine in the lobby tucked away in a corner. "great work staff"

The room was nice a little to white for me but that’s personal. Very big room, high ceiling, two TV’s a bathroom with a window looking into the room. Separate bath, shower and a very well isolated toilet, nice !

Breakfast was disapointing no special christmas spirit. The only word a staff member said to me was "room number". I like to eat a big breakfast in hotels but the selection was just poor not 4 stars. I left the hotel and ate another breakfast across the road.

Overall not good. Nice rooms, bad staff, no Christmas spirit, I wouldn't go here if you want to celebrate holidays.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
'm very sorry to hear that your expectation didn't match the reality.
Thanks a lot for writing this review. With your input we can improve ourselves.

Could you contact me to discuss a proper solution for the caused inconvenience?

Best regards,
Claire van Campen
c.vancampen@hampshire-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

As soon as we arrived we were told to wait (which I was fine with because these things happen) however, EVERY time we needed to talk to the concierge they were rude and uninterested, at one point we went down and the manager stood BEHIND us and it wasn't until we turned to him he asked us if he could help us- absolutely ridiculous.

The location of the hotel is great with a tram line running to central station right out the front of the hotel.

The room itself from first glance was really nice, modern looking. But upon closer inspection there was THICK mould around the fan in the bathroom (I'm talking half a cm with no exaggeration). The bathroom also stank and made our room smell disgusting during our whole stay- like stale sewage water. And when the room was serviced instead of giving us clean glasses they just turned the old ones upside down, there was still coke residue in the bottom.

I really would never stay here again, I can look past the dirty bathroom and glasses. But the service was that bad it made us feel awkward and as though we were an inconvienince to them by being there.
There plenty more hotels in Amsterdam in the same price range and I suggest you choose those instead.

(Note: it's not often I leave a negative review, but I felt as though I needed to in this case)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
'm very sorry to hear that your expectation didn't match the reality.
Thanks a lot for writing this review. With your input we can improve ourselves.
Could you contact me to discuss a proper solution for the caused inconvenience?

Best regards,
Claire van Campen
c.vancampen@hampshire-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Funtastic. Enjoyable. The staff is so friendly and helpful, The rooms are so nice, filled with creative design, functional and quite. A convenient location for daily shopping and taking the tram or the bus just in he front of the hotel to take me anywhere I needed in town and around.
A part of the XXX experience

Room Tip: Any room. There are also suites, I consider affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your enthousiastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights end of November 2013. On first impression the hotel is very grand and striking to look at and we had a concierge collect our luggage from the taxi we arrived in. The receptionist Rachel was very nice and gave us all the details we needed for our stay. Downstairs was very clean and the bar was very tidy too the staff also very pleasent to talk too. Apart from this though the hotel does have it's down points. We went to our room (308) and the sign already by the door had fallen off and was on the floor. The room as we entered was quite large but looked as though it hadn't been hoovered properly in a while as when I sorted my suitcase I found an orange pill under the bed which could well still be there now as I didn't want to touch it. Also hung my coat on the beam that runs across the room and when I took it down it was thick white with dust. Also the shower hasn't got a lot of power on it and the pipe that runs from the bottom to the top of the shower sticks out so when you do wash you catch it which is annoying. The noise from the main road is very loud aswell. We were at the front of the hotel and the trams go past both ways about every 5 mins and you can here them very clearly up until after midnight when they stop running. Breakfast expensive, breakfast in the room costs 17.50 euros each and dinner isn't the cheapest either better to go out for more choice and a bit cheaper. The tram number 9 picks you up directly outside the hotel to centraal station which stops at most of the main areas through amsterdam and same tram on the way back with die men sniep on the top so this was very good as the hotel is a bit out the way. All in all very average I've stayed in worse and I've stayed in better. They just need to fine tune the finer details and keep on top of staff from laziness to keep standards up and they'll be up there. I've worked in hotels etc and I know that if a cleaner is left to his/hers devises they will cut corners and this is what has happened here. And if you fancy a quiet night in with the tele make sure you love bbc 1 or bbc2 as these are the only channels you have to watch the rest are dutch ones.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time a writing a review. I'm very sorry to hear that your expectation didn't match the reality. The cleanliness of your room will be adresses to housekeeping so we can prevent this from happening in the future.
With your input we can improve ourselves. I hope I may welcome you again so you can experience that we will do anything to give you a pleasant stay.

Could you contact me to discuss a proper solution for the caused inconvenience?

Best regards,
Claire van Campen
c.vancampen@hampshire-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.