We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel a bit out of the center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel a bit out of the center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I spent two nights on a business trip. The rooms are modern and clean. TV, WLAN all there. The Hotel was renovated only two years ago.

The place is a bit out, but public traffic is right in front of the door.

For €17.-- the breakfast could offer more variety.

Would stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time writing a review. We are indeed located away from the center, it takes 15 min bij public transportation to reach the center. We also offer an a la carte breakfast. We look froward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    394
    89
    19
    11
See reviews for
60
448
29
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yokneam
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Ok it's not really in the center, but it's close enough.
It's an old building totally renovated.
We stayed for 2 nights on a business trip.
Rooms on 3rd floor . Facing main road. No significant noise from street.

Rooms are very nice , large enough well furnished and in excellent condition. Apart from a bizarre window/mirror into the bathroom , it was perfect.

Service from staff is very good.
Excellent breakfast , good coffee and fresh orange juice.
I would definitely return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Google Translation
Dank u wel voor uw vriendelijke woorden, leuk om te horen dat u genoten heeft. We kijken ernaar uit u in de toekomst weer te mogen verwelkomen. vriendelijke groeten, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights from 25 to 28 november 2013. Staff very friendly and helpful and the hotel very clean and modern, the room was a good size and had all that you need for a comfortable stay with the exception of the pillows which we found to be uncomfortable otherwise that is our only complaint. We didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food but we did think it rather expensive for breakfast so ate elsewhere. The hotel is far enough away to be out of the hustle and bustle of the city but well placed for getting about and with a tram stop right outside we found it perfectly situated.

Room Tip: West side room was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing a review. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will look into the comment of the pillows. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights from 20th - 21st November, 2013. This hotel was very clean and the staff were helpful. Our room was comfortable if a little too close to the bar. It should be borne in mind, if you are travelling by car, that parking is limited, expensive and needs to be pre-booked.

There are public transport links within a very short walk from the hotel which is very convenient. It took us only 2 or 3 minutes walk to reach the tram stop.

We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is away from the bar. It can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you very much in sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Very well decorated hotel. Superbly clean everywhere. Linen excellent. staff very pleasant and helpful especially the concierge.Too hot in the room.Told we could not open the window.A/C same hot or cold.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Tahnk you for taking the time in sharing a your experience with us. I am sorry to hear the temprature in your room was not as you wished. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Large hotel. Friendly receptionists all English speaking. Very attentative.
Hotel restaurant quite expensive without an extensive menu.
Very modern inside. All red and black with the Amsterdam symbols of the 3 red X's everywhere from the carpets to the walls!
We had a large double bed in our room, fridge, tv, safe, hair dryer, kettle with tea and coffee.
The only drawback that we really didnt like was the fact that the toilet/shower room had clear glass windows so if you went in there, your partner could see you on the toilet! Very weird and disturbing!
Mirrors everywhere in the room and pink lighting in the alcoves of the ceiling!
Tram stops right outside so excellent connections to Amsterdam centraal, red light district, shopping, museums,everywhere! You pay E7.50 for 24 hours and jump on as many trams as you like!
We ate at the hotel restaurant one evening which cost nearly £100 without alcohol for 2 courses which I thought a little steep as we didnt have anything extravagant!
Supermarket across the road but nothing else.
You have to get on a tram if you want to go anywhere as we got lost for 4 hours as everywhere in Amsterdam looks the same!
Canals and houses.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing a review on Trip advisor. It is only through guest comments that we can constantly improve our service and standards. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Pros: great connection to the city (tram 9, 10-15 minutes max. that takes you to amsterdam centrale station), very comfortable beds, room is modern yet practical/functional, good lighting, has water kettle, good TV channels

Cons: weak water pressure (not good for shower), hallways remind me of the movie "the shining" (this used to be a hospital after all), staff is helpful but not particularly friendly (except the older gentlemen guarding the main entrance, he was very nice), don't attempt to sit on the chairs (very dusty)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. We will look into the matters you addressed aso we can improve our service and standards. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.