We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, Amsterdam 1093 EK, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at The Manor Hotel in October 2013. It is an updated and modernized. The front desk staff was always polite and helpful, there is free WiFi in the hotel, and each room has a safe. We stayed in room 110 and the free WiFi in our room was strong and fast.

The only odd thing about the bathroom is the narrow mirror over the sink: on either side of it there were windows looking into the room's front entryway. So anyone that was in the entryway could look directly into the bathroom. Not a worry if you're with someone you're comfortable with, I suppose, just odd.

Breakfast consists of eggs (hard boiled and scrambled), sausages, bacon, sliced deli meats and cheese, a variety of yogurts and toppings (granola, fruit), breads, and juices - no complaints at all. Breakfast is apparently a couple Euros less per person if you inform the front desk in advance that you will be showing up.

Also, The Manor Hotel is right next to Tram stops (the #9, #7, and #3) so access to the city is VERY easy - especially with a day or multi-day travel card.

High marks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time a writing a review, and sharing your experience with, Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    286
    63
    19
    8
See reviews for
39
334
18
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Newly renovated hotel - with large rooms for a fair price. The hotel was placed just next to a tram - one of them directly to city center - the other one to the museum district. It will tak about 15-20 min. transportation time to the city center/Rijksmuseum.

Parking in front of the hotel is expensive (27 EUR per day..!)

The hotel interior is near to be a bit kinky - but the rooms was great.

Only complain was that we after a long day out - arrived to our room at 5.30 pm. and it wasn't cleaned. We had to ask for the cleaning - and spend 15 min in the lobby while cleaned. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much in writing a review on Tripadvisor. We are located in the East part of Amsterdam, by tram it takes 7 minites to arrive at the Rembrandts Square, the city center.
Unfortunelly parking is very expensive all over Amsterdam, in the streets the price is 5 euro's an hour.
We apologise for not having your room cleaned upon arrival, we have taken this up with our housekeeping department. We hope to welcome you back in the future. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Really impressed with the hotel clerks and front desk staff. They helped us out on just about everything we asked. The location was good not to far away from most of the destinations I needed to go and see things plus the tram was right there in front of the hotel and I used a pass the whole time there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank youvery much for taking time in sharing your experince with us. I will pass on the compliments to the Front Office team. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Overall pleased with the hotel. Was in close proximity to the city centre, although a bit far to walk this did not phase us as it is a lovely city to walk around and there was trams right out side the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
thank you for taking the time in wrting a review. Kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, HaMerkaz, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in Manor hotel Amsterdam. The hotel has fabulous room design. the room and the bathroom are large and comfortable.
Near the hotel you can find a tram station, supermarket, restaurants and coffeeshop. It takes about 10 min on tram to get to the city center.
At the last day, we rant 2 bicycles at the hotel for 24 hours (15 euro for each one). It was fantastic! I recommend it to everyone.
The hotel also offers breakfast for additional fee. we didn't try it because we prefer to eat things we have bought in supermarket nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
thank you very much in takling the time in wrting a review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
België
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed there with my best friend for 3 nights and loved every minute of it!
We travelled with our car and you could park at the hotel at, if I'm not mistaken, 27€/night which was convenient. The room was big enough and very clean and has a flat screen tv.
We took the tram, which stops right in front of the hotel, to the city every day. Very handy if you wish to stop here and there. They sell day and hour tickets. If you did not reserve breakfast at the hotel and you wanted some, you have plenty of breakfast places nearby at a good price too.
We will surely return!

Room Tip: we had a poster of a wc in our room. It was so funny :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in wrting about your experience. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for 3 nights as part of a long weekend trip.

This hotel ticked all the boxes. We got a fair deal via expedia so the room wasn't too expensive the nights we stayed. The hotel itself turned out to be in the perfect location for us as it's not in the complete centre, but certainly in a pleasant "district" that is easily accessible to the centre (the dam and centraal station). There are several supermarkets 5 minutes away to get essentials like juice and snacks which also have cash machines. There are plenty of bars and eateries near by, infact there was a spot to eat just over the road owned by a lovely smiley man who was only too happy to help us and fairly cheap (Amsterdam is typically expensive!), there we had lunch with drinks for 13 euros.

All the staff were fab, and friendly speaking fluent english so we could ask all sorts of queries and get all sorts of suggestions. They know the city inside out.

Our room was beautifully clean with a TV (which even had BBC 1 and 2 so we could keep up to date with goings on) and blackout curtains that worked so well we ended up sleeping 'til 11.30am one morning thinking it must only be 7am or so. We had a walk in shower that could probably have housed 4 people easy(!...) but instead we got to enjoy all that space to ourselves. The beds were super comfortable and so were the pillows. The heating unit kept us at the perfect temperature. The hallways are well presented and there is lift access.

The pricing of the breakfast seemed a bit steep given I wouldn't really want to have an "all you can eat" style breakfast, but they do an a la carte style breakfast too it turned out where items are in the range of 6-9 euros which is half the price of the buffet breakfast. However we didn't use this service in the end either.

There are a couple of bars down the road, one was called milo I believe and had friendly staff and plenty of locals and tourists having a good time. They also had the "best" spit roast chicken and fries (see other review).

Trams and buses stop outside the hotel taking you right to the centre, but watch out for the cyclists as you cross the road!

A great place to visit near by is Artis zoo and Oosterpark is a nice place to take a stroll too.

So yes, we would definitely come back to the Manor hotel. Big thumbs up!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front get to overlook the street and feel part of the centre and double glazed windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much in writing such an enthousiastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Linneausstraat 89, Amsterdam 1093 EK, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, HotelsNL and EasyToBook so you can book your The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.