We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern and classy hotel!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very modern and classy hotel!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Walking into the hotel, it was very welcoming and the decor was pretty. We arrived very early at 8am and the hotel staff were very accommodating and let us check into our room early at no charge. This was wonderful since we had just had a long flight in from the US and large luggage. In the event that a room wouldn't have been ready for us, they do offer to store it for you.

The hallways were bright red with X's that represent Amsterdam. The room was modern with purple mood lighting near the ceiling. Windows were large with long draperies. The bathroom was a decent size.. nothing large or too small. My only complaints were the shower didn't have a fully enclosed door, so the bathroom floor got pretty wet. Also, we wanted a queen sized bed.. but I guess in Europe they put two twin beds together? Either way, this was kind of uncomfortable to sleep with your significant other since there was a crack in the middle. The A/C was turned on max, but it still always seemed hot in the room.. so we had to open up the window each night. During my 2 weeks in Europe, the A/C never seemed very cold in our other hotels or restaurants either.

Other than that, my 5 night stay was wonderful and the best hotel on my entire trip!! The room was cleaned each day and the bed and pillows were comfortable. It's not a quick walk to central Amsterdam, but we got a week long tram pass and there's a stop right outside of the hotel. There's also a handful of good restaurants within walking distance. If you want real dutch food, I recommend going to 'Moeders'... you have to take the tram though and make a reservation!

OH... I almost forgot to mention, there is a mini refrigerator in the room and a grocery store a block down the street!! Great for keeping drinks or beer cold! We didn't want to pay for breakfast... so we got milk and cereal for in the room which held us over until lunch. All hotels should have refrigerators!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing a review, and good to hear you enjoyed your stay. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    291
    64
    19
    8
See reviews for
40
337
19
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I recently stayed here on a 5 day break, we had a deluxe room which overlooked the garden and was very quiet. From the moment we entered the hotel I found all the staff were very friendly, we arrived early so could not immediately go to our room but the reception arranged for our bags to be stored until it was, everbody spoke perfect english. The only issue I had was with the tea and coffee not being full when we arrived which was quickly rectified by the reception. Other than that it was a perfect stay. I did not eat in the restaurant but can recommend for something completey different a suriname restaurant called Lalla Rookh which is on the main road between the hotel and the Muiderpoort station, it looks basic but the food is absolutely delicious and very good value. If you are looking for a special place for a meal, stay on tram 9 for another 2 stops, there is a restaurant in a park on the right called De Kas which means greenhouse, they grow all their vegetables on site and the food is amazing but you won't get any change out of 100 euros with wine !!.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
thank you very much in writing a review about your stay. looking forward to welcoming you in the future. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed for 8 days room only (holiday plus visiting relatives)
Modern hotel in old building with unusual decor in public areas. Had a room on the 1st floor overlooking the garden and it was pleasantly quiet.
Nice room with good quality bed & bedding, a large bathroom with quality towels and shower gel and soap provided.
Safe didn't work so had to use hotel safe but not an issue as front desk staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble.
The location was great and although you have the trams and Muiderpoort station close by, we found it so easy to walk to the centre of the city and its attractions (about 45 mins to museum plein and 30 mins to Artis Zoo)
Didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment but found a few reasonably priced restaurants nearby the best being Bier Tuin and Spargo plus AH supermarket across the road to the left for wine and nibbles if required!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Couldnt fault the hotel one bit, as to other post the decor is very unique however so is Amsterdam itself if yout boring and miserable dont book here as you wouldnt appreciate it.

The hotel is in a great location just outside the city centre with a Tram stop directly outside the hotel the tram takes about 15min into Dam square but you also get to see some nice parts on route - the Hotel is also only 4 stops (i think) to the Amsterdam Zoo ! The area has lots of amenitites for all those visisting to Amsterdam restuarants, shops and coffeeshop all within a short walk from the hotel entrance.

The staff were very polite and very helpful the whole time as are the majority of Dutch people and couldnt fault the service provided esp room service at 3am :) lol we got the munchies :)

We stayed in a Junior Suite and it was amzing with everything we needed and more - it was very comfortable and the king size bed was great. The room was very clean and tidy too.

I would recomend this hotel to anyone wishing to have a good time in Amsterdam be open minded and dont moan about the cost of things as all european cities are expensive! but the Manor Hotel is worth every penny :)

Will be our Hotel of choice for our next trip :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in writing a review, and sharing your experience with us. looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband & I took a long weekend to Amsterdam in July 2013. After doing a little bit of research we decided the Manor Hotel was the one for us. Yes, the location is outside the main centre, but this makes it fantastically quiet and the tram stop is right outside the hotel. The trams are easy to use and take only 5 minutes to get into the city. The wallpaper and caprets are a little wacky, and I think anyone taking the special Amsterdam Cake could get super dizzy. We were a little upset to be given a twin rather than a double room, but they said we could change the next day. We actually kep the room as it was a good size and really well presented. Overall a fantastic stay in a really lovely user friendly city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time in wrting a review on tripadvisor. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very comfortable stay, good room with en suite wet room, comfy beds and even BBC 1 and 2 TV channels.....
Approached restaurant with some uncertainty in view of some negative reviews but our evening meals were superb. The steak, the lamb and the beef milanese were excellent as indeed was the duck starter , the ice cream, and the cheese plate. Supported by v.g service and excellent maitre d'. Only criticisms would be the tiramasu was an unusual take on a classic when my wife wanted the classic style, and compared to Derby, England prices were more than at home.
We felt the quality offset that, and on seeing alternative venues realised this was the standard price - 31 euros for 3 courses.Drinks were the same as everywhere else, and here had a very good wine selection not found in other places.
Got caught out first breakfast time as poor staff member, but following days service and price of "Fresh Start" of cereal, fruit and yogurt at 6 euros was fine. If you want the full breakfast, its 17 euros but 15 if prebooked at reception.
Very handy location for Museum Quarter and Anne Frank House, a 3 tram goes almost outside, direct to Museums and a bit further on and change for 2 stops on a 14 or 17 gets you to Anne Frank House.
From Schiphol, train to Centraal,4. 5 euros, then a 9 tram from in front of station for 3 euros direct to hotel - taxi is 50 euros although off season think it is less, journey time under 30 mins.
Would thoroughly recommend here to anyone and have one meal here, either the first night or after a days trips. If money tight, the Caffe Milo does a big pizza for 8 euros, and at night there is an off licence/ shop for drinks, ice cream, chocolate etc right opposite with friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
thank you for taking th time in writing an extensive report. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Manor hotel was lovely. Me and my partner stayed there for 4 days and all staff were very friendly and very helpful. The hotels location in my opinion is just perfect, as you can take the tram from outside the hotel straight to town and all attractions in just 10 minutes. The hotel was very clean and the bedrooms are very beautiful decorated. There is nothing negative i can say about the Manor Hotel. I highly recommend it and i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing a review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Quiet, City Cen...
Show More
Hotel Casa 400
Hotel Casa 400
#54 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
Romantic, Quain...
Show More
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#88 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Romantic, Quiet...
Show More
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
City Center, Mi...
Show More
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Independent Hot...
Show More
Stadsdeel Zuid
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#37 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.