We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel , Great Staff , Great location :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel , Great Staff , Great location :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Couldnt fault the hotel one bit, as to other post the decor is very unique however so is Amsterdam itself if yout boring and miserable dont book here as you wouldnt appreciate it.

The hotel is in a great location just outside the city centre with a Tram stop directly outside the hotel the tram takes about 15min into Dam square but you also get to see some nice parts on route - the Hotel is also only 4 stops (i think) to the Amsterdam Zoo ! The area has lots of amenitites for all those visisting to Amsterdam restuarants, shops and coffeeshop all within a short walk from the hotel entrance.

The staff were very polite and very helpful the whole time as are the majority of Dutch people and couldnt fault the service provided esp room service at 3am :) lol we got the munchies :)

We stayed in a Junior Suite and it was amzing with everything we needed and more - it was very comfortable and the king size bed was great. The room was very clean and tidy too.

I would recomend this hotel to anyone wishing to have a good time in Amsterdam be open minded and dont moan about the cost of things as all european cities are expensive! but the Manor Hotel is worth every penny :)

Will be our Hotel of choice for our next trip :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in writing a review, and sharing your experience with us. looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    335
    74
    18
    11
See reviews for
49
379
23
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband & I took a long weekend to Amsterdam in July 2013. After doing a little bit of research we decided the Manor Hotel was the one for us. Yes, the location is outside the main centre, but this makes it fantastically quiet and the tram stop is right outside the hotel. The trams are easy to use and take only 5 minutes to get into the city. The wallpaper and caprets are a little wacky, and I think anyone taking the special Amsterdam Cake could get super dizzy. We were a little upset to be given a twin rather than a double room, but they said we could change the next day. We actually kep the room as it was a good size and really well presented. Overall a fantastic stay in a really lovely user friendly city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time in wrting a review on tripadvisor. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very comfortable stay, good room with en suite wet room, comfy beds and even BBC 1 and 2 TV channels.....
Approached restaurant with some uncertainty in view of some negative reviews but our evening meals were superb. The steak, the lamb and the beef milanese were excellent as indeed was the duck starter , the ice cream, and the cheese plate. Supported by v.g service and excellent maitre d'. Only criticisms would be the tiramasu was an unusual take on a classic when my wife wanted the classic style, and compared to Derby, England prices were more than at home.
We felt the quality offset that, and on seeing alternative venues realised this was the standard price - 31 euros for 3 courses.Drinks were the same as everywhere else, and here had a very good wine selection not found in other places.
Got caught out first breakfast time as poor staff member, but following days service and price of "Fresh Start" of cereal, fruit and yogurt at 6 euros was fine. If you want the full breakfast, its 17 euros but 15 if prebooked at reception.
Very handy location for Museum Quarter and Anne Frank House, a 3 tram goes almost outside, direct to Museums and a bit further on and change for 2 stops on a 14 or 17 gets you to Anne Frank House.
From Schiphol, train to Centraal,4. 5 euros, then a 9 tram from in front of station for 3 euros direct to hotel - taxi is 50 euros although off season think it is less, journey time under 30 mins.
Would thoroughly recommend here to anyone and have one meal here, either the first night or after a days trips. If money tight, the Caffe Milo does a big pizza for 8 euros, and at night there is an off licence/ shop for drinks, ice cream, chocolate etc right opposite with friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
thank you for taking th time in writing an extensive report. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Manor hotel was lovely. Me and my partner stayed there for 4 days and all staff were very friendly and very helpful. The hotels location in my opinion is just perfect, as you can take the tram from outside the hotel straight to town and all attractions in just 10 minutes. The hotel was very clean and the bedrooms are very beautiful decorated. There is nothing negative i can say about the Manor Hotel. I highly recommend it and i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing a review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The Manor hotel was lovely. The hotels Location was a short bus ride in to town and in a quiet, clean, area that felt safe to wander around. and the staff were helpful and friendly, making us feel welcome and assisting with bus information etc. The hotel is very, clean, with a great bathroom. Funky decor throughout the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back.

kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I am writing this from my room 320, on the top of the house. We are a group of 25 with breakfast and evening meal included. The location is not something to envy. One needs some transportation to reach an interesting place. The building is old fascinating from the outside, modern inside. Maybe not for everyone taste, but this is a personal matter. It is clean, it is nice, kind and attentive personnel, excellent breakfast. For a four star hotel I expected a bathtub, but none. Maybe the German standards are too high for the rest of Europe too follow. The beds are good and comfortable. I take pictures as a hobby and the scenery from the room is beautiful, especially just before sunset.
No, the bad. Firts we were requested to place a E50 deposit (or provide a copy of my credit card) in case we steal or break something (again, we were an organized group, all paid in advance). This is disgusting and humiliating. Never heard of such procedures. Here comes the worst. The evening meals were absolutely impossible to eat. Not bad taste. Be assured. Only NO TASTE AT ALL. First evening, second evening, third evening... I do not want to imply something xenophobic, but it is incomprehensible for a place in a country with excellent cuisine to provide tasteless food. Shall I return on my own will? Not sure, but if yes, no more visits to the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations. We constantly work on improving our service and standards.We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us in the future, then we can show you we can meet the expectations you may have for a 4 star hotel as the Manor Hotel Amsterdam. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I spent a memorable two nights at this hotel during our recent city break to Amsterdam and were extremely impressed by the high level of service and delighted by the transport links to the city and the airport.

There is absolutely nothing negative we could write about this hotel and we hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms face a fairly busy road which if you enjoy watching the trams and the locals is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experiences with us. thank you for the compliments. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.