We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Right Place To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Saïda, null, Lebanon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Right Place To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My parents, brother and I came back from Amsterdam around 10 days ago. We stayed at The Manor Hotel for 5 nights and it was perfect.
First, the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very modern and clean with free Wifi (the receptionists will help you manage it for the first time) . It had adjustable lighting, electric sockets wherever you need them (personally I prefer to have one right next to my bed which was available in the room). The bathroom was spacious enough and also very clean. Two different lightings (one that is very good for makeup application) and a magnifying mirror. The best things about the bathroom were the soap and the shampoo. They were by the brand Rituals and they smelled delightful (a unisex smell nothing too girly and not masculine either). The breakfast was great. For those like me who don't like salty food for breakfast, you can enjoy some chocolate croissants, mini muffins and donuts in addition to a delicious berry yogurt.
Now let's talk about the location shall we? The hotel is literally 1 minute away from the tram (number 9) stop which takes you to the very center of the city and continues to the Amsterdam Central Station. The journey from the hotel to Rembrandtplein takes 15 minutes maximum. Therefore you can shop as much as you want without worrying about holding the bags for the rest of the day. Take the tram, put those babies in your room and continue your day bag-free. If you're a nature lover, the Oosterpark is a few steps away from the hotel. The Manor is also surrounded by many shops, drugstores, restaurants and supermarkets all within a 5 to 15 minute walk.
I highly recommend this hotel for an easy and pleasant stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    347
    78
    19
    11
See reviews for
50
389
24
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Plenty to do in the area, we used the no 9 tram which was every 10 mins to get to the centre. Check out the market on Saturday, this was a real market with food and clothing. If you happen to be visiting the last Sunday of the month make sure you visit the 'natural market'. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stumbled upon this gem of a hotel this time to Amsterdam and was delighted with the choice. Modern, well appointed rooms with amazing staff to look after you and decently located, the Manor is a great choice for visitors to Amsterdam who want to be close to the action and yet need a peaceful, quiet neighbourhood to unwind at the end of the day.
Special recommendation for the all of the personnel at the concierge desk. Top class...

Room Tip: 4 rooms in the entire hotel have balconies. Try and get one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your enthousiastic reviw. I will pass on your compliments to the concierge team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a very good hotel. It is in a good location, just a few footsteps away from the tram and a railway station. The customer is excellent: on my first day, the room had not been cleaned when I returned at about 5pm. I complained about this but felt guilty for doing so: the room was cleaned immediately, I was given a free drink at the bar, and found a written note apologising for the delay in my room the following day. To me, that represented excellent customer service. The staff are friendly. On another day, there was a power cut in the local area. Again, the staff acted professionally: breakfast was served as normal, and there were staff on hand to help. The highlight for me was the food: my evening meal was of the highest quality I have tasted for some time. The bedroom was clean, with two single beds next to each other. For my personal tastes, the beds were average and the pillows were average. The windows were sealed shut and there was air conditioning but I felt some natural air would have been nice. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing a review on tripadvisor. It is only through comments such as yours that we can constantly improve our service. Looking forward in welcoming you back in the future. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

like Amsterdam itself this Hotel is a really good example of mixing between classical style and modern design. Located near the Oosterpark, the quiet neighbourhoud can be a good alternative to the busy city center. Rooms are spacious, the breakfast really good and the crew pleasant and professionnal. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
thank you very much in taking the time in writing a review on tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

we really enjoyed the style and the design of this hotel,especially the corridors and the room. very nice rooms for couples. i think soundproof rooms(or at least it felt that way), lightproof curtains, big room and nice tv set. the service was good too and one day when there was a little bit of rain they offered us an umbrella without even asking for it.we spent one whole day in the room just to enjoy it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing such an enthousiastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel was about 10-15 minutes tram ride away from the centre of Amsterdam. I think this was fortuitous as when we visited the centre of Amsterdam in the evening there were an incredible amount of noisy stag and hen parties on the go. We stayed at this hotel and were pleasantly surprised, after having read some reviews, by the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the room. It really was enjoyable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We did not eat in the hotel as there were a variety of bars and restaurants in the vicinity; we even observed the filming of a local soap in one of them! The room itself was extremely comfortable and the bed ensured a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing such an enthousiastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.