We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, Amsterdam 1093 EK, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is an art deco hotel with a good location in Amsterdam only couple minutes from city center by tram, the area and surroundings are very quite close to train station and easy to get location from central station
Hotel is quite new very clean, however we request a double bed with my partner and we receive a room with 2 twin bed together and it was a problem at night when beds split out!
Service is OK and i would recommed this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
thank you very much in taking the time in writing a response on tripadvisor, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    286
    63
    19
    8
See reviews for
39
334
18
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Egypt
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Liked the location very close to Oosterpark and the 9 tram stops right out the front. Supermarket across the road and a few decent cafe very close by. It's a bit out of the centre but more than close enough to all the action.
Room was a little dirty upon check in and housekeeping wasn't fantastic, the bathroom had a pretty bad damp smell but was clean and spacious.
The room itself was a good size, we were on floor 3 under the eaves so there was space for our toddler to play. Didn't really like the decor, blue light was a bit distracting :)
My husband had the breakfast for an additional 17€ and wasn't overwhelmed as food was quite cold. I had fruit and yogurt from nearby market and stashed it in the small fridge.
Staff were excellent and really friendly and helpful.
Overall, not terrible but for over 100€ a night during week days I expected better.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much in sharing you experience with us. We take your comments serious so can we constantly improve our service and standards. We do hope this will not deter you from visiting us in the future. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is very grand from the outside and we were immediately impressed with concierge for opening our car doors and taking our baggage for us - couldn't be more helpful.
We had an early flight so arrived around 10am and the hotel kindly stored our luggage until 2:30pm when we could check into our room. Went out for the day and came back around 4pm and check in was smooth - staff very friendly and helpful.
Our room was nice and spacious, nicely decorated also. The only downsides were that the double bed was just two beds pushed together - which is quite annoying! Also the shower cubicle doesn't have a door so consequently the majority of the bathroom floor was wet after a shower. But these things didn't really matter to us a great deal, so only minor problems.

Loved the location, conveniently near a few shops/cafe's and tram stop right oustide. Tram no.9 takes you directly to the centre, about 10-15 minute ride. You can buy 1 hour, 24 hour or 48 hour tickets on the tram for a reasonable price.

We also hired bikes from the hotel, which was 16.50 euros for 24 hours. The bikes were great and we very much enjoyed seeing Amsterdam this way, I would 100% recommend a bike trip!!

We had breakfast included which was nice, buffet with lots to choose from!

Overall we had a really enjoyable stay - a couple of things with the room in hotel could be improved but not a major problem as we didn't go to Amsterdam to sit in the room all day. The staff were lovely and the city itself is beautiful and we are definitely going to return as there is so much more we want to do!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, please let us know in advance so we can reserve a room with a double bed. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I payed for a 4 star hotel. In the begitning I did not notice bit after a few days I saw that the walls was full of black stains and thère was even coffe stains ón one Wall. The Brown Wood around the bed and desk was stained. The Brown Wood was also very dusty.
I Liked the neibourhood it was authentic and the nearby park was very Nice. And thère was som Nice places to go out eating. The customers at the restaurant are local wich is excellent comparing to the tourist restaurants in City center.


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank yu for taking the time a sharing your experience with us. The comments on housekeeping are discussed with our housekeeper to prevent thsese remarks in the future. I do hope this will not deter you from visiting the Manor Hotel in the future.
kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Well placed, a little out of the centre but the Number 9 tram stops directly outside the hotel (10 mins to Rembrandtplein) and Muirdepoort station is a 5 minute walk away (6 mins to Central Station). Plus you can hire bikes but €17.50 for 24 hours seemed a bit pricy.

There are a few nice little cafes and bars in the immediate area and the Hotel looks great from the outside, definitely a nice building.

Walking inside the Lobby is instantly disappointing however - just plain and an odd layout - until you reach the hallways which actually make you feel a bit 'wobbly' with the crisscross pattern on walls and carpets.

The staff seemed friendly and checkin/out was smooth enough. We were upgraded from a superior room to a deluxe room, which was nice in theory, however I shudder to think what the superior room would have been like if this was 'deluxe'.

It was just disappointing, pretty small, bad view of a lower level rooftop, again oddly/inconveniently laid out, TERRIBLE decor (headboard wall was a huge graphic of herring...come on now!), two single beds rammed together masquerading as a double or king bed etc etc. That said, the bathroom was nice.

To sum up...

- Well enough placed if you don't mind public transport.
- Nice exterior building and staff.
- Terrible decor throughout.
- Poorly appointed rooms (deluxe anyway!).
- Pricey.

Even at the discounted rate we wouldn't be too keen on returning and would opt for a different hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe don't go for room 221 - thats all the experience I have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing a response on Tripadvisor. Sorry to read you do not like the design. Hope this will not deter you from visiting Amsterdam in the future. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a very nicely done hotel. Quite modern decor but not pretentious. My room has a super high ceiling (18foot?). Fnky poster and black lights are kind of neat. Bed is good and the breakfast was standard buffet. Bathroom was clean with nothing damaged or broken.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time writing a response. lokking forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
epsom, surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've got to say, one of the best hotels I've stayed at in a long time.
Located in a nice area about a 15min tram from dam square/central station, which if you're not after something too loud and busy is spot on!

Get the train from Schipol to Amsterdam Muiderpoort and walk 7mins to the hotel. Dead easy.
Getting into town, the number 9 tram gets you in pretty quickly.

The hotel is wonderful, very clean, very very funkily decorated.

The staff, however, were absolutely unbeatable. Francis and his colleagues at check-in were so so helpful. I requested details for boat hire and I had an envelope popped into my room the same evening with great information, thank you for that Francis.
The tall gentleman at concierge (I forget his name) was a top gent as well, very very helpful.

The only reason I gave the hotel 4/5 was the super soft/squidgy bed and somewhat lifeless pillows. We were in room 30 so maybe this was a room specific thing?

Many thanks :)

Room Tip: Request a room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Trip advisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will pass the positive words to Francis and Menno. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. kind regards, Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Linneausstraat 89, Amsterdam 1093 EK, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.