We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manor Eden Hotel was great but.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Manor Eden Hotel was great but.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Manor Eden Hotel was great. The standard room was very very nice. The staff was great. Breakfast and dinner are great. The transportation to the hotel from the Schiphol airport is easy and reasonably inexpensive using the connexxion airport Shuttle. But the return was not easy. Connexxion lies about the return and will only pick you up three blocks away at the NH Tropin Hotel even though you pay in advance for a retun trip!!!! Although it is certainly not the fault of the hotel, the hotel should somehow stop the hotel name from being abused by this shuttle service that has no integrity whatsoever!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    384
    87
    19
    11
See reviews for
59
433
27
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Like to try a different hotel each time we have a business trip to Amsterdam. The reviews for Manor Hotel loked good and it was in an area I have never visited. Staff were lovely. The main problem with the hotel was the decor. I walked in the room to be welcomed by a huge picture of dutch football fans behind the bed. range lighting, stained bedding and black satin curtains gave the impression of a not upmarket brothel. everywhere there are crosses stencilled on the wall and on very ugly carpets. It looked like a teenage boy had designed the room No cocktail list at the bar, even though the leaflets in the room as you to enjoy a cocktail. Decent Italian food served but very small portions for Holland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excellent location with 3 different trams at your doorstep, allowing easy access to the city. We had a nice size room with a very comfortable bed. The staff was very friendly and extremely accommodating

Room Tip: We had a room facing the garden, nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the beautifull manor hotel while visiting the gret andre hazes show at the de la mar theatre. We booked the package with the overnight stay incl with the tickets to the show. Appearantly this hotel can still get tickets for the show which has been sold out for months! The hotel itself is beautifull and the staff is very friendly. Walking through the hotel you can see that they put a lot of effort in maintaining this beautifull property. We stayed in a room on the garden side of the hotel, which had a beautifull view of a snowy white garden. The location of the hotel is great! Its conveniently located in the eastern part of the city centre. The hotel offers parking aervice, which is rare in amsterdam, and with 3 trams stopping in front if the hotel you can get just about anywere you wish to go in a matter of minutes. The stay and show proved to be worth every penny and i would definetely book this hotel again for my next stay! To the hotel i wish to say: keep up the good work!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Room quite nice. Cable TV did not function properly. Very expensive parking Euro 27,50

Very expensive breakfast Euro 17,50

Nice food in the Enoteca restaurant.

Typical Dutsch coffeeshop ( selling dope ) as a neighbour.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Travelled as a couple for a new years break. We picked this hotel as we didn't want to be bang in the centre of Amsterdam. Hotel has a tram stop directly outside with regular trams passing by which take you into the centre of Amsterdam within 10 minutes. There is a shop opposite the hotel that is open till very late which is perfect for any late night snacks/drinks at reasonable prices.
Newly opened Smoke Palace just down the road which is worth a visit.
Spargos restaurant a bit further down the road which had great food/staff and served food and drink till late.

The hotel itself is lovely and modern looking. The staff were very friendly and attentive.
The hotel room was small but clean and recently renovated.

However, and unfortunately a big however, if you are going for more than one night and actually want a comfortable nights sleep I do NOT recommend this hotel as the beds were soooo soft (and when i say soft i mean really soft) and are only a double size (if that) which means if you are travelling as a couple there is just not enough room for the both of you. We are not a particularly tall couple, just average in height and we both nearly rolled out of the bed a few times. So unfortunately, as much as we had a lovely break away, we couldn't wait to get home to our bed, as our 4 nights in the hotel were restless and uncomfortable.
Also we were going to try the room service but the menu was unappealing and there was not much on offer however if you go down into the restaurant, the menu did look a lot better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Booked 3 nights at the Manor Hotel in December and i was not at all disappointed. It's in a great location - Slightly out of town but i strongly recommend hiring bicycles, that way it's a 10 - 15 minute cycle into the city centre and the best way to see the city. But definitely walkable, and public transport is nearby. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was great. Spacious, comfortable with an amazing bathroom! Big TV, safe, climate control, everything you'd want. I didn't personally use the restaurant but my friend told me it was quite underwhelming and expensive... I would definitely stay here again. Excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.