We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

From the minute I walked through the big front doors of the Manor Hotel, I knew I was going to enjoy my stay. After being awake for almost 48 hours and a long flight, I was so happy and relieved there was a room ready for me a few hours before 'check-in'. The room smelled fresh and clean and the bed was comfortable and perfect. Despite the cool weather, I never felt the need to adjust the temperature. I loved the modern decor, the ballet photo mural, and clean, ingeniously designed shower/bathroom! Everything was spotless. This hotel provides every little convenience for the comfort of their guests and I felt extremely relaxed and cared-for. My room faced the street but I never heard a thing: the tram is electric and there are few cars in general.

As a single woman traveling alone, I felt very safe, even late at night. The tram is efficient and fun to ride. If the weather had been a bit warmer, I might have rented one of the hotel's bikes. Everything in Amsterdam is easily accessible and the city is very walk-able, but the tram ride to Centraal Station takes about 10-15 minutes, with stops. The surrounding neighborhood is nice as well, and not so busy with tourists. It felt a lot more like the 'real' Amsterdam with regular people, shops, restaurants, etc. not so entirely devoted to crazy tourists! The hotel staff was extremely welcoming, friendly, professional and very helpful in providing suggestions, directions, and my late-night glass of red wine!

I travel frequently for work and stay in 4-star hotels 6-10 nights per month, but I would say this is one of the nicest hotel experiences I've had. I look forward to another stay at the Manor Hotel.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the street view, but you may prefer something else. Talk to the staff and share your pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    292
    64
    19
    8
See reviews for
40
338
19
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ragama, Sri Lanka
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Although a little away from the city centre, we had absolutely no problems travelling since trams were very convenient. Our room was so small, it seemed a bit of a rip-off for the price we paid. The friendly staff at the counter more than made up for the disappointment of the minute room, however. They were so helpful when we asked about transport, places to visit, etc. BTW the shuttle service to and from the airport to Amsterdam hotels is a bit wierd, they refused to pick us up from the Manor Hotel and we had to walk (with our luggage) to another hotel close by to be picked up - it made no sense! Also, be warned that the restaurant is pretty expensive and the portion sizes are quite small, so you end up hungry in addition to feeling ripped-off. The hotel decor is loud and a bit strange, but it grows on you and you end up sort of liking the big red crosses all over.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room. My feeling is that most rooms are pretty small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

recently refurbished in a beautiful old building; top floor rooms have tiny windows and little light, but nice large size. good outlets and wifi, tea kettle in rooms. but poor lighting in bathroom and no space for vanity items. nice breakfast in restaurant but blaring techno music makes food hard to digest. no fitness center but you can buy a pass for 15 euro for a nearby fitness center that is very nice, including access to fitness classes. location is out of way from center of town and not a great neighborhood, lots of graffiti etc. street side rooms can be very noisy

Room Tip: avoid street side rooms; second floor rooms may have larger windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Although this hotel is outside of the city, it's perfect for a quieter, more "real" Amsterdam experience. And with the tram right outside that runs every 10 minutes, you can't go wrong! Because you check in and out when you get on, the tram tickets are calculated by how much time you actually spend on the tram, so think of that when you're buying your passes for the trip. Amenities were great, hotel staff friendly, pretty good breakfast, super clean, nice layout and good local restaurants around the area. Give it a try! It's perfect for the people who don't want to walk outside your hotel and be slammed with restaurant vendors or postcard shops.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the street side, that way you can look out on the street or get a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newry co down n ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights its a strange place totally different to what im used to the Staff are very nice and the bedrooms are very big the bed is Massive, the bathroom i didnt like it was very open plan and i felt uneasy as there is no privacy (too much glass). There is a tram stop outside which is great and the number 9 tram takes you into the centre in 10 mins. The one thing that i really didnt like was room we had was at the front (bad choice) very noisey traffic all night nonstop. The hotel itself is spotless and a well maintained bar with lots of choices.

Room Tip: dont get the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I travelled to Amsterdam for a conference on my own and wanted to feel safe in my hotel as a single woman. This hotel fitted the bill perfectly. It is in a nice area slightly outside the city centre but with excellent connections. The staff were so helpful. They printed out directions for me so that I could find my way to and from the conference centre and also advised where I could go in the evening on my own. The room was very comfortable and clean and also quiet. The buffet breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My partner and I both really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the staff were attentive but not intrusive. The rooms and the hotel in general were immaculately clean. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and we slept very well.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but had some drinks nearby at some local cafes and the area was safe and quiet at night time.

There are local shops to buy food and drink, and superb transport links into the city centre.

We travelled all round amsterdam during our stay and never once found the location of the hotel a hinderance, we even walked home one night which took us around 30 minutes from rembrandtplein.

The only surprise was having to pay city tax by cash on our exit from the hotel, which left us with only enough money to get to the train station with about 15 cents to spare. Not ideal, but having travelled elsewhere, city taxes are fairly standard, and normally need to be paid in cash.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Otel so you can book your The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.