We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manor Hotel Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Manor Hotel Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I travelled to Amsterdam for a conference on my own and wanted to feel safe in my hotel as a single woman. This hotel fitted the bill perfectly. It is in a nice area slightly outside the city centre but with excellent connections. The staff were so helpful. They printed out directions for me so that I could find my way to and from the conference centre and also advised where I could go in the evening on my own. The room was very comfortable and clean and also quiet. The buffet breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    319
    70
    18
    9
See reviews for
46
372
20
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My partner and I both really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the staff were attentive but not intrusive. The rooms and the hotel in general were immaculately clean. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and we slept very well.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but had some drinks nearby at some local cafes and the area was safe and quiet at night time.

There are local shops to buy food and drink, and superb transport links into the city centre.

We travelled all round amsterdam during our stay and never once found the location of the hotel a hinderance, we even walked home one night which took us around 30 minutes from rembrandtplein.

The only surprise was having to pay city tax by cash on our exit from the hotel, which left us with only enough money to get to the train station with about 15 cents to spare. Not ideal, but having travelled elsewhere, city taxes are fairly standard, and normally need to be paid in cash.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiscardo, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you love noise at night , in the morning , all day long you have to ask for 242 room in Manor Hotel. First night we woke up more than 7 times because we thought that someone was going to enter in our room!! No we were wrong our neighbors just opening and closing their doors! we could hear almost everything, maybe you will say that we have sensitive ears but we could also feel it when the rooms next to our's opening and closing their doors.The wall behind our bed was shaking! Every morning i was up from 7 to 8 o'clock!
I'm sorry but the room wasn't clean enough!!!The basin brush was dirty, the soap was leaking on the floor , the basin needs some chlorine to get better , the armchair had some white stains and i don't want to know from where they came from, if i was using the washstand for long time it starting leaking and the floor was full of water and some more issues but i'm feeling already bad ...
The staff was very friendly but always busy and i was bored to wait and complain! My job is not to complain and take them from the hand and show them the room and the problems! It should be perfect, cleaned and soundproof for a 4 star hotel or else it was better for me and my wife to go to a hostel!!!
Some guests say that it is good value for money , we payed about 650 euro for 6 nights (i have to work for 25 days and more than 13 hours a day to get that money) and with the experience we had it doesn't worth it!!
We had a dinner in the room a pizza and gnocchi. I thing that it was average but maybe it would be unfair for Manor Hotel because before Amsterdan we were in Italy and we had the best pizza and gnocchi ever!
The internet conection was good and fast.Manor hotel is oposite to a beautiful park and close to the tram no9 wich takes only 13 mints to the center.The room had the perfect temperature with out using the air con.

Room Tip: Avoid 242 room and ask to stay somewhere with no noise. If this is not possible go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here with our two boys for three nights in October. The price for two rooms per night (connecting) was much more reasonable than anything else we could find in the city at this comfort level.
The staff was super friendly and the rooms were clean, hip and reasonably well appointed.
The dinner in the Italian restaurant in the hotel was surprisingly good, and because it's also a wine bar had a nice selection of Italian wines.
The location is not in the center of the city. So if you're planning to step out the front door of the hotel and into the prime tourist attractions, this isn't the place. However it's well served by excellent public transport with at least 3 tram and 2 bus lines just at the corner. From there it's no more than 10-15 minutes on the bus or tram to just about anywhere you'd want to go in the city but at night be away from the more crowded and sleazy parts of the city.
Onsite parking was a bit pricey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed for three nights last weekend and we loved the hotel. I was nervous going over as there seems to be mixed reviews about the hotel. The location suited us brilliantly as you're 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of the city but I didn't see a need to be in the middle of it all for a massive hotel price. The tram (number 9) stops right outside the door and gets you straight in to the centre, running every 10 minutes. It stops at around 12am during the week and about 1am at the weekend. A taxi cost us one night €11 from Central Station which I thought was reasonable.

The hotel foyer is lovely and inviting, the bar is trendy and quiet.
The hotel staff were very nice and informative and always willing to help.
The room was very nice, the high ceilings made the room feel really spacious, the windows looking out onto the street were great too. The room was spotless, loved the wet room type shower and the housekeeping was always perfect.
There are tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge which is extremley handy, all usual channels on the flatscreen t.v., free internet in the room (although having to sign in every 30 minutes can get annoying but unlike other hotels its free of charge so I didn't mind too much).

We didn't avail of the breakfast as it was very expensive and there are lots of places to eat around.

If you are a light sleeper maybe get a room at the back as the trams early in the morning might wake you.

Room Tip: All rooms seem nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room was huge and comfortable, and the location was very good, given that you do not need to live just in the middle of the bull's eye (10 minutes by tram to Dam or Rembrandtsplein, about the same by bike) . A very well-balanced Air-Condition system. The staff was kind and service minded - and all were of course english-spoken. In general, we were very satisfied with the cleaning, but of a four-star hotel, one expects the bedsheets to be changed after three nights (they were not).
The mirror configuration in the bathroom was very strange though, which enlightend the entrance to the room, but also offered a view of absolutely everything going on inside the bathroom. Everyone needs a little privacy, and especially there. All Superior rooms (like ours) face the street and therefore expose you to quite a lot of noise. Not good for light sleepers.

Room Tip: Find out in advance what rooms are on what side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Otel so you can book your The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.