We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for a weekend in Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
essex, england
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great base for a weekend in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

There were some mixed reviews on this hotel, but having opted to give it a go, I am pleased we did! Essentially, I was drawn to the contemporary design and modern new look it has, with the added interest that it is a converted hospital. We took a room only option and there are some great little places to grab breakfast within walking distance.

The room itself was adequately sized, had everything you would need - I would agree with other reviews about the shower and toilet. Not the most private experience and the shower does send water everywhere but you just have to be careful! It's not a reason not to stay! The bed was really comfortable and on day 1 after travelling and exploring was nice to sink into thick crisp white sheets!!

The concierge was unbelievably helpful and really helped us plan our weekend and clearly marked our map with where everything was! Top marks!

Directly outside the hotel you can catch the No9 tram. Pay on board - best value is a €7 day pass. The tram takes you right into the city centre in less than 10 minutes. There is also lovely parks around and the roads really easy to navigate if you just fancy a stroll!

However, I would massively encourage the hire of bikes!! It's what Amsterdam is all about! It's a fun and speedy way to explore and so handy. The bike hire was €16 a day. Some reviews quote this as expensive, but why would you hire a bike in the city centre then pay to get back to the hotel after you drop it off?? Madness!

Overall, it was a modern funky friendly quirky hotel - easily accessible from Schipol by train (2 min walk from station) and a nice location outside of the city centre. We had a great stay and would go back.

Room Tip: We took a room on the top floor, made slightly more interesting as built into the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    448
    102
    22
    11
See reviews for
73
500
34
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed recently at this hotel with mum for a few days. We had a very relaxing break and loved the location as it was just outside the city but very easy to get around as the trams were 5 minutes walk. I have to say my first impression of the hotel and reception area were of slight disappointment and would compare more to a 3 star but reception staff were fantastic and so helpful. We had a very comfy and quiet room but this was very dusty especially under the beds. As these were very easy to clean I cannot understand why nothing is done about this especially as other reviewers had also mentioned this. I did notice that the cleaning staff were provided with only a very basic vacuum cleaner which would have made it almost impossible to do a great job. So easy to rectify and replace these with better equipment. There was a supermarket across from the hotel with a fantastic selection of food, which was great. Overall we had a lovely break and thank the staff for looking after us so well. I would also very highly recommend caffe Milo across from the hotel - amazing food and great staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is good, but the location is not good. It is far from the most interesting places, and the area is not safe around. The price they charge for renting a bike is also expensive, and it doesn't make any sense to only rent for the entire day, and since the hotel is far from everything, it seems like they charge it because they know it would be difficult to rent elsewhere without walking on the unsafe neighborhood.
The room is too small, and there is no real door on the bathroom, so you can't be in a double room with a friend you don't have too much intimacy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just got back after a 2 night stay, didn't want to leave! Room was lovely, bed was so comfy had a lovely sleep both nights. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We requested to be moved to a room with a balcony, was told it wasn't available until the following day for our last night. This room was also lovely, only minor complaint was that this room didn't have a massive, deep bath like the first one, only a shower but wasn't a major issue. The bathroom is a bit weird as you can see into the bathroom from the bedroom as there is a mirror with window panes next to it so was a bit awkward if you're not a couple. Hotel was absolutely spotless, everywhere was so clean! Decor was a bit much for the eyes to handle but very modern. It felt like we were a bit out of the way from central Amsterdam, which in one way is good as it's nice an quiet in the evening but it can take up to 25mins to get into the center on the number 9 tram (right outside hotel), we also walked it one evening and took about 40mins. Great price on our 2 nights stay and will be coming back to stay very soon

Room Tip: Room with a balcony is nice but the room was colder
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Modern funky hotel in a quiet residential area. Room decor was contemporary and unexpectedly designer for the room rate.
Tram stop just the hotel for the number 9 straight into town.
No real atmosphere in the bar/restaurant areas however staff were friendly, attentive and couldn't have been more helpful.
Would certainly go back as the curtains provide a 100% blackout!
Received a room upgrade on arrival. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just got back after staying two nights. Very clean room, we were upgraded to a junior suite for free which was nice, the room was massive. Comfy bed, clean linen, we had a room facing the rear (305) which was nice and quiet. Bathroom was good but, as mentioned elsewhere, it's a bit weird as you can see through from the bedroom in to the bathroom a little bit through the back of the mirror. Bit weird if you're not a couple, bit kinky if you are. I emailed ahead and asked for a room on the top floor which was kindly provided. I believe that that is also the least noisy floor as you don't hear anyone walking above you.
It's very quick to get in to central Amsterdam from the hotel, there's a tram stop (number 9) right outside the hotel, it takes ten minutes to get to dam square or the central train station (for direct trains to the airport). There's a late off licence across the road and a coffee shop next door if you fancy a spliff (although it didn't look too great). The hotel bar is also nice and although we didn't eat there, the menu looked good and the staff were friendly. It also seemed like a nice safe area if you're coming back late at night.
All in all a top trip and a very well priced, well placed hotel. For the price, I can't fault it!

Room Tip: Go for the third floor if possible and ask to get a rear-facing room (towards the gardens). Room 30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed there are group for a conference in Amsterdam for 3 nights.
The hotel was without any dubt a Fantastic one at great price too.....
The staff were absolutely superb could not ask for more.
Location wise 5 mintes from Dam Sq with a frequent Tram 9.
I Would lie if i wouldn't go back there for my next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Arena
#72 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,650 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,447 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#112 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#60 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#149 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.