We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just got back after a 2 night stay, didn't want to leave! Room was lovely, bed was so comfy had a lovely sleep both nights. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We requested to be moved to a room with a balcony, was told it wasn't available until the following day for our last night. This room was also lovely, only minor complaint was that this room didn't have a massive, deep bath like the first one, only a shower but wasn't a major issue. The bathroom is a bit weird as you can see into the bathroom from the bedroom as there is a mirror with window panes next to it so was a bit awkward if you're not a couple. Hotel was absolutely spotless, everywhere was so clean! Decor was a bit much for the eyes to handle but very modern. It felt like we were a bit out of the way from central Amsterdam, which in one way is good as it's nice an quiet in the evening but it can take up to 25mins to get into the center on the number 9 tram (right outside hotel), we also walked it one evening and took about 40mins. Great price on our 2 nights stay and will be coming back to stay very soon

Room Tip: Room with a balcony is nice but the room was colder
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    391
    89
    19
    11
See reviews for
60
445
28
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Modern funky hotel in a quiet residential area. Room decor was contemporary and unexpectedly designer for the room rate.
Tram stop just the hotel for the number 9 straight into town.
No real atmosphere in the bar/restaurant areas however staff were friendly, attentive and couldn't have been more helpful.
Would certainly go back as the curtains provide a 100% blackout!
Received a room upgrade on arrival. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just got back after staying two nights. Very clean room, we were upgraded to a junior suite for free which was nice, the room was massive. Comfy bed, clean linen, we had a room facing the rear (305) which was nice and quiet. Bathroom was good but, as mentioned elsewhere, it's a bit weird as you can see through from the bedroom in to the bathroom a little bit through the back of the mirror. Bit weird if you're not a couple, bit kinky if you are. I emailed ahead and asked for a room on the top floor which was kindly provided. I believe that that is also the least noisy floor as you don't hear anyone walking above you.
It's very quick to get in to central Amsterdam from the hotel, there's a tram stop (number 9) right outside the hotel, it takes ten minutes to get to dam square or the central train station (for direct trains to the airport). There's a late off licence across the road and a coffee shop next door if you fancy a spliff (although it didn't look too great). The hotel bar is also nice and although we didn't eat there, the menu looked good and the staff were friendly. It also seemed like a nice safe area if you're coming back late at night.
All in all a top trip and a very well priced, well placed hotel. For the price, I can't fault it!

Room Tip: Go for the third floor if possible and ask to get a rear-facing room (towards the gardens). Room 30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed there are group for a conference in Amsterdam for 3 nights.
The hotel was without any dubt a Fantastic one at great price too.....
The staff were absolutely superb could not ask for more.
Location wise 5 mintes from Dam Sq with a frequent Tram 9.
I Would lie if i wouldn't go back there for my next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at the Manor Hotel in Amsterdam for 2 nights in late september 2012. The location is not in central Amsterdam but is only a 10 minute Tram ride from Dam square and is in a super nice, quiet area with a few convienience stores and cafes on the street. The Hotel itself is beautiful, the exterioir is grand and well kept. The lobby is stunning with beautiful chandeliers and a stylish and modern reception. The staff are very very friendly and helpful. When we checked in they gave us a handy map of Amsterdam.

When we made our way to our room we were not dissapointed the staircase and hallways are grand with really high cielings and tall windows, the decor is really funky and is adapted around the Amsterdam theme of crosses. Our room was fantastic, we had asked for a nice view and were given a room on the first floor with dual aspect windows looking out onto Linneaustraat (the road the hotel is on). The cielings are so high the room felt like a grand yet bijous sanctuary for us. The bathroom had a luxurious deep and wide bath with a good powerful shower over it. It was clean and brilliantly lit. The highlight of the room though was the bed, it was heavenly to sleep in. The only down side is that a double bed is actually just two single beds put together, but after talking to other visitors in the area we established that this is quite common in Amsterdam.

Breakfast was included in our stay and it was a good buffet style mixture of european breakfast basics. It was tasty and did the trick for us. Im sure this probably saved us a few euros too as we would have only had to buy breakfast in a cafe elsewhere anyway.

I would most certainly reccommend this hotel and I would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: We asked for a nice view and they gave us a lovely corner suite with dual aspect windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just finished a five night stay at this hotel during our first visit to Amsterdam. Very pleased overall with this hotel. The hotel was well priced for the location, which is a 10 - 15 minutes tram from main tourist area and 5 minute walk from NS train station. The decor of the hotel is somewhat interesting, but look past the large picture in the room and very loud carpet and wall paper colour and you will find a good economical hotel. Internet was included, but required daily sign-up. Only complaint was that "king " bed was two twin beds put together, which meant being very careful not to lay in the centre where the beds joined

Room Tip: Pass on the king option
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Beautiful rooms, good location out of crazy city centre. Nice restaurants and bars nearby.helpful staff.
Boring bar at night.
Close to tram for easy access to city centre.
Good value for money.
Modern interior with comfortable furnishings

Room Tip: Rooms at back overlook garden area and are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.