We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really funky, great location just outside the the main city area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Really funky, great location just outside the the main city area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were a bit late in planning our vacation to Amsterdam, and happened upon this hotel. We were a little skeptical as to what a converted hospital would look like, but it was truly awesome. Super high ceilings, modern decor, and friendly staff made it all the more fun. We had a front facing room with small balcony which was a nice bonus. It is conveniently located right across from a tram stop, but after the first day we realized biking was our best option for transportation. Although renting bikes from the hotel may have been slightly more expensive (about 15 euro/24 hours) than getting them from a rental place closer to Daam Square, the convenience factor of being able to just drop them off at the hotel made it worth it. It was probably a 10-15 minute bike ride from Daam Square, but we biked from the hotel to the Van Gogh museum, Vondelpark, the Heineken Experience, and much much more. Another nice factor was that it was well outside the downtown area, so the nearby restaurants didn't feel as touristy or overpriced. We ate and drank really well at 3 different restaurants in the area, and felt like locals. The staff was also very pleasant and helpful, and I would recommend it to anyone, especially if they don't mind being a little bit removed from the bustle of the main squares.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    317
    70
    18
    9
See reviews for
45
370
20
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

arrived at the hotel mid morning to be told not only was a room ready for us but we had been upgraded to a junior suite.the staff were great always polite and very helpful.we didn't eat at the hotel but there are plenty of places to eat in the area or just jump on the no9 tram or no22 bus to the centre of town.it's a great place to stay and would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We got a great deal on the hotel through Hotel.com. I was a bit nervous as we were travelling with a 5 month old, but those nerves proved to be entirely misplaced. We were really pleased with the hotel for the following reasons:
(1) although the hotel is not in the city centre, it is well served by trams and only takes approx 10/15 mins to travel in, so travelling is really not a problem;
(2) the cleanliness of the rooms (and the hotel more generally) is fantastic;
(3) the bed and the bed linen are of high quality, good power shower;
(4) the bedroom was a good size, had black-out curtains, and it was quiet, hence we (and more importantly the baby) slept really well;
(5) nice continental breakfast;
(6) the best thing about the hotel however is the staff, all of whom were extremely helpful, Nothing was too small for them, whether it was booking a taxi, enquiring about hiring a boat, or restaurant recommendations.

This was a great place and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great hotel, a little away from the center but no problem at all as the tram stops right outside the hotel! Upon arrival the staff was very friendly, warm and welcoming with a big smile. The rooms couldn't be nicer for a wonderful and relaxing stay. They were clean, everything was new and well decorated with a nice big wallpaper behind the bed giving a very nice ambience. As the way you treat your customers is crucial in any hotel you visit, when I had a minor issue during my check out the hotel manager handled it in an excellent, professional and very friendly manner which was greatly appreciated.Thank you again for that! Indeed, perfect for me as well so don't make any second thoughts! I wish to be back any time soon!

Room Tip: We had a beck room which was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Located a little bit out of the way but the trams were so easy to navigate it made no difference! So clean awesome staff! Shower was great. Nothing bad to say! I would go back in a heart beat. Classy clean and fun!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

EXCELLENT hotel with staff who are pleasan,t polite and caring. You have any kind of problem at all and they will try their best to sort it out. Our room was spotless and pleasantly situated. The decor was pleasing and everything has been well thought out.
The beds were really comfortable and with the black-out curtains we could have slept all day! Easy to get to by tram (#9 from Central station) it is 2.70 euros each way. When you get your ticket it states on it that it is for one hour but this isn't the case really, it is for 1 trip.
Once you have checked out and got off you cannot get back on again even though it is within the hour, without paying again. We had a really enjoyable time in Amsterdam and staying at this hotel made it even better - the icing on the cake. We have stayed in other hotels in Amsterdam previously but this has certainly been the best.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed there numerous times in 2012 already. Menno is the greatest doorman I have met for quite some time. He alone makes up for some weaknesses at the reception and the rather bad restaurant (with especially mediocre service). He even cooked me some pasta when the restaurant refused to still serve me at 21:45 although they are opened until 22:00 hours (the cook had already left due to little guests that evening which I think is incredible in a four star hotel with enclosed restaurant). But the good thing is that the hotel is located a little outside the center in an area with quite some nice (student) bars, so you just need to walk one minute to find an alternative for some basic (not fancy) dinner. Rooms are modern and functional. The Junior Suites give a more spacious feeling. WLAN can be used for free, though connection/speed could be better. If you book enough in advance you can get rooms for around 100 EUR per night which is fair money for value. Sometimes it goes up to around 175 EUR which I think is a little too high. Breakfast is - unfortunately - just ok, nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.