We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem. New, Clean, Spacious - just what was required” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A gem. New, Clean, Spacious - just what was required”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I arrived on a late flight and checked in around 9pm. Not sure if the hotel had sold my room but I was upgraded from standard double to a junior suite! Amazing.

The room was on the large side. Bathroom included a bath and separate shower. Toilet was separate. Wonderful Ritual toiletries and included all the things a real 4 star should have and then some - slippers, toothbrush, sewing kit, nail fail, shaving set etc,..

There were also 2 tv's in the room. Not really necessary 1 facing the bed and another facing the seating area.
Huge bed and long enough for my 5'11 frame.
Plenty of tea and coffee and hot chocolate. And a complimentary bottle of water in the fridge.

Downside was that I was on the ground floor. No noise from above--ceiling was about 15 ft or more but I didn't like being on the ground floor.

Breakfast was 17 euros! daylight robbery but not much different to prices of many European hotels I've stayed in. I chose it because I wanted convenience and you can eat as much as you want - so make sure you are hungry. I think there are cheaper alternatives if you don't want the full buffet.

Overall a really pleasant experience, clean room, comfortable bed, friendly staff and would definitely return here! Recommend for anyone who doesn't necessarily want to stay in the red-light district.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    392
    89
    19
    11
See reviews for
60
446
29
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Not in center of things, but right next to tram stop. Rooms a little odd in design, but still quite nice. Didn't have breakfast there. Wifi not fastest, but still free.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We spent two night in this hotel in Oct 2011. The service was second to none, the Concierge couldn't do enough for us - right down to selecting a bike for us to go to his recommended Thai take-away restaurant, not to mention the famous flock of flying green parrotts overhead that had escaped and multiplied!
The room was immaculate and spacious and our windows overlooked the main street giving us a bird's eye view on life in Amsterdam. The bathroom with walk in shower, WC and sink was equipped with a decent hair dryer and plenty of shower products.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and go there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Just checked out this morning (have already booked back in for next Tuesday), Have stayed in three different Eden's now and this is the best. Room for Amsterdam was large (and yes the modern glass door to the large bathroom is something to get used to although it is frosted). Food in restaurant was very good just not cheap, but in this city you get what you pay for, if money is a problem there is supermarket down the road and there are some nice bars e.g Cafe Kiujper which serves Dutch and Belgium beers on tap. Pata Negra II a most authentic tapas bar is 50 meters away as well .. .All in all nice rooms, friendly helpful staff and good location, Station is a 2 min walk, tram 9 stops outside and 7 and 3 trams round the corner

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised when I checked in to this brand new hotel located in a former local counceil building which also had served Amsterdam as a hospital for many years. Fabulous and very colourful public areas, top quality rooms with comfortable beds, free internet, spotless bathrooms etc etc. A perfect place to stay just outside the most touristy part of Amsterdam!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I just want to say: WOW! I have personally worked in the service and travel business (including hotels) for many years, and Eden Manor was a very pleasant surprise! AMAZING rooms, huge, with terrace (on mine), very quiet, very fresh and new, luxurious, extremely comfy, amazing staff, all the amenities you will need!

It will take you only around 10 min. with tram to central station, and walking would only be 30-40 min max. The hotel is next to a huge wonderful park, a coffeeshop, supermarkets, cheap shops and cheap massage places. It is a quiet friendly area, and perfect to "come back home" to, after a busy day in the heart/center.
Also very close to the awesome Artis Zoo and Botanical garden!

The bar/restaurant is very modern, very good staff, and every person I met in the hotel was super friendly, nice and helpful. And lets talk about the value: It is PERFECT! You will not get anything close to this good for the price, under normal circumstances. I have stayed in many 5-star hotels which does not compare close to this.
Hotel is only around 6 months old, so obviously, everything is super new too.

STAY STAY STAY!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

stayed here recently room was spacious and bathroom lovely everything nice and clean we were not pleased to have to single beds pushed together with 2 seperate duvets also
downside to room 2 tea bags 2 coffee sachets and only cream asked for some replacements
on way out
when we got back later on they had left us 1 more t bag and i more sachet coffee
we bought milk from delicatessan opposite
the only toiletries supplied were shower gel on wall and hand wash on wall
didnt get towels changed second day
hotel wanted 17 euros continental breakfast and extra 5 for full breakfast
we ate at a small restaurant 2 blocks down glass chardonnay 3 euros meals reasonable prices
our opinion of this hotel is that it is a 3 star with 4 star prices
tram no 9 outside hotel very good service

Room Tip: request a double bed though dont know wether you will get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.