We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel!! Family Friendly & Great Location For Park & Zoo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 15 more sites!
The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linneausstraat 89, Amsterdam 1093 EK, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel!! Family Friendly & Great Location For Park & Zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed here last week for 3 nights. We had a family room which was more than large enough for 2 Adults & a 5 year old. We stayed in room 37 which is at the top of a coridor just through the Blue Bar area. This room I believe is classed as a suite and has its own patio area with table & chairs. The bathroom facilities were excellent 5*. The Hotel uses a selection of 'Rituals' products in the bathroom which are similar to 'Molton Brown'. Bathroom has a 7 feet wide window which looks in to the bedroom. When lying back in the bath you can watch one of the 2 TV's! At the end of the bed is a TV unit with a TV on either side. Very nice linen and pillows and the bed is also very large 6 footer!

There is a fridge in the room which is very hand if you wish to stock it with products from the Supermarket across the street! The staff were very friendly towards children and always made us feel very welcome. The Kids menu has a choice of 3 starters - 3 mains & 3 deserts. My son particularly liked the Chicken Sausuage & chips with Apple sauce! I had a very nice Pizza and the remainder of the other food looked really nice.

You may be thinking that the Hotel is a little out of the way! Far from it! To be fair I have stayed in the Krasnapolsky on Dam Square and felt a little uneasy as the Red Light district begins at the street along side.

It is incredibly easy to get to the Hotel from the Airport! We had 15.50 Euro 72 Hour Transport tickets. (same price for kids!). Plus you have to buy a separate train ticket now to get to Central station. From the Airport the journey to the hotel is 50 minutes. Straight out of arrivals down the escaltor to the Station. Take train to Central Station, get a No. 9 Tram heading to Diemen Sniep! In about 20 minutes you are 150 yards from the Hotel door! Brilliant and easy! All you do is take the No. 9 from outside the Hotel again which this time is heading back to Central Station and get off in Dam Square!

The Eden Manor is 200 yards from Oosterpark which is massive! Has a nice path all the way around, a Childrens play area and a massive paddling pool. We played frisbee there one evening and the park was full of locals chilling out and playing volleyball and having barbecues (felt a really nice atmosphere!).

Regardless of whether you are staying with kids or not, the Artis Zoo is incredible!! Will take you 3hours plus to do it justice! Nice to spend the whole day there. The localls appeared to be using coupons for a discount at the gate. I suggest you try the website. If yiou have kids under 5, there are seated karts with long handles for you to drag the round in. They cost 2 Euro and save little legs! The zoo is only 4-5 Tram stops on the No.9 also. All stops are called out verbally on the Trams!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    257
    59
    19
    7
See reviews for
36
301
18
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

The Hotel had only been opened for 6 weeks yet we had a bulb out in the bathroom and no plug in the sink. The bulb was replaced after asking, on day 2 but the box lay until we had to bin it. No toiletries were provided by housekeeping and we had to continually ask at reception. After a 5 day stay we still had no plug for the sink! The front of house staff were polite, friendly and helpful. "Air con" was very poor due to it being an air re-circulating system, so much so we had to take duvet out of cover and sleep only with the cover. Transportaion system excellent, location excellent. Tram stop outside hotel and central to most attractions. Overall a decent hotel, and we would stay again but certainly not in the hotter months. It would have to work harder to become the 4 * it advertises itself as.

Room Tip: we were offered a rooom for the disabled as we checked in early. Ground floor meant noise, and passe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Man at reception desk took 100euros 'deposit' from us on check-in for room service, despite our insistance that we would never order it. Slightly annoying start to the trip... our spending money is no use to us when we've checked out and on our way back to the airport.
'Upgraded' us to junior suite due to booking problem, but upgrade wasn't worth it. Dark room with small windows, not a nice view. 'Double bed' actually two single beds side by side, not even fixed together - not ideal for a couple trying to enjoy a romantic holiday in Amsterdam! Beds on rollers so they kept sliding across the wooden floor! No internet available unless you are a member. Strange windows looking from bedroom into ensuite, looked straight out onto the WC... again, not ideal if you're not THAT close a couple!!
Halfway through stay, we were 'downgraded' to our booked room. Would have thought hotel wouldn't make us switch rooms (two floors down) halfway through our stay seeing as it wasn't our fault they didn't have our booked room available. Normal double room surprisingly a lot better - big bay window with a nice view! No bath in ensuite, only a wet-room style shower. Still single beds laid side by side instead of a double.
Overall, I don't think we got what we paid for. If we just had just one room to stay in for the whole of our stay, and an actual double bed, we would have been very happy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in July and were very impressed with the hotel, service and facilities. All very modern, new and clean. Room was modern with flat screen tv, sleek wet room and power shower and comfy beds. Location was good too, about 10 minutes on the tram outside the city centre. If you're looking to be bang in the middle of the sights though this probably isn't the hotel for you. Only criticism was the over-priced breakfast... at 17.50 euros each for a buffet style breakfast I think this is a bit excessive. For this reason we only had the breakfast in the hotel on one of the two mornings we were there - had the price been more reasonable we would have had breakfast there both mornings.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We booked our rooms online, expecting very high standards for this new hotel outside the city centre (and therefore supposed to be of better quality than those in the tourist area). We were somewhat disappointed that the bathroom in one of the rooms had not been cleaned. The new room we were offered was not as confortable, did not have a bath, mattresses were not in order. and the coffee and tea tray had not been renewed. The air circulation system in the other room only provided hot air, making it impossible to have a good night's sleep. Staff was not very friendly and even had an attitude when we reported these inconveniences. Although it may occur that a new hotel has technical problems, the way staff (except for the gentleman) went about finding solutions and, mostly, the attitude of two ladies at the reception desk, was inappropriate. For what we got, rooms were largely overpriced and not worth four stars.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW197612, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Dear madam,
Thank you for sharing your expierence in our hotel and I am sorry to read that the service received in our hotel did not meet your expectations. I was in the understanding that the problems you expierenced were solved upon your departure from our hotel. I am sorry to read that this was not the case, please contact me on jan-willem.thooft@edenhotelgroup.com.
Kind regards,
Jan Willem 't Hooft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnybridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for acouple of nights from the 18.07.11. Booked this hotel as we were going to Amsterdam to see Take That concert. The Hotel was only opened in June so no reviews were there before we booked. The hotel is about ten minutes tram ride from the city centre. Take tram 9 from central station, Dam Square, etc and it stops about 100m from the hotel. The staff were really good, we arrived at 10:30am and new that our check-in was not until 3pm, the hotel offered to store our luggage so we could go out. The concierge was really helpful he asked us if we need any advise for sightseeing, maps, etc.
The rooms were really nice and clean, shower was in the style of a wet room. I booked breakfast at the time of booking this room, most sites showed room only but we booked in advance, the cost locally was 17.50 euro which to be honest was a little much and would not have had breakfast in the hotel if I had not pre paid it. Breakfast was Eggs, bacon, sausage and the the usual continental.
The hotel check-out is 12pm but again they offered to store our luggage as our flight home was not to late evening, so we went sightseeing and just jumped on the tram back to the hotel to collect it before we headed off to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the ground floor as they have no vblinds on the window so when you have the curta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Perfect location out of the noise of Amsterdam. Easy access with tram #9 from Central Station. Excellent service from all staff! Dont think we could have found a better home for 4 nights in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW197612, General Manager at The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you for sharing your expierence in our hotel on Tripadvisor! and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and the city. Love the pictures, but the first three are not taken in our hotel. Looking for forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Linneausstraat 89, Amsterdam 1093 EK, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Manor Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list