We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic centrally located hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #47 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic centrally located hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Really cool hotel, very nice, centrally located, right beside the train station, get the train from the airport, it cost €9 return, we had a room overlooking the harbour on the 9th floor and the skylounge on the 11th floor is supercool. Breakfast plentiful and wide choice, very busy bustling hotel, I would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: High floor overlooking harbour,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind words!
Fantastic to read that you would recommend the hotel.
We hope to welcome you again, should travels bring you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,691
    1,325
    358
    98
    59
See reviews for
367
1,580
184
610
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (966)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I stayed in May 2014 with some friends and this time I returned with my wife.

We booked an Executive Queen with Balcony. The room was on the 10th floor and we had a good, but not uninterrupted, view of the City. Our balcony was more of an elongated roof patio and was very nice.

Simply due to the timing of our flight and a train in to the City we arrived spot on 3:00 which is the very strict check-in time. Had we arrived earlier and tried to check in there is an "early check-in fee" of a very hefty E40. However, our room was not ready at 3:00. We were given a voucher for 2 beers in the Sky Lounge. All well and good but we wanted to have a wash and brush-up and to get out in to the City. How about offering this E40 "fine" in reverse and if your room is not ready then they give you E40 from your bill. Would this not be better customer service. I do not know of any other hotel that will charge you if you arrive to find your room is ready but it is not 3:00 so you must pay a lot of money.

This gripe aside we found the hotel to be lovely. Very clean, very comfortable and extremely centrally located. All of the staff we encountered did seem genuinely pleased to be serving us.

The Executive Lounge is not a great size and it got too crammed when they were handing out the free booze that we decided not to bother. Also, if you arrive for breakfast at a busy time it is like feeding time at the zoo and this is when you find that people forget their manners and push in front of you or become very greedy and take way too much stuff. The Executive breakfast only has scrambled egg as a hot option, the non-executive breakfast did have a vast array of hot dishes but paying punters have to pay E25 for this option and it is not available to those of us with "executive" privileges.

As we were on the 10th floor we were directly below the Sky Lounge and I was woken at 0100 on the Saturday night by the thump of music, presumable from the lounge. Perhaps management may wish to consider that not everyone in their hotel likes loud music and partying until the early morning. Some people actually rent bedrooms (a hotel's basic trade) to sleep. Why does the music have to be so loud?

This said, if we are in Amsterdam again we will stay here again. It's a nice place to be, it's not cheap but you get what you pay for. If I could give 3.5 stars I would do so as it I somewhere between "average" and "very good".

Room Tip: As far away from the Sky Lounge as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences.
Great to read that you would return to the hotel.
Just be informed that we do not have the 40 euro priority check in anymore.
If the room is ready we can check you in, even before 15.00.
Thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Our first time in Amsterdam and we chose this hotel for location to docks as we were going on a river cruise . The staff were phenominal from check in to guest services , to the cleanliness of the room . Would highly recommend this hotel to others going to Amsterdam The food was suburb, although we only ate breakfast there . Good work Hilton !!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words.
You just made the entire hotel staff happy!
Great to read that you had a good stay.
We hope to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Very nice, cool hotel. Great concierge service. Proximity to Centraal Station is a big plus. If you want to get to this property, save yourself €50 by taking a train from Schipol instead of a cab. View from the room spectacular. Overall.....love this place.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Great to read! Thank you for your positive review. Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Harsh words? Perhaps - but after spending four nights of an absolutely wonderful holiday in this property, the only thing I really recall fondly was the view and the iMacs in lieu of TVs. The decor, ambience, and staff were all adequate, but certainly nothing more. Service was very spartan overall and the executive lounge was quite possibly one of the worst I have experienced in Europe.

Perhaps if it is your first trip to Amsterdam you will find the location charming, but I definitely preferred staying a bit more central or closer to the Leidseplein.

Please don't fret if you've booked this property. It's not that bad. It's just that a three star hotel will always stand out on trip filled with five star experiences.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

great hotel in superb location for exploring central Amsterdam, with all modes of transport nearby. We had a lovely weekend here in may for our 25th staff couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast choice is huge hot and cold catering for every palate and a drink in the rooftop bar although pricey is worth it for the view

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review!
It is really great to read that you enjoyed the hotel so much.
We hope to welcome you again very soon!

Warm regards,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Except from very slow check in and out, this hotel is good value for money. Nice rooms, good restaurant with excellent service and only 5 minutes walk from the central station. Rooms and beds are good, and the rooms facing the center of the building have absolutely no noice in spie of the fact that it is almost build on the railroad.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed you stay at our hotel.

Hopefully we can welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.