We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, easy access from airport and central in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent location, easy access from airport and central in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I spend 1 night attending a meeting at this hotel. Its easy access from Airport by train on 15min and fact that it is also in middle of the city make it worth visiting. Rooms are filled with light and modern furnitures. conference facilities are comfortable and scale to even large meetings. breakfast was good, not great. Hotel has excellent roof top bar with nice views of the city. it also serves basic food and list of cocktails is very wide. I recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences.
Great to read that you would recommend the hotel for both business and leisure!
We hope to welcome you again, should travels bring you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,657
    1,289
    353
    97
    54
See reviews for
358
1,547
183
601
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (950)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I stayed here for the weekend with a group of friends in Jan 2014.
We couldn't believe how central this hotel is, its a 2 minute walk from Amsterdam Central Station and a 5 minute walk from the red light district.
The hotel is gorgeous inside and out and really does feel more like a 5*
The staff are all lovely and the hotel is kept to a very high standard!
I would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Amsterdam! Very affordable comfortable, luxury hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us.
Your kind words make the entire hotel happy.
We hope to welcome you again, should travels bring you back to Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Check in took forever as they were all answering phones at the same time as serving you. They could do much better job if they had assigned lanes such as check in, check out, etc

Once we were in our room I had to call twice to ask for a different bed option as we had two singles pushed together- no luck with both calls so we left it

My partner had secretly arranged to upgrade the room ( as he proposed yay) and the service was then amazing. Our room service staff member for the night of 12/08 room 925 was fantastic. He even brought us a congratulations gift.

Make sure to check your bill when checking out as they had added on €138 for laundry which was not ours

If they sorted their staff our upon check in I would highly recommend this hotel. Management really needs to look at more efficient ways of making their first impression as the queue behind us were not happy at all either.

Great location! Close to central station, the main city, tourist office, canal etc and bike rentals

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I picked this hotel because I am a Hilton Gold member and because it's located next to the Amsterdam Train Station.

When we arrived at noon, we were very excited that our room was ready - highly unusual even for a Gold card member - and the hotel was BUSY, it's not like they had many empty rooms.

The hotel is modern and clean, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The Executive Lounge had an AWESOME breakfast. The breakfast included sodas (my wife likes her caffeine cold) which is very unusual - especially in Europe. We dined on eggs, cheese and smoked salmon along with baked goods. I have now stayed at three Hiltons in Europe and two of them account for the best two hotel lounge breakfasts I have ever had.

The wifi was excellent, not to mention that each room has a free imac. My only less than 5 star comment would be that the TV linked to the iMac was a little confusing for us Windows people.

The rooftop lounge had amazing skyline views of Amsterdam - though a bit too noisy for our taste - but still just a quick walk around was great. If it had not been raining we would have sat outside on the roof.

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again, or to recommend it to anyone traveling to Amsterdam - especially if you are arriving by train.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you so much for writing this wonderful review.
Really great to read that you would recommend the hotel.
Also thank you for your feedback, this is really appreciated.
We hope to welcome you again!

Warm regards,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

As we all know it is always a bit of a gamble booking a hotel over the internet, even with the huge amount of reviews available. In this case, the gamble paid off.

We arrived at the Doubletree to find that we had been selected as the "Guests of the day" which entitled us to a free breakfast, cocktail or a room upgrade. We opted for the breakfast and the cocktail in the roof bar.

The room was clean, tidy and pretty standard for this type of hotel. The breakfast was good (as was the cocktail!). The location of the hotel is perfect for wandering around Amsterdam and easy access to the train station. The roof bar was busy and a bit pretentious, but of course it isn't mandatory ...

Given the service we received, the location and the state of the hotel we didn't hesitate to book another room with the Doubletree for when we visit Amsterdam again later in the year.

Room Tip: If you want a view - ask for one - some of them are a bit limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Great to hear that you loved our hotel and services offered. Feel free to contact us directly and inform us about your recently booked stay as we will love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is our second stay at this hotel and once again it did not disappoint. Our room was of a good size, with a comfortable bed (apart from the pillows which flattened as soon as you lay on them), was spotlessly cleaned every day and replenished with coffee/tea etc and toiletries. Water and delicious apples were available in the lobby but we did not use the cafe/restaurants so can't comment on them. We do usually have breakfast in the hotels we stay in, whilst on holiday, but did not here as it was far too expensive (24.50 euros) but had some delicious muffins from a local supermarket so it was not too much of a problem. The only real problem was the internet as it was either none existent or it disconnected after a short period of time. It was good to have a selection of English television channels especially the BBC 1! I would recommend this hotel to family and friends without any reservations.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Great to read that you have enjoyed our hotel once again, whenever you travel back to Amsterdam remember that we are always pleased to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I picked this hotel because it's located both across the street from where my Viking Rhine River cruise disembarked in Amsterdam and because it's next to the Amsterdam train station, and thus very convenient to get to the airport (only a 15 minute train ride and 5 euros).

When I arrived at 9am, I was very pleasantly surprised that our room was ready. They also told me that I was "guest of the day," which entitled me to a free breakfast buffet for two in the hotel restaurant and two free drink tickets in the rooftop hotel lounge.

The hotel is modern and clean, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooftop lounge had amazing skyline views of Amsterdam. The location was perfect. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again, or to recommend it to anyone traveling to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We love to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us this much, we strive to deliver excellent service and of course to give that extra wow-effect! We do like to welcome you back in the future and we hope you have enjoyed your cruise as much as staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.