We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, location, and comfortable room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #42 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Saint Joseph, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent service, location, and comfortable room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014


I am pleased to report that we couldn't have had a better 3 night stay. We were treated extremely well. My only regret is not being able to give the hotel manager our heartfelt thanks!

This hotel is easily walked to from the train station (which we took from Paris and later to the airport) as well as to the tram stop that will take you anywhere you need to get.

Don't forget a stop at the SkyLounge/bar, it was wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words in name of the entire team! I am very hapy to read that you had such a great stay.

Kind regards, Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,503
    1,159
    319
    82
    50
See reviews for
328
1423
166
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Myself and girlfriend stayed at the doubletree hilton which is a 5 min walk from Amsterdam Central station ... This hotel had the usual standard of room associated with hilton and the kingsized bed was very comfortable ..staff were excellent and the location is really good if like us you fly and then train it to the city. Can really recommend this hotel and it's location for a weekend break.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Nice that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay that much. Thanks for sharing your review!
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulvik Municipality, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a week long stay at the Double Trees by Hilton in Amsterdam to celebrate my 50th with 20 or so friends.

The hotel really made the week exceptional, not only was the standard of service, cleanliness and professionalism perfect, but the small touches the staff added really made us feel special for the whole time.

Our party was in the Sky Lounge located on the hotels rooftop, superb views and excellent service from the staff meant the event ran very smoothly.

Amsterdam is a beautiful bustling city with plenty to do and you actually feel safe when out and about. We had the most amazing time and I can honestly say this was purely down to the Hilton and its staff, inc the management who made sure we had everything we need.

Looking forward to our next trip

Rob Cooper & Isabella Gillholm

Room Tip: The city view rooms best suited us perfectly, the garden view rooms may have been quieter in the eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
So great to read! I passed your compliments to the entire team, thanks you so much!
Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I am really glad about the rooms, the location and everything in general about the hotel. Very good distance from the Central Station and from the pier. It's also very close to Downtown. The price is really adequate and the quality of the food very nice. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Great to read! Thank you for sharing.
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The hotel is comfortably located 3 minutes walk from Amsterdam Centraal station (15 Min's by train from the airport). It's located on city center but is separated by a big canal from the city's busy center so it's very quiet. About 7 minutes walk from Dam square. There is a Starbucks branch in the hotel groundfloor (connected to the lobby), The staff is amazingly friendly, helped us a lot when we encountered a problem there, there is a free Wifi in the hotel, there is a color printer in the lobby where you can print anything you want, there is a Mac computer in the room where you can surf the web or see the TV channels. There is a beautiful Bar on the hotel's rooftop with an amazing view. Also the famous chef Moshik Rot's restaurant is 10 meters from the looby door.
The room was clean, quiet, very comfortable bed, all in all we had a great experience there at a fair price, and I will recommend to all of my friends travelling to Amsterdam to book a room in this great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as possible, The cheaper rooms don't have a view to the city but it doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
This positive review made us so happy! Thank you very much. Hopefully we will see you back again soon.
Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

stayed for 2 nights at the hilton double tree,amsterdam,location great,next to train station,very trendy bar but as for room service and basic tidying of room replacing dirty towels etc this hotel did not impress me at all.
we left the room at 9.30 am to go out for day,left the sign saying please clean,arrived back at 3.50 pm to find no one had been in.
im not too bothered about making of beds etc but clean towels were needed.
then i realised we had no milk for a coffee so rang house keeping.this hadn't arrived by 6 pm so we went out.
later that night i rang housekeeping to ask for milk,no answer,apparently no one is there after 10pm.
in the end a guy from the cafe brought us a carton of fresh milk,i then realised we had no cups(paper cups are provided which we had used)
i gave up in the end.
the hotel is fab very modern great bar fantastic views just house keeping let it down.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am very sorry about your negative expercience with our Housekeeping. I would like to sort out what happened here. Could you please provide me with your room number?
Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just returned from a few days stay at the DoubleTree and had a pretty good experience, although not without a couple of niggles. The front desk and concierge staff were all very friendly and helpful but the room I was allocated had a view of a grey wall and an internal courtyard which was disappointing. There was some sort of building work going on during my stay and each day at about 9:30am we were disturbed by drilling. I don't know what was upstairs from my room but there was also a lot of what sounded like scraping of chairs and moving of furniture.

Onto the positives though - the location is perfect for Centraal station and is very close to tram and bus routes to help you get around the city. The chocolate cookie on arrival made up for the heavens opening as we were lugging our suitcases from the station, and the Apple Mac in the room was brilliant and we used it to listen to music and plan our time in the city. The room was also clean, well decorated and a good temperature given the heat going on outside. It was also handy having a Starbucks on site to grab coffee on the go.

I felt that the catering options - bars and restaurants - were pretty expensive so went out instead to eat. One handy money saving hint is that if you go to the public library a couple of doors down there is a lovely cafe 'La Place' on the 7th floor which does good value and really tasty smoothies, cakes and other breakfast options with a view over the city skyline.

So, overall, a good enough stay, a bit impersonal and large in scale and make sure you get a guarantee of a decent view when you book.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't book a courtyard view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. My apologies that you expercienced noise of drilling in your room! I will definitely investigate what happened here. Could you please contact me personally to provide me with your room number?
Thank you, Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.