We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tops for Central Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Tops for Central Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Airport to main train station to hotel in 40 minutes!Modern,airy,immaculate rooms with wonderful city views,or harbor or cheaper corridor views.Option of Executive Lounge worthwhile for 2 hour Happy Hour with warm mini-quiches and lavish breakfast buffet. Lounge is beyond the lobby bar.Red Light, new harbor front,canal and museum districts are all reachable on foot,but trams all stop at Central.TV is on the large iMac computer on the large work desk. Compact bathrooms and limited luggage space.

Room Tip: Ask for City View room.Avoid Sky Lounge noisy floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review after your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Central Station. Should travels bring you back to Amsterdam, I hope that we could welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,526
    1,181
    329
    84
    50
See reviews for
334
1,442
169
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (897)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Best place in Amsterdam to meet & enjoy outstanding view & a drink. Try it! Hotel is $$$ but nice as well. Right near trams to center. Train station is a short walk but trams will get you pretty much anywhere.

Room Tip: All good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you very much for these great compliments! I am happy to read you have enjoyed our SkyLounge and its views, thank you for visiting our SkyLounge! It is also good to hear the location of the hotel has been convenient for you, hopefully we may welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed hear in November 2012. Stayed with my husband for 3 nights. We were upgraded on arrival to a queen room with free mini bar. The cookie on arrival was a great touch and delicious too. Great location too. Staff were helpful and happy to help. Apple Mac in the room was great for listening to music and charging phones and iPad!! Would defiantly stay hear again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much for writing this nice review! It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. Should you plan to return to Amsterdam I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed here in June for 4 nights.
We chose a balcony room as we loved the idea of being able to go outside and enjoy the sights of Amsterdam city.
Our room was such a disappointment, it was a little shoe box size. At $400 per night we were really disappointed and tried to upgrade our room at any cost just to have some space but we were told there was nothing available at all.
The layout of our room was awful making it feel really small. I would never book this room type again. I have no idea what the other rooms are like so can't comment.
On the upside, the hotel itself was just lovely, the rooftop bar was gorgeous and had great views of Amsterdam city.
It was close to walk to most places.
The executive lounge was nice and we enjoyed our drinks and nibbles there on the odd time we were around between 6 and 8. We didn't have breakfast there so can't comment.
I would stay again, just not in this room type. I felt that for our average cost of $400 Aus per night we really overpaid for what we had.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much for writing this review. I am very sorry that the room was not as you expected. As we are on a prime location within the city centre, we made optimum use of the available space. Just to inform you that our suites are way bigger with separate living and sleeping room. Also thank you for your nice compliments. We hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This hotel is ideally location to get almost anywhere in Amsterdam City, it is located within 4 minutes walk from Centraal Train Station, Dam Square is 15minutes walk away. It is a new hotel and each room has an iMac which acts as a TV/Computer/DVD Player.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us! Should you plan to return to Amsterdam I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We are Hilton Gold members, hotel is fantastic, modern, clean and excellent location. The executive lounge is lovely and ground level with glass windows so you can look out, it has a lovely cocktail bar feel so well worth booking an execitive room, 5 minute walk from central station we just loved everything about it, have booked to return in January

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us! It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcome you in February.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I have stayed in Amsterdam many times on business and experienced the hit or miss rooms in some of the traditional type hotels.
This time on a private trip I was torn between booking a traditional hotel with its cosy dutch atmosphere or the Hilton.
The Hilton won this time because I knew that the rooms would all be good, and they were.
We were not disappointed,great views over the canal and city, friendly and happy staff ready to assist with information and directions.
Great position if you are coming into Amsterdam on rail,just turn left after exiting the Central station and you are almost there.
Also good if you are joining a river cruise to Budapest etc as most of the major operators leave from the wharf directly behind the hotel, about 10 mins walk and can be easily done with baggage.
Easy walking into the city too and the trams are closeby.Day tickets can be purchased at reception.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words! They are much appreciated. I look forward welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station should your travels bring you back to Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;