We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for exploring Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Germany
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good place for exploring Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I recently stayed at the DoubleTree Amsterdam for one night during a short weekend trip.

Being located closely to the central railway-station made it a perfect choice for me - not only because I was arriving by train but also because many of Amsterdam's sightseeing spots are within walking distance from there.

I stayed in a double-room in one of the upper floors. Room size was not too big, but not too small either. It faced the railway tracks, but the sound from the trains was inaudible even during nighttime. It came equipped not only with a large wardrobe and a small safe, but also with free W-LAN and an Apple-TV device with free access to internet services (keyboard and mouse included) as well!

I also visited the Sky-Lounge bar during my stay and that one turned out to be truly amazing. Prices maybe a bit high, but in the end you'll pay for the vista and atmosphere too.

Hotel staff were friendly and competent, however during check-in and check-out they sometimes seemed to be in the state of being overrun by the sheer number of guests (I think there was some trade-fair being held in Amsterdam during my stay).

All in all, this is an excellent choice for someone seeking a centrally located base for exploring Amsterdam, however it comes at a price: Rates are quite high for a DoubleTree property.

Final verdict: 4 out of 5 points on my personal scale!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback! Good to read you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again in the future! Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,655
    1,288
    353
    97
    54
See reviews for
358
1,545
183
600
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (949)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Excellent location next to Amsterdam Central Station. The hotel is very nice inside and rooms well appointed. Several onsite restaurant and drinks options and very easy walk to local canals with lots of food and drink options.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you so much for this review! I am delighted to read you enjoyed our restaurant and bars. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

The designers of this new hotel have thought of almost everything. My first three nights were for a conference and I was joined by my other half for a further three night break. My room on the 10th floor had a great view towards the city. The land immediately in front of the hotel is still shabby and depending on its development, may make or break the view. The hotel building from the outside is unremarkable, particularly from a distance where it seems to be on a hotchpotch of levels. Inside it is clean. The rooms are well set up, including an iMac which acts as computer, TV, and information services. If you need to use your own computer then the absence of a proper adjustable height chair means that pillows on the chair are necessary in order to get to a good typing height. There are ample plugs, mostly ion the right places: two on the desk, a further one by the wardrobe unit - great for ladies styling - and two on the RHS of the bed (only). With the exception of the shower base which felt dangerously slippery, the shower room is excellently designed with ample surfaces for ones own toiletries, towels within easy reach (always) and a nice clean design. The bed was slightly too narrow and hard for our liking. Given the room size it would have been possible to have a king size bed. Whilst the 10th floor was great fir the view, it was a problem when things got busy in the Sky Bar above. This was disappointing because in our conference room, which overlooked the busy Amsterdam railway line, we were struck by the eerie passing of silent trains - we neither heard then nor felt any vibration from them despite the fact that they passed right by the windows. The breakfast buffet was excellent, tempered only by the fact that it was only during breakfast on the sixth morning that I was advised that the sloppy scrambled eggs could have been replaced by fried (or any other style). It was great that we could hire bikes from the hotel, although the procedure was somewhat clumsy and paper driven. The views from the sky bar and the friendliness of the service were clouded by the fact that it seems as though huge groups of tourists go up there and are allowed in simply to take photos. On our first visit there we sat outside on the balcony but found our personal space so invaded by a large insensitive group that we moved away. The lobby area seemed too small to cater for the number of visitors. This was made more frustrating for me because, despite the fact that I had reserved the same room throughout, because the room was on two separate bookings - three nights business and three personal - I had to check in a second time. This was frustrating given the very long wait in the queue for the second check in. But overall, friendly, convenient, most things thought of, it was a good, if slightly pricey visit.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your review! It is always great to read that a guest sees the details of our facilities, as the set-up of our guestrooms. We are very proud of our breakfast buffet, for any future stay please notes you can also order an omelette of fried egg with you waiter. Though I am sorry to read that you had a bad experience at the SkyLounge was disturbed by other guests, as it is an public bar we allow access to other guests, though they should not disturb any other guests.
Once again thank you very much for the review, I will make sure to share it with the correct departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two days just after New Year. The hotel is well maintained, brilliantly positioned and is served well by a great team of employees.

I was lucky enough to be upgraded on check in so for my stay I enjoyed the luxury of a suite which overlooked the main area outside Grand Centraal Station. This was a great place to base ourselves as the facilities of the hotel were just what we were after and the hotel is a very short walk from both the main station and the main visitor attractions. The canal cruises all departed just a few minutes walk away as did the bike tours. The infamous cafes and Red Light District are also literally minutes away too.

The main bar area on the top floor often has live music and entertainment in place and the view from here is simply amazing. Lastly the best bit for me was the complimentary pick and mix in the Exec Lounge this was available 24 hours a day and was a nice finishing touch that summed up just how everything had been thought of in this great hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us! It is absolutely great to hear you have enjoyed Amsterdam and your stay with us. Thank you so much for your compliments about our SkyLounge and Executive Lounge! We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Putting aside the fabulous location, quiet compared to most all other City Center Hotels in general and in Amsterdam specifically, the fabulous Hilton trained staff, great, wild Lounge on top, GREAT buffet and hip bar/restaurant..... the BEST view of Amsterdam is from this Hotel....period. I was high over amsterdam, 110 stories up with a 75' x 50' garden patio ajacent to my room 1016. They called it a Balcony. Quick walk to Central station, whether you have been there or not, that is important. Boy, I wish I was there.

Room Tip: HIGH floor/ city or water views. Get 1016 or the corner suite across the hall, also with access to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing these great comments! It makes me happy to read you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we may welcome you again, thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel is located very near the central station. 2 mins walk. The hotel has a Starbucks in the complex and a couple of restaurants. The rooms are quite small and one has to keep expectations low in the room front. The other issue is that the restaurants close by 1030. I arrived late into Amsterdam and could not go to any restaurant for a bite. The staff is good and helpful. OK for business hotel but not recommended for a leisure trip.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Sorry to hear we did not exceed you expectations for your stay with us. Please note that after the kitchen closes we still offer hot dishes from our RoomService Menu. And our Guest Service team could give you some recommendations in restaurants to go to. We do hope we can welcome you again in the future! Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

the location is perfect... close to central station and city center.
they have a lovely terrace overlooking the city, but the service was so bad... very very slow. Another issue is that they do not serve nuts or crackers along with the drinks, rather they only serve popcorn - which sounds as a weird combination.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry to hear that the level of service was not up to standards. Could you please contact me directly and explain when you visited us and what went wrong? This would really help us to improve our service as we take your comments very serious.

Many thanks in advance.

Best regards,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.