We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €143
Ranked #47 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
belfast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not bad overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

As others have stated the doubletrees location is one of its main attractions. The hotel is spotless and the staff are professional, helpful and friendly.

I got a reasonable deal on the junior suite so decided to book it...not sure what I was expecting but was a tad disappointed...it has 2 rooms as such but both feel incredibly squashed. The wardrobe is tight against the bed and it might actually have been better if the separating wall wasn't there to give the room a feeling of more space...bathroom was also very small...to be fair it was the junior suite as opposed to the high end ones but can't say I was overly impressed with the layout

That said the skylounge looks great - altho only went once during the day - it's expensive - but Amsterdam is an expensive city and it's an impressive bar

The one plus point was that breakfast was included in the deal and it was fantastic

Overall a few gripes - I'm not raving about the hotel but I would recommend it...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback, we appreciate this. I am sorry to hear your recent experience did not meet your expectations. Regarding your comment about our rooms; All our rooms have been designed to offer a comfortable stay with all facilities you may expect from a 4 star property, making maximum use of the limited space available on a prime city centre location.
Despite this I am happy that you very much liked the location, staff and the breakfast and hopefully you will consider our hotel for a next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,868 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,354
    1,089
    294
    82
    49
See reviews for
274
1309
153
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (825)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Loved this hotel...so convenient to Central Station train station and to the trams...Staff is so friendly. We stayed on the executive floor and the breakfast in the mornings and wine and cheese in the evening were wonderful. Even though we've stayed in boutique hotels in the past, you can't beat the convenience here...and there's even a Starbucks attached! Perfection

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
These are some great compliments, thank you very much for sharing these. It is really nice to read that you liked your room and that you have enjoyed our executive lounge and starbucks. Thank you very much and hopefully we will welcome you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Great location. Good staff( they arranged all my wife's birthday treats) and even offered warm cookies on arrival. The location is ideal from the station(to the airport) as well as walking distance to Dam Square. It's a new hotel and excellent quality fixtures and fittings.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing these nice comments. I am happy to hear that your wife had a very nice birthday in the hotel and that you could visit all the highlights of Amsterdam easily. Hopefully we can welcome you again one day! Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Good position with 5 minute walking distance from Central Station. Friendly staff and nice rooms with comfortable beds. Fantastic views over Amsterdam from the Sky Lounge on the 11th floor.
Food and drink quite expensive. Very good selection of food at breakfast.Executive lounge functional with nice cheesy hot dutch snacks. Reasonable white and red wine and good coffee.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
These are some really nice compliments, thank you very much! Great to read that you have enjoyed the facilities of the hotel and that you went up to the 11th floor for the SkyLounge! It is good to hear that you liked the room and bed and I hope you will enjoy them again with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in March 2014 for three nights. I booked an executive room with AAA rates, so it was a little cheaper than competing hotels.

The two most special things about the hotel are the location (right next to Amsterdam Centraal train station) and the nice views it has looking toward the city. Both of these I appreciated a lot.

The decor is of modern Northern-Europe look. This particular room was on a diagonal to the windows. The bed was comfortable. As with other DoubleTree suites, the room includes an Apple Mac computer acting as both your TV and PC - nice. There's a safe, robes and slippers in the closet. There's a writing desk, accent table and a small sofa.

When you check-in, they give you a chocolate-chip cookie - as other DoubleTrees. As part of the executive package you get - newspaper in the morning, included breakfast and access to the executive lounge. The executive lounge serves a smaller version of the breakfast in the morning (just eat in the regular restaurant) and serves snacks/drinks at 6-9pm. While it's appreciated for this extra perk, one night the executive lounge was packed to over-flowing with people waiting for the free booze. So many cheap people!!

What really impressed me was the breakfast buffet. While not the largest, it had some unique features:
* some Japanese food items - first time I have seen this in Europe
* honey dripping from real honeycomb (had only seen this in Australia before)
* loaves of fresh baked bread - still warm from the oven

A some things that could be better:
* The bathroom only has a shower, with no tub.
* There isn't any storage space around the wash basin.
* The room only has a smallish stand-alone unit to hang your clothes

But these are minor nits. Due to its convenience and competence, this is a recommendable hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing these great comments! It makes me happy to hear that the room was according to your wishes and that you really liked our breakfast. Great to hear that you would recommend the hotel! Thank you very much and I hope you will visit the hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I travelled with my wife in a party of 8 booked by one of the others in the party. Having stayed in Amssterdam several times I admit I was a bit dubious about the hotels location but my concerns were completely unfounded and as it happens I was pleasantly surprised at how little walking was needed to get to our hotel once off the train.
Also the 11th floor has the most spectacular view over the city and servesd drinks in a very laid back, ambient atmosphere well into the night.
We had pre-booked a 40th Birthday cake from a local patisserie and on the day of check-in one of the reception staff kindly called and arranged delivery to the hotel. I regret not getting the young ladies name (or the young gentleman who followed up the patisserie for us the next day)but its the little things like this that have prompted me to write this review.
I have stayed in the Crowne Plaza, Swiss Hotel and Kraznapolski (all good hotels) but have never received the service as I did here.
Little things like a fresh cookie on check-in, a waiter remembering how many sugars to put with your coffee or cappucino.
We were provided a booth for breakfast to set up 40 Banners and ballons, and the cake, once received, was brought out to us with our coffees.
Every person in our group commented on how god the service was and on behalf of all of us I would like to say thank you.!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you very much for these great compliments!! It makes me really happy to read that you all enjoyed your stay here and that my colleagues were able to help you at all times. Thank you very much for the comments about the service and hopefully we can welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We picked this Hilton because of how close it is to the central train station. Very close to train station, you can walk there in 10 minutes, 5 minutes without luggage. We had a Executive Room on the 6th floor with a river view. The breakfast in the Executive Room needs more variety but we were pleased to take breakfast in the same hotel. Hotel is modern and the staff was very helpful. Quick access to Canal Boats, will take you to all the sites. Also, has a Holland Pass with access to buses and trams/great thing to have. I would stay at this hotel again. Thanks DoubleTree for a great stay.
Jose from Spring,Texas

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts! Good to hear that you liked your stay in our hotel. The breakfast in the executive lounge is just additional to the breakfast in the restaurant, we offer this as an extra for our guests, and therefore it is smaller. I am happy that you enjoyed it though! It is great to hear you would like to return, we are looking forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.