We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Visited this hotel in December 2013. Would highly recommend, in an excellent location literally a 2 minute walk from the station and a 5 minute walk into the city center. Breakfast was delicious could not fault it with a variety of food on offer including savory such as sausage, egg, bacon etc as well as croissants, pancakes, fruit etc and the rooms were immaculate. The skylounge view was really good we didnt eat in here but did enjoy a few cocktails which although they were very expensive they were delicious and also had a hot chocolate which was lovely! Would definitely recommend to stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you so much for these great comments!! Great to hear that you have had an excellent stay in our hotel and enjoyed the breakfast and cocktails in the SkyLounge!! I hope you will return to the hotel one day!! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,653
    1,287
    352
    97
    54
See reviews for
358
1,542
183
600
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (947)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed over on Valentines day and spent 2 nights at this Hotel and would highly recommend the hotel to anyone to stay when they visit Amsterdam. From the Airport we caught the train to Amsterdam central which took 15 minutes and then 10 minute walk from the station to the hotel. We walked out the main entrance and looked left and saw the hotel straight away and made ourselves to the hotel. We was greeted by friendly staff which gave us both warm cookies which was a delight so we could eat whilst settling into the hotel. The room was well presented, spacious, and clean. There was even an iMac to use which is used to watch TV as well. It had BBC 1 and BBC 2 channels :) and they had wireless for our ipad and iphones. They also had tea and coffee which is located at the bottom draw on the main table but only discovering by opening all the draws otherwise there was no note to say there was refreshments.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Great to hear that you have had a really nice stay with us! I am happy that you were able to watch your prefered channels from the room on the iMac equipment! I hope you will consider our hotel again when visiting Amsterdam, thank you very much!

Kind regards,
Caroline Receveur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Check In was very easy with friendly and helpful staff. The first room we were given was on the 10th floor directly below the Sky Lounge Bar. At 11pm we decided that the noise from the Karaoke was just too much and we asked to be moved, this was granted and we were moved to the 5th floor overlooking the railway lines.

Breakfast each day was of a good standard and nothing to complain about here. The room was very clean and well equipped apart from the rather small towels. The TV/Desktop PC was a first for me and a great idea apart from the fact there was no sleep timer!

All in all a perfectly acceptable hotel at which I would stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for the comments! We indeed had a karaoke event, I am sorry that it disturbed you! Luckily we were able to provide you another room! Good to hear that the room and breakfast were according to your wished and I do hope you will return to our hotel one day!

Kind regards,
Caroline Receveur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Hi we have just stayed there for the Valentine weekend, great location and a great hotel. We stayed in a Master suite (748)which is great but no one mentions it backs over what must be the busiest railway line in the world I understand you cannot help the location but customers should be told up front if there rooms if badly affected by noise, I booked this break to cheer my wife up who has been ill lately but due to the lack of sleep she now feels worse. I did go and tell reception but Was told that they had no other rooms. We are due back in April but will look to stay elsewhere purely on the noise problem.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I am very sorry that the noise of the trains has disturbed you that much during your stay. The building has been build according to the strictest norms in sound proofing, similar to airport locations. Sound proofing was confirmed to be within acceptable limits but nevertheless within the coming months extra isolation will be installed in rooms overlooking the railway. Please contact me for your visit in April so we can assure you will have a room of your preference!

Warm regards,

Caroline Receveur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Well not the best start. Checked in and had booked a king deluxe room. One would think king bed but no,two singles together not joined jump on one and the other goes flying. We ask reception and she says beds can be tied down to stop moving. Supervisor says not possible this is king deluxe room. Hmm first night we come back to our room and wont open half an hour later staff move us to another room. Lock is actually broken never happened before they say. Its simple i do not like being lied to just tell us the truth. Guess what the new room has a king bed just another lie from the supervisor earlier they do have king beds!
Yep can relate to the previous comments about train noise. Hilton i expect much better and truth is always best.

Room Tip: Dont get track side and make sure u get the room you paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
I am very sorry for the inconveniences during your stay. I would like to outline that it is never our intention to give you the feeling you are being lied to. I suppose there has been a lot of misunderstanding and I am again sorry for that. If you consider staying at our hotel again, please contact me so we make sure we can live up to your expectations.

Kind regards,
Caroline Receveur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is superb. Especially the views form the top level Sky Lounge bar are good for a drink or two. The rooms are small and not too special, we had rooms facing an inner court and we had to keep the curtains drawn all day because otherwise other guests could see everything inside. Strange layout, and not a nice thing to have your curtains drawn and lights on. This is certainly a downside
Other downside in the room was the small and plastic bathroom. Especially the shower was cheap and not good. The bed was bad as well, the mattress was as hard as a rock and the bed has some sort of wheels under it so we rolled through the room unintentionally.
Staff are international students I presume, not a word of Dutch and not trained professionally. I asked directions to the executive lounge to a lady of the staff and she had no clue what. I was talking about. Odd
The executive lounge? That was a total joke. It had all sorts of guests frequenting it, from English hooligans to hen's night ladies. Not executive at all. The lounge is small and the only thing people do there is queue up for breakfast or coffee. Forget about the lounge and pay for breakfast instead in the city-cafe.
No good things? Well it is stylish, clean and has a good location to explore town, but certainly not a flagship hotel for the Doubletree brand

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Good to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and the views! It is a pity that the mattress was not of your preference, as we have a lot of guest we cannot meet everyones preference unfortunately. Concerning our staff, we hire people based on their qualities and personality and not based on their nationality, that is why we have a lot of international staff members. Lastly the executive lounge is this hotel is available for anyone who is staying in an executive room or is a Diamond or Gold member. I am very sorry for the inconveniences and if you ever consider our hotel again, please contact me so we can assure you will have an enjoyable stay!

Warm regards,
Caroline Receveur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I chose this hotel for a 5 day break to Amsterdam and would highly recommend it to anyone. Check in was well organised and a warm cookie was a lovely touch. At check in we were asked if we were staying in Amsterdam for anything special and I said that were celebrating our anniversary and Valentines day. We had a bottle of prosecco and chocolates delivered to our room later in the evening, such a great surprise from the hotel. The room was spotless and had everything we needed for our stay including an iMac, tea/coffee making facilities, wardrobe, iron and board, power shower and hairdryer. The hotel is just a couple of minutes walk from Centraal station and most attractions were within walking distance or very easily reached by public transport, The breakfast is great with a selection of hot food, pastries, cereals, cheeses and breads and was re-filled quickly, even at really busy times. Dinner in the city cafe was less impressive when we chose to dine there for valentines day. Service was slow and disorganised - it took a long time for orders to be taken and our food went to the wrong table. The skylounge is relatively expensive but has a great atmosphere and spectacular views of the city - worth a visit. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Doubletree and would be more than happy to stay again if we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a city view if possible, otherwise you will be overlooking the tracks of centraal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
It is great to hear that you chose our hotel to celebrate your anniversary and Valentines day! I am happy that the room was according to your wishes and that you have enjoyed the breakfast! I am very sorry about the bad experience you had in the city cafe, thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.