We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #49 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Next to Central station. Easy to get to and from the airport. And easy to get a trolley wherever in Amsterdam you want to go. The staff were helpful. The executive lounge had a good breakfast and evening snacks with wine and beer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for these nice comments! It is very nice that you have had a good stay in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,736
    1,360
    368
    104
    59
See reviews for
372
1,621
192
632
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, central location. Definitely would stay here again. Very clean and comfortable, can't fault any aspect of our stay. Rooms spacious and extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We would love to welcome you back again some day! Thanks for the great positive comments, it was a pleasure having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed for a single night during a business trip. Room allocated overlooked the courtyard but if you are lucky the views from other rooms are amazing. Arrived on a busy day for reception hungry thinking what to do with food; a pleasant surprise awaited, was offered a warm freshly baked chocolate cookie that really did the job! Nice touch. Room although relatively small (I would say normal for Amsterdam room size), was very well appointed, spotless clean and the provision of bathrobe and slippers gave that little bit extra.
Breakfast was fantastic and despite arriving at a busy time in the morning, everything had been replenished all freshly prepared. Staff have been extremely attentive. Excellent value for money.
The proximity to the Central Station is a very big plus, anything to avoid the crooks at the taxi rank of the station is most welcomed.
Definitely a fresh alternative to the ageing dark hotels of the area, with its airing design and use of natural light puts you in the mood for a great day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks for the great feedback!! I am happy that the cookie came right on time for you ;) It is a big compliment for our hotel and staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Excellent stay at the Doubletree Amsterdam last weekend. So easy to find even I could not get lost as it is moments from Centraal station and is just visible as you turn left out on to the station plaza.

Allocated room on the 6th floor with city and canal views. The room itself was fine, so similar to their property in Leeds where I sometimes stay! it was spooky. All very clean, small bathroom with only a shower and no tub but for a weekend break not really a problem. Bed very comfortable and the iMac with BBC1&2 a nice bonus. The soundproofing was good as did not hear anything at night or in the morning.

Access to the exec lounge on the ground floor was included which allowed you red&white wine plus beer and soft drinks between 6-8 but it got very busy and some people were a tad greedy when the hors d'oeuvres and crisps were put out. At other times the fridge was padlocked closed and it was just tea, coffee and water plus space to relax in. There was also a computer with a printer so you could do your boarding pass for your flight home.

The highlight apart from the Sky lounge with the fab views and good drinks was the breakfast. The staff were superb, bringing tea, coffee and refills plus the breakfast buffet had everything you could want from egg and bacon to goji berries and other weird and exotic dried fruits. The cooked items were all hot and replenished and the choice of cold cuts/ cheeses and pasties wonderful. Considering how busy it was when I was down on a Sunday morning it was managed perfectly. Beware sleepyheads the curtains get drawn across at 11 sharp so do get down in time to have yours.

For a first time or repeat visitor to Amsterdam it is perfect as all the trams and buses leave from outside Centraal station so it was so easy to get back to the hotel or getting to where you needed to go.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Those are great comments! Thank you so much! We are more than happy that we were able to contribute to a great stay for you here in Amsterdam, we all hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have been going Amsterdam for the past 15 years and always stayed along Rembrandtplein but this time I could not find anything cheap so I decided to try somewhere else. Glad that I did! Great hotel - friendly welcoming staff (they charged my iPhone at reception after I forgot my charger) and a great location. The room was spacious and comfortable although the bathroom was a bit chilly (bring slippers!). The best thing by far was up to date flight information in the lobby - we were able to see if there were any delays and other flight details from the comfort of the hotel. Lastly, there is a Starbucks 50 yards away - what more do you need?! Great place.

Room Tip: Take the courtyard view - we opted for the river view but when we opened the curtains, there was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you so much for the great comments and for your choice to stay with us! It is absolutely great to hear you have enjoyed our hotel facilities and staff that much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our room is a standard queen room overlooking the harbour and railway. Thus it was a bit noisy when the trains pass through especially during night time. But the view is better than looking inside just the windows opposite to your room. The room is quite basic with min decoration. There is a Apple Mac in the room, both for PC and TV. Bed is a bit small as it is just a queen size bed. Anyway, it is just comfortable.
It just took a few mins to walk to the Ams Centraal Station and there are bus, metro, tram and train to go everywhere in Ams and other areas in Netherlands. As we arrived Ams in Feb, it was so windy and cold outside hotel as it just next to harbour and canal.
Breakfast in the City Cafe is good. There are many choices and even Japanese sushi. But we love the waffle and smoked salmon. It is always busy the cafe is large enough to accommodate the guests.
Lastly, the warm chocolate cookies from front desk during check in was nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for your compliments about the breakfast and warm cookies at check-in ,great to hear you have enjoyed these! I am sorry that the trains have bothered you during your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We spent 3 nights here in Jan 2014. The property is near the central train station. It was clean and quiet. The rooms were small, the staff friendly, and the halls felt a bit like a prison...narrow, bland, and repetitive. We will stay here again the next time we are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for your compliments! It is a pity to hear that the hallways felt like a prison for you, maybe we can consider cheering them up a bit! Thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.