We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 days in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #50 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Port, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“10 days in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel was prefect for our vacation stay in Amsterdam. We arrived early from the airport at Central Station. The walk to the hotel from Central Station takes 3 minutes. We were greeted with a smile by the front desk employees upon arrival. At check in I requested the upgrade for the Executive Club level. It cost 50 euros extra a night. With the upgrade it gives you access to the Executive Club lounge. The breakfast was great to start your day and at night you could relax with some warm coffee and cookies. The location of the hotel gives you access to the city within a few blocks. The Starbucks is located in the same complex as the hotel.

The rooms were small but clean and the maid service was excellent. The rooms were always ready when we returned back from a busy day. The room has a small window to open so you can hear the sounds of the city and get some fresh air in the room.

This was my first Hilton hotel I stayed at outside of the USA. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants friendly service, great staff, clean rooms, and great location to the city.

Thank You Hilton for a fun stay at the Doubletree in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
So good to read that you enjoyed your 10 days with us! I am very happy that we made your stay that comfortable. Hopefully we will see you again soon! Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,763
    1,384
    373
    106
    62
See reviews for
377
1,641
195
654
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,001)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in October 2013

First time to Amsterdam and I loved it. Great city.

The hotel is next to the train / tram/ bus station. From here you can visit other towns etc.

Really liked the hotel. Although when you check in they do try to sell you so many additional extras which is off putting.

Was on a high floor, no noise issues.

Didn't have the breakfast but you don't need to worry about booking this as there are some many places to eat close by that are cheaper etc.

The skylounge bar is good for the views but I preferred the bar downstairs, it was cheaper and a lot more relaxed.

There is also a starbucks in the hotel. Ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent as were the staff.

Really lovely city to explore and good for shopping:)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback! Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon! Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hotel charges a priority fee of 42 Euros to check in prior to 3PM. I had requested an early
check in days prior to arrival through Hilton Honors who sent the request to the hotel.
The room that I booked was a Deluxe King Room which was located on the backside of the hotel
directly over the tracks for Central Station.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. Please note that in our hotel the check in time is 15:00. We guarantee all arriving guests a room at this time and in order to be able to do this we are dependent on the check-out time of the guests leaving the hotel. As this is 12:00 our housekeeping department is very busy between 12:00 and 15:00. We offer a prioritised cleaning service however this comes at a surcharge of €40.00 per room. Kind regards, Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Reception - first class efficiency, perfect English, auto upgrade as diamond member to lovely room on 9th floor with fab views

Room service in afternoon was reasonably priced and was very goo quality

Apple equipment in room was cool (albeit our tv speakers seemed to switch on randomly through the night with a cackling sound which was odd although we failed to report it!)

Exec lounge was lovely when waiting for late Sunday flight home

Breakfast was superb - what a fantastic variety and with the most polite and accommodating staff. One small option at the buffet was bees wax honey on self serve which Id not seen in the 100+ hotels I've stayed in over the years :)

Overall an absolutely super stay

(Avoid the sea palace Chinese by the way; very expensive and poor quality)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
I am very glad to read you positive feedback! Thank you. Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed at the hotel with friends and we were not dissapointed. Hotel is 5 minutes walk from Centraal Station, and all the sights of Amsterdam are also within walking distance, so a very conveniently located hotel for a short break.
All the staff were extremely friendly, and helpful with advice on sightseeing. Breakfast had a good variey to choose from, and the rooms were comfortable.
Stayed here for one night and was a perfect location and comfortable stay, would highly recommend to stay here for a short break in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for the compliments! Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed here last week as I was in Amsterdam for work. The staff were very friendly, I liked that they gave me a warm cookie on arrival! The room was nice and clean and had everything we needed with a lovely view. They also have a nice bar called the Sky Lounge with a DJ and great cocktails. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor for a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Great feedback, thank you! Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

"Pro's":
- good location, close to Railway station, 7 minutes walk to Dam square, Red Lights District just across the river, a lot of restraunts and bars nearby
- good view from the sky bar and some rooms
- quite rooms, quite well equiped, new furniture, neutral decortion
- really good breakfast, a wide range of hot and cold dishes, high quality of food
- friendly and helpfull stuff

"Contra's":
- overcrouded
- instead of 1 king-size bed we had 2 small beds
- empty mini bar, but we asked reception to fill it in and they immidiately brought complimentary water
- no bathrobes in the room, but again we contacted recemption and they brought the bathrobes in 10 minutes

In general I would recommend this hotel for short stay if you want to live close to the main sights and discover the city.

Room Tip: If you book standard room try to avoid railway view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thanks for the feedback! To inform you: we keep the minibars empty (could be filled on request ofcourse) for your own drinks and snacks. The bathrobes are standard in our Executive rooms, but again, always available on request as you experienced. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.