We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, Amsterdam 1011 DK, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €143
Ranked #47 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Recommended hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel in late November, and in summery we were very satisfied. The staff was pleasant and service minded. The room was modern, had good view and included an iMac which we found very convenient. The hotel has a sky lounge on the 11th floor with a great view of the city. We also want to emphasize the hotels breakfast buffet, which we found to be well above the average. The hotel is located right next to the train station with good access to trains, trams and busses. The city center and the shopping streets are a located just a few minutes’ walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Nice feedback! Thank you so much. See you soon! Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,816 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,331
    1,067
    290
    79
    49
See reviews for
270
1282
149
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (808)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very well located - just far enough away from the central station to give you a bit of peace.

Excellent rooms with views of the harbour and bright and clean with very good free Wi-Fi. Could do with a few more TV stations but with good internet could live without them.

Could do with a bit more variety in the restaurants but what they serve is well prepared. Breakfasts were standard enough for a big chain but the staff were very attentive and OJ was freshly squeezed - makes a difference.

Sky Lounge is great with a good view of the city - definitely a nice way to finish the evening.

Pleasant business hotel and will book in there again for my next visit.

Room Tip: choose the harbour view it is nice to look out at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review!

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your room, our restaurant and our Sky Lounge.

We hope to welcome you in the near future!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We've lived 100 meters away from this hotel for some years and decided to go here on a weekend trip (having left Amsterdam just 1 year ago). After a lovely dinner in town with friends we wanted to relax for a bit. Been to sky lounge many times before with mixed experience, but thought good place to end our eve... Not, loud music so not to relax, went to lobby bar (was 23.45 guy behind bar said sry closed as of 23.00), went to reception asked to order room service there, she said yes, boss said no... All in all, as a local, location great, rooms ok, but service well below all standards, there are many more hotels were you could receive genuine service (without an attitude)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am so sorry we have given you this impression. It’s very disappointing as usually get many compliments on the friendliness of our staff. Indeed our Lobby Bar closes at 2300 but room service should of course have been possible. I do most certainly apologize
Regarding the music, we are currently investing in a new sound system which allows the dj to better monitor the level of sound throughout the entire lounge and adjust were needed. We don’t want the music to determine the atmosphere, merely to strengthen it.
Kind regards, Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

for a big chain hotel like the Hilton, it did not feel like that, the reception staff were very nice and friendly, we got guest of the day and were upgraded to an executive room which was lovely surprise, the rooms are new and big for Amsterdam and it still a short walk to the heart of the city.
we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review!

I hope you had a pleasant stay in Amsterdam.

We are happy to read you enjoyed your room.

We would love to welcome you back in the near future!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

During a recent visit to Amsterdam we stayed at the Double Tree by Hilton. It is a clean, modern hotel situated at a central location for sight seeing and access to the central train station, buses, and canal boats. The Sky View Lounge has a great view of the old city. Request a room with a harbor view and not facing the train station. The hotel staff are very accommodating. Executive lounge is a bit small and crowded.

We stayed in a suite which was very nice and modern, but not always practical. For instance there is no phone and very few electrical outlets in the living room. The living room also tends to be on the dark side. More lamps would help.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Good to read that you enjoyed your stay. I am surprised that you didn't have a phone in the room! We have telephones in every room on the nightdesk. We will try to search out wich room this was, so we can place the telephone.
Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The room (No. 436) was great, with an iMac for TV and internet use, free wifi.
The staff was very attentive and friendly.
what a impressing skylounge with a perfect view over amsterdam, especially at night
We want to stay there again next time

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review!

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

I hope you had a wonderful time in Amsterdam.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great all-around business hotel. Could also be good for tourists. Great staff, very attentive. Some rooms have great views of the city which is rare in Amsterdam. If you pay extra, it is worth the price to upgrade to a balcony executive room. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review!

Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, Amsterdam 1011 DK, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.