We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have just returned from a 3 night stay. The hotel is in a great location and its close to the town.
The rooms have everything you need and are clean and comfortable.
The hotel is full of friendly staff which made my stay even more enjoyable, I was travelling on my own and didn't feel at all uncomfortable. Peter in the City Cafe was so helpful in giving me useful information of places to visit.
I hope to come back again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback! It is so nice to read that you had a great stay! I will pass Peter your compliments, I am sure that he will be delighted to hear it!
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,653
    1,287
    352
    97
    54
See reviews for
358
1,542
183
600
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (947)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Loved this! Easy to find, about 200 yards, 2 football fields to the left from the Central train station in Amsterdam. Clean, comfortable and close to the old town. Easy to catch the bus to anywhere in the city for site seeing. Be sure to see the Rijks Museum, Anne Frank House and any one of the coffee houses. Great Indian restaurant just off the main street tucked down a walkway. Well worth the find! Great food, pleasant service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review! I'am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future! Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rehovot israel
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

It all depends what youre looking for,This hotel is located just next to the train station,rooms are medium sized but clean and modern ,the breakfast buffet is good,and the reception staff very helpfull. This is however a very big and busy hotel,having over 500 rooms,so you loose the charm of a smaller hotel,for example in the nege straatjies area overlooking the canals.Other negatives...The beds arent very heavy and so you feel every movement,many of the rooms face the railway tracks and are noisy.(we changed to an inner room after 1 night) ,and the price is more than other similar options in amsterdam

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay, it is greatly appreciated!

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed by the price of our rooms. As I read in your review, you stayed in one of our 25 sqm rooms on a prime location in Amsterdam, overlooking the historic city centre and with easy access to the trainstation and many tourist attractions in Amsterdam. For future reference; we offer special rates if you book far in advance!

I am pleased to read you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, the service offered by our front desk staff and our location.

We hope to welcome you again in the future,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a new property, adjacent to the train station. It's a short walk to the trams, buses and metro as well. The rooms are of average size. The bathroom has a shower only. There was no view from my room on the 5th floor - it looked over to other rooms in the hotel. The beds, unfortunately, weren't comfortable and this affected my sleep. When I had to approach the staff they were friendly. The free cookie at check in were a nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! It is good to hear that you enjoyed you visit. I am sorry to read that the bed was uncomfortable in your opinion. Everybody like a different type of bed, so please let us know in your future stay because we have different solutions to make every bed as comfortable as home!
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 2 nights in hotel. We had an executive room with a lovely view over the city. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the room was very spacious. The hotel is very well situated next to the train station and a couple of minutes walk to the city centre. It was a little expensive at €179 a night but we had complimentary breakfast and drinks and snacks in the evenings. Would definitely return to the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is greatly appreciated!

Thank you for your feedback regarding the HHonors check-in desk. We do have a seperate desk for our HHonors members, but I am sorry to hear you were not able to recognize this desk. We will definitely take your feedback in consideration, thank you!

Futhermore I am sorry we were not able to upgrade your room for your past stay. You booked one of our beautiful King City Suites. The only room level that is higher is our King Master Suite. Unfortunately those Suites were booked during your stay. We will try our very best to upgrade your room the next time you will visit us!

Furthermore it is great to hear that you enjoyed the iMac, the service of our concierge and the cocktails in our SkyLounge.

We hope to see you in the near future,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights (Oct 11-13) arriving by train. Literally 5 minute walk from the Centraal station which was super convenient. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

Here's a few areas that could have been better:

- Check in lobby was a free for all. Registration has 4-6 attendants including HHonors. No queue and a lot of confusion as to who's up next. Suggest adding a simple rope queue for general check in and the same for HHonors. Also we're Diamond level but received no welcome acknowledgement and weren't offered an upgrade (terrace or corner suite would have been nice).

- We reserved a prepaid King city view suite, but we were given a recessed, partial city view room (610) that had more of a view of the front entrance court, massive building wall with Doubletree sign and no view of the historic city center. Called desk to change and we were moved to 521, a suite with full view, though what appeared to be a Queen bed.

- Lobby café wasn't open Saturday between 11am and 12pm. They were evidently changing over the buffet from breakfast to lunch. Other days we had a nice breakfast in the executive lounge.

- Room lighting for the suite was a bit sparse. Lots of dark areas. Worst lighting was the halogen above mirror lighting in the bathroom. Should be the brightest, instead it was dim.

- In room coffee maker has to be the worst designed machine ever produced. Impossible to brew a simple cup of coffee.


What stood out:

- Suite was huge, bed was comfy and windows opened just enough to get fresh air.
- In room MAC computer/TV combo was great.
- Concierge was very helpful.
- Doubletree bikes out front to rent, we didn't because of rain but would next time.
- Starbucks in lobby.
- Enjoying cocktails and the view in the SkyLounge was a perfect way to start or end the evening. Also, the small plate menu is very good.
- Taxi's in AMS are expensive and we had a couple of rogue drivers. Next time we'll use the convenient trams as much as possible.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Use Starbucks in the lobby for a great coffee versus the in room machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.