We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5/5 superb - friendliest staff of any hotel I've stayed at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 10%
Ranked #51 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“5/5 superb - friendliest staff of any hotel I've stayed at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were due to stay here for 2 nights for my birthday with our 1yr old daughter, but due to filght delays and cancellations we ended up arriving at the hotel at 9am on what should have been the first day, so we missed our first night. I'd called ahead to warn the hotel that we'd be 12 hours late so please don't cancel the room as it's my birthday etc, when we arrived we went up to our junior suite and the front desk manager had left a hand-written birthday card out and some free drinks vouchers for the bar. Such a lovely touch!

The junior suite room was great for travelling with a baby as we could let her sleep in the lounge. The lounge bit had a sofa, espresso machine, big iMac tv/pc, and there was another iMac in the bedroom. Small but functional bathroom. Everything was triangular shape so the rooms were a funny shape.

We got the free breakfast in the exec lounge downstairs for staying in a suite, which is scrambled eggs, bread, nice cheeses / cold meats, yoghurts, fruit, cereals, juices, coffee etc. Not a huge breakfast but very tasty, more than enough. In the exec lounge in the evenings (5-7 or so) they do free drinks - help yourself to a tap of Heineken or bottles of wine, and canapes. This in itself is excellent.

To keep little ones amused, they had a small play area under the stairs in reception - such a good idea. The best thing about the hotel though was that every member of staff we came into contact with was so friendly and chatty, they all made the effort to be nice. On checking out they gave my daughter a little free toy of her choice, and offered my wife a free umbrella as it was raining.

Location is good - about 5-7 minutes walk from Centraal Station which is perfect for the airport (30 mins by train). It is nice and close to the city centre / RLD so you can be in the busy bit within 10 minutes walk, but it is in a quiet area so you're not kept awake at night. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a detailed review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am happy we were able to make your birthday a memorable experience. It is good to read that you enjoyed the junior suite, the breakfast and the small play area for your daughter.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,962
    1,519
    418
    113
    70
See reviews for
426
1,837
211
716
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,098)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 1st Nov for 2 nights and everything was excellent would return without hesitation. Rooms were lovely with super views and ace location to drop our bags straight from the station.
Breakfast was lovely and staff friendly - super stay

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us this positive review, it is greatly appreciated!

I am naturally pleased to read you fully enjoyed your stay with us. It is so wonderful to read you would return to our hotel without hesitation and that you experienced our staff as friendly.

We are already looking forward to your next visit!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for my 20th, staff were lovely. Had a little hiccup at the start where a trainee gave us the wrong breakfast time, was very quickly sorted out and was given 2 free costa coffe vouchers and 2 free drinks in the sky lounge and a very sincere apology. Great location walking distance from everything overall amazing long weekend away !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you soon again in our hotel!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here with my 8 friends last weekend and very disappointed for price paid. Rooms very basic, some come with view some don't even although same price paid. Some staff didn't seem to know what Exec facilities came with so couple of pals ended up breakfasting in Exec Lounge themselves! Central but even with Exec Lounge facilities wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your unfortunate experiences with our hotel. A detailed response has been provided to the questionnaire filled in online, however I once more would like to offer our apologies. Your experience has not been representative for our normal level of service.

I do hope to welcome you back soon

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This modern hotel is just a 4 or 5 minute walk from the main railway station and very handy if like us you have flown in to Schiphol Airport.

On entering reception we were greeted by a huge queue of people all waiting to be checked in and not all the check in stations manned; after a long days travelling all we wanted to do was get to the room. Took probably 15 - 20 mins to get to the desk to check in and during that time we were given complimentary cookies which were nice but hardly made up for our long wait

Our room 785 (7th floor) overlooked the inner triangular courtyard, not a fantastic outlook but the room as a whole was very nice with all the usual facilities you would want from a quality hotel including a safe, although was a bit disappointed there we no biscuits to have when you made a tea or coffee in the room. The I Mac TV took a little time to figure out but great when working and the internet is much faster using that than using a mobile device on the free WiFi.

Room is simply but smartly decorated and very clean with a smart white modern en-suit bathroom (shower room). The stylish sink looks smart but when you try and fill it to have a shave you can only get about 40mm of water in before it reaches the overflow; style over function I think. The bed itself was large and comfortable and you can control the temperature in the room from a little panel, although my only minor gripe about the air conditioning is that you can hear a constant noise of air coming through the roof ventilation.

We had drinks in the ground floor bar and the service was very good and prices not too bad compared to the rest of the bars in Amsterdam, the food looked good as well but did not try it. The highlight of our stay was using the Skylounge on the 11th floor; more expensive for drinks and food but the views are fantastic with glass walls and entry onto an open air deck area. I would recommend visiting this bar even if you are not staying at the hotel.

We had a very enjoyable relaxing stay at the hotel, staff all very helpful and would be very happy to return. Had to queue (again!) to check out and glad we checked our bill as we were charged 50 Euro for a meal we did not have and had not signed for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the city and waterways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailled feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is greatly appreciated!

I am very sorry to hear you had to queue upon check-in and out. We do everything possible to simplify the check-in and out process, and minimize the waiting time, but unfortunately we can never completely prevent unexpected peeks. I am confident upon a future stay, you will have a different experience!

It is on the other hand very good to hear you enjoyed our Lobby bar as well as the SkyLounge Bar. I am also naturally pleased you describe our staff as very helpful and will certainly pass along the message to the entire team!

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We recently stayed for three nights at the Amsterdam Centraal Station Doubletree. The hotel looks to be new with very modern touches all throughout the hotel and rooms. I really like they have an iMac in the rooms for the TV and browsing the web.

It's a very nice hotel that I would highly recommend.

Only one negative, we were upgraded to the executive level room so we had access to the executive lounge which was not that great. The breakfast,snacks and afternoon drinks/food were well below all other lounges that I have been in - they definitely need some upgrades there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. It is really appreciated.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the variety in our Executive lounge. I am sorry to hear your experience did not meet your expectations. We are committed in providing our guests with the highest service level, so we will definitely take your feedback in consideration!

Besides that I am happy to hear you would recommend our hotel to other travellers!

We hope to see you soon again in our hotel,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.