We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place...Location, General Manager, Sky Lounge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #41 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Special Place...Location, General Manager, Sky Lounge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel from September 22-26, 2013. After encountering some challenges with respect to an early check-in, we raised our concerns with the Hotel General Manager. The positive response we received almost immediately from the Hotel General Manger was nothing short of outstanding. Having traveled all over the world, I can only say that this hotel's General Manger presented to us the epitome of extraordinarily good customer service for which we were extremely grateful.

The location is without a doubt the best in Amsterdam...about a 5-7 minute walk from the River Boat Cruise Terminal and about a 5 minute walk from the Railway Station!!

The hotel room decor is practical and perfectly acceptable. The ground floor restaurant is classy, modern, sleek and offers excellent food, while it's less formal coffee shop is attractive and welcoming.

Finally, this hotel offers an extraordinary roof top Sky Lounge bar sporting floor to ceiling windows along the entire length of the building, including an outdoor seating area. It is very modern, hip and will appeal to the up and coming young business men and women...it certainly deserves a visit.

We received good value for our money and will forever remember the generous, responsive and exceedingly sensitive customer service offered to us by the General Manager.

Mike, Ottawa, Ontario. Canada.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Mike, Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback! I am really glad to read that you were that satisfied. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future! Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,505
    1,159
    319
    82
    50
See reviews for
328
1423
166
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel is situated only a 5 minutes walk from Central station and very easy to find. My room was rather small, but clean and quite ok, the same with the bathroom. The breakfast was very impressive, with sausages, scrambled and boiled eggs, all kinds of bread and cereals. There were also a good choice of fresh fruit and cereals. The staff was friendly and service minded, even if there was quite a line when I arrived, so I gave up and checked in only after my meeting. I also think that check in time at 15.00 is too late!

As I were on a business trip, I did not get to see much of Amsterdam, but I don't think I would have chosen it if I were to go there as a tourist. It seemed to me to be a bit too far from the interesting sights in city centre (except for those especially interested in the red light district!). But as a business hotel it definitely met my expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us, it is greatly appreciated!

I am sorry to hear there was a queue when checking-in. We do everything possible to limited the waiting time, but we can never completely prevent unexpected peeks. Our check-in and check-out times are representative for the timing you will find in most hotels, and are based upon a morning check out of by latest 12:00u, which leaves us 3 hours to clean all rooms ready for check in at 15:00u. We do offer a priority cleaning service at EUR 40 for early arrival and for guests arriving really early we generaly advise to book the room the night in advance. The latter would really apply if you were to arrive i.e. at 9 AM

Furthermore, I would like to thank you for your positive feedback! I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location and room. It is also very good to read you enjoyed our friendly staff and breakfast buffet.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Excellent hotel, very close to the town centre, but no too close to be noisy - although rooms under the bar can be noisy. Very flexible on late check out, helpful hotel staff (lent us an umbrella when raining) and appreciated the warm cookies on arrival and free bottles of water in reception. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Cheikha, thank you for your positive feedback! It is very good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future with a nice and warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie! Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Coffee for four mid afternoon. Great views & the handmade chocolate & biscuits were a nice touch. 4 Euros & well worth it but the service was slow & Lea the waitress got the order wrong, didn't bring the extra milk asked for & wasn't very jolly. They weren't too busy so not sure how the service would be if they were. Worth a visit overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is good to hear that you enjoyed our SkyLounge and the spectacular view! I am sorry to hear that you were not completely pleased with the service. We know Lea as a very helpful and hospitable person. I will investigate what might went wrong that day. I hope to welcome you back again in the future! Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killybegs, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent service & location. Good base for exploring Amsterdam. Breakfast was the best I ever had in a Hotel. Our room was lovely - fantastic view. Room was situated over Centraal Station, we didn't find noise an issue at all.
Would definitely stay here if in Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review!

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast, room and location! We are already looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I thought the hotel was great, great location, very clean and great bar on the roof. Only problem was queuing to check in and check out but was well worth staying and will go back , definitely reccomend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback!

I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy to year you would recommend our hotel to others and we are looking forward to your next visit!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with friends for a long weekend and was impressed with the location. Light and airy reception, friendly staff and the delicious warm chocolate cookie on arrival brightened up the rainy day. Rooms not bad size and nicely done although a city view would be preferable to train tracks in the standard accommodation. Amazing views from the sky bar but unsurprisingly pricy drinks. Only negative was checking in and out- obviously not enough staff to deal with the number of guests which meant long waits and even longer queues.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, it is greatly appreciated!

I do apologize for the queue upon check-in and out. We do everything possible to minimize the waiting time, but unfortunately can never completely prevent unexpected peeks. I am confident upon a future stay, you will have a different experience.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass along your nice comments to the entire team! We are looking forward to your next visit.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.