We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #52 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The midlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend back in July, great location just 10mins walk from the station on the quieter side.... 5mins walk to the hustle and bustle. Rooms are fantastic, bright and airy with floor to ceiling windows, comfortable beds, tv, hair dryer etc etc... Reception was very busy on check in and departure but expected at busy times.... Bar was great service, breakfast was so much to choose from. Highly recommend this hotel and would definitely return.
The sky bar is fab, a little pricey but it keeps out the riff raff so definitely worth it... Especially on a lovely sunny day, it's worth having a drink to sit outside and look over the beautiful city.

Room Tip: High floor, overlooking canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us this nice review. Is it greatly appreciated. It is so good to hear that our rooms, location and service met your expectations and therefore, you will recommend our hotel.

We hope to see you soon again in our hotel,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,814
    1,418
    387
    109
    65
See reviews for
395
1,686
201
670
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,029)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is a fine, clean, comfortable retreat for seeing Amsterdam and then boarding a Viking cruise. We arrived in Amsterdam 4 days before boarding a Viking rIver cruise vessel. The hotel is quite modern and located a 5 minute walk from both the cruise embarkation point and Centraal station, giving us easy access to all of the sights and attractions in Amsterdam. Upon leaving the hotel I thought I had lost my wallet. The staff was so very helpful and patient while they helped me search our room and the lost and found. Luckily I did find it hidden among my belongings, but I truly appreciated their attention and consideration for my plight. I would heartily recommend the Doubletree to any travelers who find themselves in Amsterdam

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback!

I am so happy you enjoyed your room, the location of the hotel and our attentive staff. I will pass along the message to my entire team. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed over one night in Amsterdam on the way to Groningen for work. Pleasently surprised by the cleanliness and the space of the rooms. Ordered room service and it was to my room in less than 20 minutes. Ended up staying for two additional nights when returning from Groningen and would stay there again on my next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We really appreciate it.

I am happy you enjoyed our rooms as well as the service. We are looking forward to accommodating you on your next trip to Amsterdam!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbeltown, Scotland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the Doubletree and were glad we paid a bit more for a decent hotel. Amsterdam was very busy and although the hotel is in a great central location (right next to central and walking distance to main attractions) it didn't seem as crowded as others we walked by. The service was good but slow (seems to be the Dutch way) with long queues at reception. The warm chocolate cookie and free apples and mineral water was a nice touch. We were given an executive room but there wasn't much in the lounge - no food or drink available at the times we popped in and the coffee machine was getting cleaned so out of action.

Rooms were spacious and clean. Great power shower and free toiletries. We had a great view of city. Tea/coffee facilities as well as an imac.

Gym was large and well equipped. Breakfasts were fantastic with a huge range of foods. We ate dinner at restaurant and it was nice but pricey. Lots of restaurants nearby too. The sky lounge on top floor of hotel was brilliant - cracking views across city and lovely cocktails but quite expensive.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a nice review. It is much appreciated!

I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy you would definitely recommend our hotel and we are already looking foward to your next visit.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It's important in Amsterdam to be located close to Central Station because that's how everyone arrives into and leaves the city. The train from Schiphol airport is direct and fast to the station and many people take trains from other parts of Europe direct into the centre of Amsterdam - much better than using the overcrowded road system. The downside is that hotels near the Central Station tend to be busy and relatively expensive - and the Doubletree is no exception

A maximum of 10-minute walk from the front of the station takes you to the hotel which is easy to find and overlooks a canal junction. The hotel was built recently with lots of glass and has a bright and clean image inside and out

The check-in and out experience wasn't great, with long queues inside a pretty small lobby area - and fairly harassed-looking staff going through 'customer care' scripts without any personality. I wouldn't criticise them for that - it's just that they are in a high volume hotel

I had a double 'executive' room which was comfortable, furnished with some style in a business-friendly somewhat clinical approach and with a good view over the canal and parts of the city. A small fridge had still & sparkling water only. A tea & coffee making kit was hidden in a drawer. The bed was fairly comfortable. The 'star' of the room was an apple computer/TV system on the desk, from which the Internet worked well and TV was OK though a small selection of channels in various languages. The bathroom was small but OK and the shower was easy to work and moderately strong water pressure

The hotel restaurant is OK for dinner though without culture or interest, the sort of place you go for a business dinner when you want to concentrate on the discussion and not the view or the food, I wouldn't go there with friends or family - better to find somewhere more interesting. Breakfast is again standard buffet with pre-cooked (over-cooked) bacon and scrambled eggs etc etc though good selection of fruit, bread, croissants and so on

There is a nice bar on the 11th floor with views over the city and water. There is also a small bar on the ground floor and a slightly odd 'executive room' with complementary coffee, water and biscuits. To get into that in theory you need to use your 'executive room' key, but actually the security system wasn't working, so anyone could have entered

I left the hotel without any emotional attachment having been formed. So don't feel in any way loyal to it, though equally wouldn't object to going back there .... and rolled my luggage 5 mins back to the station to catch a train to Paris

Room Tip: Best to choose an executive room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for you extensive feedback. I am happy to hear that overall, you had a good experience at our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoersholm Municipality, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed in this Hilton hotel that in the rooms has a 'flood of daylight' ...NOT. It had a view to a wall and no chance of daylight (room 557). The service in the reception was unfriendly... They seem to forget that customers pay their salery. Despite Hilton is a english speaking hotel they fail to give correct direction...and ofcause..let The guest wait while speaking privately In phone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I am shocked to hear that you have had such a bad experience with our hotel. All our rooms have unique floor to ceiling windows, allowing a lot of daylight to get in. There are a few rooms however, due to the triangular shape of the building, which are located more in corners and do indeed have less wide views. Please accept my sincere apologies we have not been able to allocate you the room you desired. We do most certainly realize you have a choice when booking a hotel, your experience with our front desk therefore does not represent the usual experience which is also reflected here on Tripadvisor. It would mean a lot to me to make it right to you, therefore please contact me directly with the exact details of your stay, referring to this review.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was a 1 day business trip to Amsterdam so I arrived late the evening before and left the hotel after breakfast for a 10am meeting outside of town. The location of this hotel right next to the Central Station is great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated!
I am happy you enjoyed the location of our hotel and hope to see you in the near future.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.