We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely 4* hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Doubletree
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, Amsterdam 1011 DK, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #45 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely 4* hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend city break which was spent with my two daughters and my sister. We stayed at this lovely hotel only a 10 minute walk from the railway station and in a very good location for exploring the city.
My only gripe really is about the disposable cups in the room, tea and coffee just doesn't taste the same but otherwise the rooms were clean and well furnished with modern furniture. We had a TV in the room which broad cast BBC 1 and 2 so at least we were able to keep up with what was happening at home whilst getting ready in the morning and evening.
Our room overlooked one of the canals and offered views of the hustle and bustle of this vibrant city. So many bikes and cyclists, at times you needed eyes in the back of your head! The local people were very pleasant and helpful, we British have a lot to learn! Would definitely visit again a weekend wasn't long enough to see it all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Lovely to hear that you have enjoyed the hospitality and the facilities offered. We indeed place the disposable cups in the room for the coffee and tea facilities, due of environmental reasons, but if you would love to have porselin you can call room service and they will bring it up to your room. Just a tiny tip for perhaps any future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,190
    977
    255
    70
    43
See reviews for
244
1137
141
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very modern hotel in the Heart of Amsterdam literally steps from the Central station.

Warm welcome (plus cookie) and nicely appointed room (a little small by US and middle/asian standards though) but very comfortable and functional (Apple computer instead of a regular TV) with a balcony and excellent views of the city, great place to watch the canal parades....

Breakfast was pretty good (not spectacular) and the food was not too special...there are several amazing restaurants within walking distance so it doesnt matter too much).

Overall, the location was a great base from which to explore the city...would certainly return..

Room Tip: high floor with a balcony facing the city or the River behind the station...great views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am happy to read you plan to return to our hotel. It is good to hear you enjoyed the location and view from the room as well as our breakfast.

I hope to see you soon in our hotel,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed a week here. I booked it because we came in to Central Sation and were leaving from there so it was so convenient. I have mixed feelings. Our room was fine, nothing European, but I knew that going into it. The bathroom was very nicely appointed with a good shower. There was enough counter space for the two of us. The bedroom size was fine. I don't expect huge in Europe. We had a King bed; 2 night stands; a chair and small table; a desk with an apple TV/radio/computer; a small closet with safe and two shelves; a refrigerator that had plenty of room for our stuff; and some additional shelves. The computer part of the TV was good. We checked most of our email via the computer, the internet worked well. It may have been the location of our room but the free WI FI was AWFUL. I don't know. The place was packed with tourists and business people so I don't know what others did. It was fine in the lobby. For the best reception, to log on, we had to stand in the corner of our room by our door and hold up our phone or ipad. I took a picture and sent it to my sister to document it. Ha Ha. We asked twice at the desk if they could do something about it and to their credit, they sent up a technician twice. It basically made no difference. So BE AWARE! We had an ipad and 2 iphones. There was also an outside area at the end of our corridor so we spent some time out there in the evening with our wine and vodka (self-purchased). No one else was out there at all and we had good views of the city especially at night. We did not eat a meal there. We did go to the Sky Lounge once because we had received a card for a complimentary drink. That is another issue. We got the card because we called and asked for assistance on some information. No one ever got back to us.. So they gave us the complimentary drink. We had a little bit of an issue with the waitress in the lounge but eventually we got our free alcoholic beverage. The location is good to walk all over the city or to catch trams or a canal tour or buses or to take the train. But if you want to catch a quick bite first thing in the morning, don't expect many restaurants near there to be open until after 9 AM or to have fabulous food in that immediate area. That requires some more walking. There is a Starbucks right at the hotel too if you crave your coffee fix. They hotel also had free water and apples in the lobby at all times and we received free cookies when we checked in. Overall, if you are aware of the wifi situation, it is a good place to stay. The staff was very nice (except the non-call back) and the concierge helped us with tour tickets. Hilton was very good to us when we took issue with some things.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for this elaborate feedback, we highly appreciate this.

It is good to hear that your experience was positive. Even if the WiFi is free, the signal should be good, and strong. Would you be so kind to reach out to us and tell us the details of your stay? We would like to find out which room you stayed in, so we can address the WiFi situation in that room in particular. We apologize that have not been able to solve this situation on the spot.

We hope you will consider staying with us again. If you do, we will make sure WiFi will be perfect, to ensure your entire stay will be one to never forget.

Thank you for staying with us.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Location Fantastic right in the middle of things. Our room terrible view but its the service that lets this hotel down we have been member of HHounours for years and have always enjoyed our stays at hiltons around the world, we asked when booking in if the room was a twin and assured it was then when we got to room it was a double, we then were asked to wait for someone to phone us in room to arrange a change. No one did phone we then went to reception where the same receptionist assured us that the same room could be made up as a twin and that it would be done in 30 mins, this was not done we went out into town as did not want to miss any more of our holiday. When we returned 3hrs later still not done so again the trip to the reception with more reasurances. No appologies. When we returned that evening after dinner it was done but what a lot of messing about. We have an excecutive room which is ok but the decor is not very interesting a bit like a slightly upgraded travel lodge. The single beds very narrow. Breakfast was good with lots of variety. Enjoyed the skylounge but the prices of the drinks were eye watering but what I expect in a city hotel. We asked the front desk to book a restaurant for us which they did and said they would let us know when they had managed to contact the restaurant and confirm that they were able to get a reservation, they made the reservation but failed to let us know so nearly there but not quite. A very mixed bag. We have a few more days to go so it might get better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for reaching out to us and sharing your experiences.

First let me apologize that you experienced servive that was less than excellent. This should never be the case! As a Hhonors Member we should know your preferences in advance, and I regret that we have not been able to react to this timely and adequate.

We hope that you did enjoy the positive parts of your stay. Please reach out to us for future stays, for we will make sure your room will be ready for you with all your preferences, and that communication will be more efficient.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Booked for two nights at this central Amsterdam hotel,(Oct 11-13). I like the Hilton Doubletree chain, and I like this hotel, good location right by Centraal Station and 5-6 minutes to the major attractions of this vibrant and exciting European city. Checking in on a wet Friday afternoon, was quick, efficient and warming, especially due to the delicious warm cookie, Hilton insist on giving to every guest. My room was on the 11th floor, an executive room, my receptionist failed to mention that as I'd booked an executive room, I was entitled to use the Executive Lounge, where they lay on a complimentary breakfast. The room (1107) was very clean, modern and nicely furnished (not unlike the London Doubletrees), again, absolutely spotless, good view of the river too. I noticed as I walked out of the elevator, that the SkyLounge was situated right near the guest rooms, oh how I rued the decision to have a room on this floor. Friday evening, no noise whatsoever, but Saturday night, the bar was crowded and the doors to the bar and what separates the lift lobby and guest rooms, were open, and stayed that way til very late, twice I had to go out and close the lift lobby doors, left open by absent minded guests. I mentioned this to Maurice who checked me out this morning, he was very courteous and charming (even at 6.30am !) he informed me that he would have a word with the bar staff. Apart from being kept awake til gone 2am I had a fairly decent nights sleep. So, to sum up, an excellent location for exploring Amsterdam, a very good hotel, great staff, very friendly (even in the early mornings), just need to fix those SkyLounge doors Hilton !!

Room Tip: If you want to party, ask for an executive room on the 11th floor. If you want to sleep, don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for this elaborate feedback on your recent stay.

It is very good to read that your overall experience was so positive.

Regarding the Skylounge doors, this is something we take very seriously. We have instructed the Skylounge and our duty managers to take this into account, and to check on regular base if the doors are still closed.

We are honoured you chose for our hotel, and we sincerely hope we may welcome you again in the near future.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hotel is right next to Central Station. Modern design. Rooms are quite narrow, the standard room looks on courtyard. Free wifi and Hilton luxury. Visit the Sky Lounge in the evening, gives unique picture at Amsterdam. Breakfast well cared for. Caution: tea water tasted like coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for the feedback! It is good to hear that you experienced our hotel as modern and well located.

I am sorry to read that you felt the size of the room was too narrow. Our rooms have been designed to offer a comfortable stay with all facilities you may expect from a 4 star property, making maximum use of the limited space available on a prime city centre location.

Furthermore, tea water should never taste like coffee. Should you encounter this again during your next stay, please reach out to one of our employees as we will make sure immediately that you will receive new tea water.

Again thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you again real soon in our hotel to enjoy the views from our Skylounge.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

i Choose this hotel for the location .it is nice for me but little cold in august for me .Hotel Have big windows that is why it comes to me cold .For me not to much problem but in winter ...? i donnot know .Hotel offer cokkies on your check in .it is so nice for me .Good luck and have a more guest

Room Tip: lıce location new hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!

It is good to hear that the location of the hotel was a convenience for you, and that you appreciated the cookie upon check-in.

The temperature is adjustable in all rooms individually. Should you stay with us a next time, and you find the room to be too cold, please contact our duty manager. We will make sure the room will be at your desired temperature!

We hope to welcome you again real soon.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, Amsterdam 1011 DK, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.