We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location for the station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

If arriving by train this hotel is in a prefect location so you can avoid the taxi ride to your hotel. You can then walk everywhere. Hotel is modern and comfortable . Our only niggles were that paper cups were provided for in -room hot drinks with a note saying that porcelain cups would be provided on request. We requested these to make a cup of tea and they never arrived. It should not be too much to ask to have a proper cup provided without having to ask and wait.
We also asked for a recommendation for a dinner booking for a Rjsttafel and we found the place very touristy- we should have stuck to the Trip Advisor recommendations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
It is good to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for sharing this!

We will take the feedback into consideration regarding the paper/porcelain cups. Please reach out to us for your next stay. We will make sure we will have the porcelain cups ready upon your arrival and that we have a list of suggestions ready for you for restaurants in the area.

We hope to welcome you again.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,646
    1,283
    352
    97
    54
See reviews for
356
1,539
183
597
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (944)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a good location. Very near to Centraal station where the life is all around till late nights. Hotel is staff is very friendly and they also understand all Hilton Value for money concept. I am really impressed by this place.

Room Tip: Try the rooms on the City/Canal side so you can avoid train sound on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we greatly appreciate it!

It is wonderful to hear that you experienced our staff as very friendly and that you were really impressed by our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hotel is nice overall, great location. Room is nice, as Gold upgraded to Deluxe room. Deluxe feels a bit small for their upgraded product. Lounge is nice, good snacks and drinks. Location is the real bonus, super close to everything interesting and important to visit. 20 minutes to airport on train.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking to time to share your feedback with us. It is greatly appreciated!

It is good to hear that we were able to upgrade you to a Deluxe room due to your HHonors status. I am sorry to hear the size of the room did not meet your expectations. For future references; if you require a larger room, we do have suites available for a supplement.
Please contact the reservations department for more information regarding a suite booking.

It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the Executive Lounge!

We hope you will visit us again in the near future,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Doubletree offered us a very convenient location to get anywhere. It is right next to Central Station - the hub for all transportation in, out and around Amsterdam. The guest services were knowledgable, helpful and offered purchases of museum passes right there. The hotel is clean and stylish. The only downside was the room did not have adequate space to unpack and therefore the open suitcases were always in the way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your honest review. We truly appreciate it!

I am sorry to hear the size of your room did not meet your expectations. Our rooms have been designed to offer a comfortable stay with all facilities you may expect from a 4 star property, making maximum use of the limited space available on a prime city centre location.

It is good to hear our hotel is in a convenient location and that our guest service staff was helpful and knowledgable. I will inform them about your positive feedback!

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you again in the future!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed in this Hotel July '13 with a friend. The hotel is at the epicenter of Amsterdam, a short walk from Centraal Station. For a European hotel room, I was pleased with the size and amenities. The staff spoke great english (as with most people in Amsterdam), there are complimentary computers in the Lobby, and the wifi is excellent.

The rooftop bar and viewpoint provides the best picture opportunity in Amsterdam. Truly, you can see the entire city while you enjoy a cocktail.

Further, we were able to enjoy the free Happy Hour from 7-9pm. All you can drink wine/beer and snacks. Inquire about this, it is well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share you positive feedback with us! It is greatly appreciated!

It is so good to hear that our rooms met your expectations and that the hotel was in a convenient spot for you. I am happy that you enjoyed our SkyLounge as well as the Happy Hour.

I hope to welcome you back in our hotel soon!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here twice in the past year. Each time was upgraded to a suite due to Hilton Honors status. Not cheap by any means, but the rooms overlooking the city have a great view. Very conveniently situated beside Centraal train station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We truly appreciate it!

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your upgrade to a suite due to your HHonors status and that the location is convenient for you!

We hope to welcome you soon again in our hotel.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was one of my stops on a vacation trip with my brother. We spent 2 nights at this Doubletree using Hilton HHonors points and received the complimentary upgrade to city view and access to the "Executive Lounge". With complimentary snacks, hot breakfast, and beer (in the evening), the Lounge is a definite plus. The staff was extremely helpful when asking for hints on sights around town.

We rented a car from Sixt - whose location in the Doubletree lobby could not have been more convenient.

The only down side is the proximity to the train station. While this did not impact us directly, I understand the train service is quite loud and runs 24 hours. If you can manage the city view, this is an ideal location - classy, clean, all the comforts of a major American hotel stay.

Room Tip: Request city view - further away from the train station the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us, we greatly appreciate it.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed the amenities from our Executive Lounge and that our staff was very helpful. I will certainly pass along the message!

Our rooms facing the IJ River and railway tracks are build according to the strictest norms in sound proofing.

Thank you again for you review and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.