We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €143
Ranked #49 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Convenient central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

New and modern build hotel, lovely rooms with great views of city, great location right next to the Centraal Station. Staff very professional and courteous; fluent English speaking. Full cooked breakfast with wide selection.

Room Tip: Choose an executive room as the views are directly facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
How great to hear that you had overall a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the spectacular views.

We would love to welcome you back in our hotel in the future.
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,877 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,361
    1,091
    297
    80
    48
See reviews for
278
1316
153
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

well its a avverage hotel. the service isnt that good. i would advice other hotels which offer better service. 1. coffe machine was broken. so no cofee is available. 2. staff missed our extra bed even we send a remind mail + call 3. after removing dishes from our room (roomservice food) and returning back 12 hours later, all dishes are still in the floor. so in a HALF day nobody took care for removing it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
It’s such a shame we have not been able to show you our regular service level. As you can read from other reviews your experience has not been representative for the level of care we normally provide. Would you mind to send me your details of stay for further follow up? I do sincerely apologize.

Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Check out procedure took too long and there was a long queue, but the staff seemed to be nonchalant about it. There was no 'Sorry to keep you waiting / Thank you for waiting' even in attitude. I was queueing in Hilton Honours queue but one lady took more than five minuets so this queue was slower than the general queue. Someone should have noticed it and conducted us to another receptionist. I complained when it was my turn but the staff just shrugged the shoulder and he had no attitude of doing things speedily. I was very unhappy about this experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I am very sorry to read you had a very slow check out! I truly apologize this has caused you an unhappy experience. Note we take your comments very seriously, as it is only through first hand experiences such as yours, that we can continuously improve our service.

The situation you describe does obviously not correspond with our philosophy on good service and therefore we will take this internally with our staff and make sure it does not happen in the future.

As there is really never a valid excuse for any negative experience, we do ask for your forgiveness and hope we may still welcome you in the future.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunster, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here a few times and have been very happy with everything' its in a ideal spot from the station and a short walk to everything you want to see and explore' rooms are clean' food is good maybe evening menu can be abit on the high side but there are options' staff pleasant friendly and happy to help' always had a good time and would not want to stay any where else' booked again for November and looking forward to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for considering staying at our hotel again in November! this is really rewarding!

I am glad you could reach the highlights of Amsterdam very easily from our hotel and that our staff was very pleasant. I will definitely pass on your nice words to the entire team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to boarding our River cruise. It was a perfect location from the Central rail station to walk to with our luggage and close to all the Amsterdam attractions. It was also close to the cruise port and we had no trouble walking our luggage to there as well after our stay. We are Hilton Honors members so we had access to the breakfast room and in the evening they had wine and hors d'oevres available. The roof top bar had great views over the city and waters of Amsterdam. Rooms were excellent and they supplied both regular and sparkling water in your room. Beds were comfortable pillows firm. No complaints at all about this hotel. Staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: We wanted and had a room opposite the rail tracks in case the sound from trains could be a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review. We are very grateful for this and also very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us!

I will most certainly pass on your positive feedback to the entire team.
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

As soon as you arrive to the hotel you get impressed... By the location right in the centre (by the central station), by the modern and beautifull hall and by the excellent first contact with the reception personnel (nice and efficient)... Have you ever received a warm cookie at 1am after check-in just before going up to the room?
The hotel common areas are just perfect. You get wi-fi all over. Meeting rooms are very nice and well equipped. Breakfast is fantastic. All service provided is really good, you feel as everywhere is trainned to be focused on client needs...
Rooms are small, but for short stays just enough. Decoration is modern and functional and you get anything you might need. It is really confortable. For more than 2 people i would advice a bigger Room than standard. There is a very nice rooftop bar with very nice ambiance and great view. Lunch buffet is Sandwich and light food type - loved.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
How nice to hear you fully enjoyed your stay with us and loved everything about it! from the excellent location of our hotel to the fantastic breakfast and the friendly service of our staff.
You have made an entire team really happy with your comments!

I would love to welcoming you back soon, since I'm confident you will receive the usual high level of service that we are so proud of.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Somail, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The location of the hotel is great, but thats the only good thing. This was my second bad experience with Hilton in Amsterdam.

Internet WiFi is extremely slow both in the room and lobby area. I complained many times to the front desk. The hotel don't have mini bar in the suite rooms.

This hotel is not recommended for business trips until they get proper high speed free internet connection in all rooms!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is really appreciated!

The hotel offers complimentary 30mb broadband internet throughout the entire building via Wi-Fi and wired via the iMac pc’s in all rooms. It does happen sometimes specific hardware does not connect to the internet server and as you mentioned the connection was very slow during your stay. I regret to read this and I apologize we have not fixed this issue when you complained about it. We will certainly discuss this internally and make sure it does not happen in the future.

As there is really never a valid excuse for any negative experience, we do ask for your forgiveness and hope we may still welcome you in the future.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.