We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #51 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Convenient central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

New and modern build hotel, lovely rooms with great views of city, great location right next to the Centraal Station. Staff very professional and courteous; fluent English speaking. Full cooked breakfast with wide selection.

Room Tip: Choose an executive room as the views are directly facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
How great to hear that you had overall a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the spectacular views.

We would love to welcome you back in our hotel in the future.
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,106
    1,643
    449
    117
    74
See reviews for
484
1,973
225
766
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

well its a avverage hotel. the service isnt that good. i would advice other hotels which offer better service. 1. coffe machine was broken. so no cofee is available. 2. staff missed our extra bed even we send a remind mail + call 3. after removing dishes from our room (roomservice food) and returning back 12 hours later, all dishes are still in the floor. so in a HALF day nobody took care for removing it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
It’s such a shame we have not been able to show you our regular service level. As you can read from other reviews your experience has not been representative for the level of care we normally provide. Would you mind to send me your details of stay for further follow up? I do sincerely apologize.

Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Check out procedure took too long and there was a long queue, but the staff seemed to be nonchalant about it. There was no 'Sorry to keep you waiting / Thank you for waiting' even in attitude. I was queueing in Hilton Honours queue but one lady took more than five minuets so this queue was slower than the general queue. Someone should have noticed it and conducted us to another receptionist. I complained when it was my turn but the staff just shrugged the shoulder and he had no attitude of doing things speedily. I was very unhappy about this experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I am very sorry to read you had a very slow check out! I truly apologize this has caused you an unhappy experience. Note we take your comments very seriously, as it is only through first hand experiences such as yours, that we can continuously improve our service.

The situation you describe does obviously not correspond with our philosophy on good service and therefore we will take this internally with our staff and make sure it does not happen in the future.

As there is really never a valid excuse for any negative experience, we do ask for your forgiveness and hope we may still welcome you in the future.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunster, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here a few times and have been very happy with everything' its in a ideal spot from the station and a short walk to everything you want to see and explore' rooms are clean' food is good maybe evening menu can be abit on the high side but there are options' staff pleasant friendly and happy to help' always had a good time and would not want to stay any where else' booked again for November and looking forward to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for considering staying at our hotel again in November! this is really rewarding!

I am glad you could reach the highlights of Amsterdam very easily from our hotel and that our staff was very pleasant. I will definitely pass on your nice words to the entire team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to boarding our River cruise. It was a perfect location from the Central rail station to walk to with our luggage and close to all the Amsterdam attractions. It was also close to the cruise port and we had no trouble walking our luggage to there as well after our stay. We are Hilton Honors members so we had access to the breakfast room and in the evening they had wine and hors d'oevres available. The roof top bar had great views over the city and waters of Amsterdam. Rooms were excellent and they supplied both regular and sparkling water in your room. Beds were comfortable pillows firm. No complaints at all about this hotel. Staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: We wanted and had a room opposite the rail tracks in case the sound from trains could be a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review. We are very grateful for this and also very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us!

I will most certainly pass on your positive feedback to the entire team.
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

As soon as you arrive to the hotel you get impressed... By the location right in the centre (by the central station), by the modern and beautifull hall and by the excellent first contact with the reception personnel (nice and efficient)... Have you ever received a warm cookie at 1am after check-in just before going up to the room?
The hotel common areas are just perfect. You get wi-fi all over. Meeting rooms are very nice and well equipped. Breakfast is fantastic. All service provided is really good, you feel as everywhere is trainned to be focused on client needs...
Rooms are small, but for short stays just enough. Decoration is modern and functional and you get anything you might need. It is really confortable. For more than 2 people i would advice a bigger Room than standard. There is a very nice rooftop bar with very nice ambiance and great view. Lunch buffet is Sandwich and light food type - loved.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
How nice to hear you fully enjoyed your stay with us and loved everything about it! from the excellent location of our hotel to the fantastic breakfast and the friendly service of our staff.
You have made an entire team really happy with your comments!

I would love to welcoming you back soon, since I'm confident you will receive the usual high level of service that we are so proud of.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Don't you just love this hotel - stayed here for 2 nights in a King City Suite with Living Room - what a treat. Love the Imacs - was a big City Inn & Mint Hotel Lover - so its nice you've kept the Imacs. Comp WiFi. Breakfast was great. Housekeeping standards were great. All round service was excellent from everybody. Well run hotel and I stay in a few. Very comfortable stay indeed.
One thing to remember and that is the location is good too - very close to Central Station. Think I've said everything now so anyone looking for a good hotel in Amsterdam look no further - this is the one!!!! Will be back at some point for another great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
You have made the entire team extremely happy with this comment! Thank you so much!

It is very rewarding to read you loved our originial concept: modern, innovative, new, young and and that you had overall a great stay with us; from the iMac in your room, the excellent service to the perfect location!

Once again thank you for taking the time to write this and for considering to come back during your next visit to Amsterdam.

I would definitely love to welcoming you back.
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#56 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,747 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,447 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.