We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely clean hotel good for disabled” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely clean hotel good for disabled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights staff are very polite and helpful.
Breakfast here is s full buffet and if you book the breakfastwhen you are booking its good value room's are very clesn and the apple tv/computer in the rooms is a technology essential.
But beware of the showers they are very slippery my mother slipped and really hurt her self.
I had a chat with reception and they moved her to a disabled adapted room and she loved it close to the lifts good wide doors and a double peep hole for wheel chair users. And you can hire a bike here to!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I am happy to read you had a nice stay with us and that our staff was polite and helpful with you.

On the other hand I am very sorry your mother hurt herself in the shower. We will certainly discuss this internally and make sure it doesn't happen again with other guests.

I hope to welcoming you back soon!
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,652
    1,285
    352
    97
    54
See reviews for
358
1,542
183
598
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (946)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cropwell, Alabama, Usa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Enjoyed my second occasion to stay at this hotel on business trip. The hotel is very well situated just a short minute or two walk from Centraal Station. I just take the train to/from the airport...it is so easy. I upgraded to the top room suites and find it very spacious with excellent work space. Bed is comfortable and overall nice accommodations. Apple computer/tv combos were available in both rooms of the suites...very nice amenity. Clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Great bar overlooking city on top floor. Unless something changes, I plan to stay here on all my trips to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Great to read you liked our hotel and enjoyed the comfort of our Suites as well as the wonderful views.

I am happy you found our hotel very easily due to our convenient location.

I hope to see you back soon!
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This property is well managed and the staff is extremely customer service oriented. The location is great for not only seeing the city but travelling in and out via Eurorail.If you are planning a visit to Amsterdam this is a very nice hotel choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing this nice review about our hotel. I am glad you found our staf extremely customer service oriented. I will certainly pass on your nice comments to the entire team, they will be very pleased.

I hope you see back soon.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We enjoyed a two night stay at the Doubletree. Location is excellent and the service was very good. Check in took a bit of time was check out was very efficient. Hotel is within easy walking distance to the train station which we were taking to Brussels at the end of our stay. We ate in the hotel restaurant which we found very expensive however the service and quality of the food was excellent. Hotel is close to the hop on/hop off boats which is a must if visiting Amsterdam. Hotel staff are very knowledgeable about the various activities to see and do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
I am very happy to hear you had a nice stay at our hotel and found our location to be excellent.

Hope to welcoming you back soon!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

very smart looking from the outside,but very sad view from the room,(unless your a train spotter )railway lines are not my favourite view,and although the noise was muted ,you could clearly hear the trains ,esp in the early morning,our room was small ,but clean and the (twin) beds were comfy,first time we have had separate beds on holiday,the tea /coffee were not refilled on one occasion and we had to call down for the bathrobes whitch were missing,certainly not the hilton type hotel we were expecting, more of a budget type feel to it (except on the prices)drink prices are about 2 euro cheaper per drink downstairs than the sky bar,which soon adds up if your in drinking mode.all in all i disappointment

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
I am sorry to hear our hotel rooms where not what you expected. I sincerely apologize about the noisy room. The building has been build according to the strictest norms in sound proofing, similar to airport locations. In response to earlier complaints we have already done thorough measurements and have been working with a specialized company to find the best solution. Sound proofing was confirmed to be within acceptable limits but nevertheless within the coming months extra isolation will be installed in rooms overlooking the railway.

Kindly note due to the location of our hotel some of our rooms have indeed the view of the train station which it can be a lovely and special view if you like trains, however I certainly understand your disappointment. You can of course always call Front Office in order to change your room if you are satisfied with the view or anything else.

Regarding the prices in the Skylounge, they might be higher than some other bars in the city, however we feel this is justified by the quality of the products we use in combination with the unique location on the 11th floor, overlooking the city. We aim to create a unique experience for every guest visiting our SkyLounge.

As there is really never a valid excuse for any negative experience, we do ask you to give us another chance and hope we may still welcome you in the future.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

After making a reservation at the Victoria Hotel nine months prior to our trip, I learned upon check-in that they had overbooked. They put us up at the Doubletree by Hilton and said we would be happy with our accommodations. Well, let me tell you, that was an understatement! We were assigned a suite...the Island Suite, to be specific. It was beautiful. It was a corner suite so we had views of the river and a beautiful view of Amsterdam. The suite boasted two Apple TV/Computers, a powder room in addition to the luxurious full bath and just about the most comfortable king-size bed in which I have ever had the privilege to sleep. We also had access to a free minibar...I don't know if it was free because of this being a suite, but it was nice. The lounge area was massive...with a comfortable seating area and dining table. We were also please with the on-site restaurant. The food was quite good and we enjoyed the breakfast buffet as well. As one approached this hotel, the exterior does not make much of an impression. It is actually not that attractive as a structure, but upon entering, guests are treated to top-notch accommodations. As we were leaving to check out I overheard a young couple who had just entered a regular room say, "This is amazing!" So I would think any traveler would do well to book at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I am very happy you were accommodated it in our of nicest Suites and could enjoy the marvellous view from your room.
We continuously strive to enhance our products and services therefore we value our guest’s feedback greatly.

I hope to see back soon in our hotel!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessheim
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We receiced a warm welcome. Room was big and clean. Location is perfect. If arriving by train you do not have to carry your suitcases trough town. Very easy and very central. Great view from the roof terrasse

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
How great to hear that you had overall a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the spectacular views from our Sky Lounge.

We would love to welcome you back in our hotel in the future.

Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.