We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights at the end of July, family if 4, with two teenagers. Very close to central station, 5 mins walk. On check in we were given cookies to sample, yum! We were also advised that we could have complimentary breakfast in the executive lounge, this was a surprise, although a little limited. Room on 8th floor, with a balcony, fab view of the city. Very clean and welcoming, Apple Mac which doubled as tv/computer very handy. Starbucks inbuilt into hotel which was handy, although complementary tea, coffee and soft drinks were available in the executive lounge all day too. Hotel also had a sky lounge, open till late, very atmospheric. Youngest teenager visited the gym, well equipped and virtually empty when used. All in all a great hotel, very friendly staff, especially Luka at reception, made my first Amsterdam visit all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear SDMC71,

As you have checked out from the DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station I hope you have had a safe journey! First of all I would like to thank you for staying in our hotel and filling in the guest comment card. This is really appreciated.

How great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We will certainly share your nice comments with our team, specially with Luka who made your first visit even more enjoyable! they will all be very pleased with this!

We would love to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards

Caroline Receveur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,646
    1,283
    352
    97
    54
See reviews for
356
1,539
183
597
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (944)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I couldn't have picked a better hotel than The DoubleTree Hotel Centraal Station. Arriving from Washington DC, I had low expectations of getting a room at 11 am knowing that check in time is at 3 pm. However Raymond and his supervisor accommodated my request and gave me suite 811. My original room would have had a corner view of the the canal but it was being cleaned at that time. It probably helped that I am a Diamond member but I've seen them assist other guests with a smile who were not HHonors members. Both bed and bathrooms as well as living room were spotlessly clean, bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows. I merely used the ITV as a computer. Breakfast at The City Cafe gives you an array of warm food, bread & croissants, select cheeses, salmon and even pickled herring(one of the best). It's location can't be beat as it is 1 minute walk to the Centraal Station. Best of all it afforded me to rent from MacBike and practice my biking in the area. I will definitely stay in this hotel the next time I'll be in Amsterdam!.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Annette E.,

Thank you for writing this nice review! We always appreciate it when you take the time to share your experiences. Great to hear that you enjoyed you stay in Amsterdam and the hotel.

I am very glad you were provided with an early check in by our colleague Raymond and his supervisor. Our staff would certainly always do their uitmost to offer you the best service and make you feel at home. We will make sure our colleagues receive your nice compliments, they will be very pleased with it!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and if you need any assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards

Caroline Receveur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carp, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at this property as we visited Amsterdam. We found the room to be very quiet, well appointed, comfy. The safe in the room was a practical addition. Large windows help to the impression of roominess. Large bathroom with shower (no bath, no issue with us however). The room was very clean.

We found the staff very helpful. We rented bikes from the hotel for a day trip. This is practical, but the bikes were not well maintained. You may consider to rent from Mac at the train station, for a few dollars more.

The location is hard to beat. Though it is very close to the train tracks, I did not hear any trains or track noise during my stay.

We found a sweet deal for the property on Expedia, which is what led us to stay there.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the canal. Less chance of track noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Rene B.

I would really like to thank you for your nice comments. For us your feedback is very important and very much appreciated.

We are very glad to hear you liked our hotel very much. The comfort of our rooms are designed to offer you all what you need when you are away from home and let you fully enjoy your stay. We love your note "Nice, quiet, comfy" and we will make sure we keep provinding this to all our guests.

it is great to hear that our staff was very helpful during your stay. We will make sure that all our employees will receive your kind compliments. They will be very pleased to receive this!

We value your comment regarding our bicycles, we will certainly discuss this internally and make sure all our bicycles are in good condition. This is indeed very convenient for guests who would like to make a bike tour in the city, they can just go to our Front Office and rent it for the day.

We would love to welcome you in the future in our hotel. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards

Caroline Receveur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I am sorry to say this but we stayed in a very noisy room almost on the railway tracks and the only view was the railway lines. Did not have a goodnight sleep and a disaster for a cushion. BUT the location is perfect , close to the Cruise ships terminal and central station. Check in a bit slow but the friendly and helpful staff made up for it. (peak season). The rooftop was a big surprise and not to be missed on a visit to this hotel. I still recommend this hotel we were just unlucky with this room. I did get a nice tin of cookies ( best in Amsterdam) when i booked out the next day.

Room Tip: Higher floors rooms and not facing the railway station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Mientjie S,

As you checked out from the DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station I hope you have had a safe journey! First of all I would like to thank you for staying in our hotel and for writing this review. This is really appreciated.

I sincerely apologize about the noisy room. The building has been build according to the strictest norms in sound proofing, similar to airport locations. In response to earlier complaints we have already done thorough measurements and have been working with a specialized company to find the best solution. Sound proofing was confirmed to be within acceptable limits but nevertheless within the coming months extra isolation will be installed in rooms overlooking the railway. Kindly note you can always contact our Guest Service or Front Office so that we can assist you with changing your room when this is possible.

Next to the above, how great to hear that you found our location to be perfect and that our staff was very helpfull druing your check in.

I am glad you liked our Sky Lounge and could enjoy the wonderful view of Amsterdam from here.

We would love to welcome you back in our hotel in the future. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend away. Staff were very friendly (I understand the hot cookies on arrival are standard for this chain, but a very lovely touch nonetheless) and helpful. The room was a little on the small side and there was a little railway noise but this is to be expected when it's two minute walk away from Centraal station! We bought through Lastminute.com top secret hotels and were pleasantly surprised for what we paid (our overall trip including flights and hotel worked out less than a comparable trip to London from the North). Great base for seeing Amsterdam from, and renting bikes are a must. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the railway do suffer slightly from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. We always appreciate it when you take the time to share your experiences. Great to hear that you enjoyed you stay in Amsterdam and the hotel. Love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in July. This was our first time in Amsterdam and we could not have been more pleased with either the amenities/decor/comfort of the hotel or its location. We also got an extremely reasonable rate on our room! We arrived via train from Germany at the Centraal Station and loved that we could walk directly to our hotel rather than having to take a cab or use public transportation. Make sure to go out the front side of the station for an easier and shorter walk.

The hotel's interior is spacious and modern. The staff was pleasant, check in was a breeze, and warm cookies never hurt. We selected a room with an interior view to avoid any noise from the station (as I had read other reviews that mentioned this as an issue). I can say that we honestly could not hear the station at all from our interior room on the 7th floor. The room was well appointed and included a large Mac that functioned as both a computer and tv, which made staying in touch with family and friends back home a breeze. The beds were comfortable, and the fact that the hotel has air conditioning was a nice change from some other hotels we stayed in during our travels throughout Europe. Even the Crabtree and Evelyn bath products were lovely!

The hotel's location is not only convenient to the Centraal Station, where you can access public transportation around the city, but also for sightseeing on foot. We had great weather and were able to walk everywhere we wanted with no problem. On our last night we also went up to the SkyLounge on the top floor for a drink. Great spot with incredible views. Be sure to check it out!

If we return to the beautiful city of Amsterdam we won't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Mederith,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying in our hotel and for writing this review. This is really appreciated.

How great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel during your first visit in Amsterdam; and that you liked our amenities and decor. We certainly do our utmost every day in order to offer our guests all the comfort you need to make you feel at home.

We are glad you found our location to be perfect and that you could relax in our Sky Lounge enjoying the wonderful views of Amsterdam.

Our entire team will definitely be very pleased with your comments and nice compliments about our hotel.

We would love to welcome you back in our hotel in the future. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Right next to Central Station, this is a perfect location from the airport and able to get out of town, and easy to get into the heart of the city. Excellent yummy cookies on welcome. Good hire bikes, but make sure you know your own bike routes for days out! Friendly staff, clean rooms and great. IMacs for personal use and tv.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and how lovely that you rent a bike and explored Amsterdam this way. Would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.