We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Hip Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #44 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Very Hip Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My man and I absolutely loved this hotel. This was our first time to Amsterdam and we really enjoyed this city. The Doubletree is a very hip hotel. It's centrally located, just a 5 minute walk from the train, tram and bus station. The staff were very nice and accommodating. They greeted us with warm chocolate cookies, which was a pleasant surprise, after traveling from Milan. The breakfast was impressive (many hot and cold choices). Our suite was also impressive with a lovely view. We enjoyed the iMac TV/PC. Be sure to go to the roof top and visit the Sky Lounge for dinner and/or drinks. The view is spectacular at night. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind and positive review. Good to hear you really enjoyed your stay and you will be returning back to our hotel. Looking forward to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,563
    1,205
    332
    89
    50
See reviews for
340
1,468
174
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (911)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was a good stay, but not amazing. The check-in staff were very busy, it's a big hotel and the reception area was constantly busy. The hotel was very proactive during check-in and was keen to ensure that I had benefits appropriate to my HHonors level. The concierge's directions to a restaurant on the first night is the only reason I gave only 4 for service rating - the position he marked on the map was not even close to the restaurant's location, although it was only a 5 minute walk (and 3 Euros of roaming 3G to locate it on a map!!).

Our room was a balcony club room. It was quite big, but narrow - the end of the bed was almost touching the desk/chair arrangement, which would have constrained use of the desk, had we needed to use it. The room was equipped with a Mac, which acted as TV, hotel information and workstation. Pretty good quality equipment though. The room was not cleaned thoroughly after the first night, but it was only empty drinks containers that we had used ourselves - if we had been staying longer we would have said something to housekeeping, but it wasn't important to us for a 2 night stay.

The bathroom was fine - a large bath in addition to a shower and the usual features of a bathroom!

The best thing about the hotel is the proximity to the Centraal station in Amsterdam. From there it's a short walk or tram-ride into Amsterdam, so if's convenient for getting around (although others may prefer a more centrally located hotel). If you need to travel by train a lot during your stay, then this is a great hotel.

A British budget finds this an expensive hotel, but all chains in Amsterdam were at the time! But of the quality hotel chains, this one gave us the best value for money, so I remain happy with my choice even with all the above considered!

The breakfast buffet was large and of good quality. On the second day, the dishwasher appeared to be playing up though as not all the crockery was squeaky clean (i.e. there were coffee stains on them).

I would stay there again though, particularly if I was on business, so whilst the ratings are not brilliant, it is a good hotel. I would give the hotel another 1/2 on the overall score if I could!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your detailed feedback. Appreciate your compliments and comments to keep improving the service and quality in our hotel. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked the hotel two weeks before going due to a great offer we caught online. We arrived at 10 pm at night and were asked if we wanted to upgrade to an executive suite (after we got the yummy chocolate chip cookie, a nice touch!). We declined that, then they said they only had a disability access room available, but we could change that the next day if we wanted. After seeing the room we decided we didn't need to change the room. We got a view towards the court yard (sea side which was on the other side of the hotel compared to the railways) and the room was huge. The bathroom had a big shower and a bathtub. There was plenty of space in the bedroom. In the closet there was an iron and ironing board, something you don't see at every hotel.

The breakfast buffet was amazing, I especially enjoyed the selection of fresh fruits. The service in the reception was nothing less than perfect and we also got to borrow umbrellas.

The hotel is centrally located in Amsterdam, only a five minute walk from the train station whch is very convenien. Red Light District and Chinatown are only five minutes away where there are lots of restaurants and cafes. If you are going to Rijksmuseum I would consider taking a taxi though.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again if we were to visit Amsterdam again, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the sea side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. Great to hear you loved your stay in Amsterdam and our hotel. This is really appreciated. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Warm welcome extremely helpful staff. Nice view of the city from Sky Lounge. If you like a modern stay close to the old city and transportation hub, perfect location. Prefer a room with a view to the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice compliments. Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and you received a warm welcome from our staff. Looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Location, location, location. Great place to stay in the centre of the town. Staff was just ok. Rooms are small but adequate. Price is good value. Clean with a good breakfast, really liked the smoked fish. Easy walking distance to most everything, but took a taxi to Albert market. Love Amsterdam and great place to stay for a quick weekend getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. Good to hear you had a great time in Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I have just stayed at Doubletree by Hilton hotel in Amsterdam, and were
pleasantly surprised by how good it was for the price. When we arrived, we were given
a warm large chocolate chip cookie each, and a map of the city! We were 2 hours early, but
were allowed to check in. The room had a great view of the canal, and had a Computer, which also doubled as a Television. There was tea and coffee in the room, which we haven't had in Europe.
I needed to print an email, sign it, and then fax back to Australia, they had 2 computers near the service desk, for people staying at the hotel, who needed to print. My email wouldn't allow me to, so the staff at the service desk, allowed me to sign into my emails on their computer, then printed
it for me, witnessed my form, and then faxed it back to Australia for me, free of charge! Nothing
Was too much trouble to them. The hotel is in a great position, next to Central Station! Great service, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
You have made an entire team very happy with your kind and detailed review. It means a lot to us, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great location, 5 minutes walk from train, tram and bus station. Within easy walking distance of old town. Warm cookie on arrival was very tasty and welcome. Our room faced a court yard so there was no noise from the train station or street. Very good breakfast with plenty of choice. Friendly helpful staff. Has a Star Bucks and is five minutes walk from the library which has a fantastic cafe and view,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Highly appreciate your kind comments and recommendation. thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.