We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, Amsterdam 1011 DK, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €143
Ranked #48 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Situated only a short walk from central station and very convenient for walking to many attractions. Wonderful views from the 11th floor Skylounge where we had breakfast each morning. Most of the staff were friendly and the service good. There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free use of computers in the reception area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with city view
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Very grateful for your kind and positive review. Especially about the breakfast which we specifically arranged in our SkyLounge during the EASL conference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,804 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,323
    1,065
    288
    79
    49
See reviews for
268
1279
149
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (808)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I usually check in and out of a hotel without much ado. The hotel was very nice and ideally situated, but I was disappointed with much -- though not all of the service. As an example, I asked for directions and was given three different instructions from three different staff. None of these were correct and the destination was visible from the hotel lobby. I hope the staff are new and finding their way and the hotel is supporting these efforts. Additionally, it seemed the hotel was making a concerted effort to sell upgrades at the cost of customer satisfaction and comfort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
I am very sorry we gave you incorrect directions. In general our team is very well trained and aware of all restaurants, shops, bars etc in the city. Customer service is our main priority and definitely more important than selling upgrades. I regret your experience has been different and sincerely apologize. Would you mind to send me the details of your stay?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Could not fault this hotel at all. We paid a small price for a room upgrade and it was certainly worth it. Great view of the canal and city, free breakfast which was amazing and had every possible breakfast food you could wish for. Staff were very efficient and helpful. Location was perfect. Would definitely stay here again and I recommend Amsterdam as a holiday destination for all ages.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive room worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you! Appreciate your kind review. We most certainly recommend to upgrade to our executive rooms or suites for best views, complimentary breakfast and complimentary mini bar. Hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree for one night prior to boarding a riverboat moored nearby. The hotel was a convenient walk from the Centraal Train Station. The sky lounge was very nice, and the included breakfast in the morning was excellent (it's not always included with your room). However, we had to call in an engineer to help us in our tiny room when we first arrive, since the shower door wouldn't open, and the complimentary computer monitor wouldn't work. Whoever built this hotel tried to be very techno, with a shower door hinged like no other that I have seen, and requiring strength and ingenuity to open. I also noted that placement of lights over the sink put you in perfect shade for shaving!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper floor with a view of Amsterdam and the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Definitely recommend our executive room packages as they do not only offer the best views but also complimentary breakfast.

The shower door in your room has been replaced, I'm terribly sorry for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This review has been a long time in coming. I stayed at the Doubletree as the first stop on my European soujourn at the end of 2012. Stayed a total of 7 nights, and made day trips out to Rotterdam, Den Haag, Maastricht (about 2-3 hours away) and Haarlem.

Easy enough to drag our luggage onto the train from Skipol, and get off and Central station and drag the suitcases 5-10mins to the hotel. And there is a resident Starbucks on premises.

Everyone talks about the warm choc chip cookie they gave on check-in, and it's a wonderful cookie (I hope they still do). Very soothing, esp after a long flight.

The hotel itself is 5 mins from the station on foot and very convenient for making day-trips to other cities. To get to the main shopping area across the river, its a bit more of a trek - about 15mins . In good weather it's probably ok, but I was there in early winter and with gusty winds and rain ... it was chilling walking across the open plains.

The hotel itself is nice and modern, and I enjoyed going down into the basement in the early mornings to use the gym. The iMac they provide for TV and internet use is also a nice touch.

Service was quite good, and the staff were usually helpful.

The cleaning can be a bit better though - there were stubborn stains and sticky surfaces on the dress console. And the showerhead was broken and had to be fixed.

We visited the bar upstairs once, and it gave a lovely view of the city.

I would probably stay here again if I'm ever in Amsterdam. It's cheaper than the victoria across the River which we visited, though that one is more convenient to the F&B outlets and shopping.

Lastly,
If you are planning to take public transport, try and buy the day-pass at the beginning of the day. It's easy enough to get on the trams/trains from the central station nearby. And if making early morning trips out of the city - it's not so far you can't get out of bed and there quickly (hop out of bed, wash up and to the train station in under 30mins)... but do note that you should try and get your train tickets the night before as not all trains run every hour.

The hotel can also help you arrange day-tours and advise on museums to visit. Ask.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Very grateful for your kind words and review. For your future stays keep an eye on our early bird specials. Cleaning quality is absolutely vital to us. The hotel is only 2 years old and we do all we can to keep it look like new. Would you be able to share with me the details of your stay?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel is ideally situated next to the central railway station, although that is still some 5-10 min walking since the hotel's entrance is at the far end of the hotel, past the restaurant and bar. The lobby is spacious and has a modern look. Check-in was very swift (as was check-out, despite a long queue of guests). And, of course, there’s the famous warm chocolate chip cookie.
My room was facing the downtown city, overlooking a canal. It was not very large but, to my knowledge, not many hotels in Amsterdam offer such rooms. There were ceiling-to-floor windows making the room pleasantly bright. On those occasions that the sun does shine, however, you may want to close the curtains to prevent the room from overheating, since the airco was not very effective in cooling, even at the highest setting. The desk was rather small and had a personal computer sitting on it, that acted as a TV. The choice of foreign (english / german) channels was rather limited, but then, who wants to go watch TV while in Amsterdam…
Internet use was complimentary, but I do not remember whether or not this was a Hhonors Gold/Platinum privilege.
The bathroom was a bit small, but OK. The (kingsize) bed was comfortable. In one of the drawers coffee making facilities were hidden (instant, unfortunately).
There are two bars, one at ground level, and one on the top floor (but that was packed on the night I went up to take a look, so I did not bother – although the city view is fantastic). The ground floor bar, by the way, has a few great Belgian beers and charges fairly moderate prices.
Breakfast is absolutely fine, serving abundant choices of hot and cold items and a swift serving of fried eggs if one so desires.
All in all I can definitely recommend this hotel, especially for the rate I paid (around € 200).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
So happy to read we have delivered you value for money, appreciate you shared your experiences into such great detail. Hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Wonderful stay in Amsterdam! Very well situated and close to the Central Station and public transportation. The staff was extremely accommodating and very polite. We were always greeted with a smile and a hello from every staff member. The breakfast buffet was top notch and very fresh with a variety of breakfast treats, including many of which were organic! Rooms were simple, but very clean, the only drawback I would say for the room would be the beds! The beds and pillows were not the most comfortable, and we were expecting a bit more from a "Hilton" brand hotel! Have to say also that we loved having a Starbucks that is part of the hotel!
All in all a good experience, and one of the best European cities ever!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. Hope to welcome you back soon, at that time make sure to enquire about our pillow menu as we do offer different types of pillows depending on your preference. Sorry to read we have not pointed that out during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, Amsterdam 1011 DK, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.