We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy walk to Central Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #44 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Easy walk to Central Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel due to an overnight layover to Africa. It’s a convenient short walk from the central train station and easy access to all the major sites in the city. The staff was friendly and courteous, the room & bed comfortable and clean. My only concern is the water temperature in the shower was erratic and inconsistent-the temperature would suddenly drop to ice cold. Breakfast was included, buffet style with basic breakfast foods. I would stay here again on another layover, however on a longer visit I would mostly likely consider a boutique Bed & Breakfast instead.

Room Tip: Terrace view rooms are much quieter and the canal rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Really appreciate your kind review, though dispappointed to read our shower did not function properly, it normallly should definately give you a consistend temperature. We will immediately check your room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,564
    1,206
    332
    89
    50
See reviews for
340
1,469
175
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (912)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Arriving by air after a long journey and taking the train directly to Amsterdam Central, it was great to see this hotel a short walk across the road. The staff made us very welcome on arrival.
The room had a nice view looking up the river. It was comfortable and quite and had all the amenities you would expect. All the major tourist sites were within close walking distance. e were leaving on a cruise the next day so were able to walk to the cruise terminal as it is only 10 minutes walk along the quay. Good location, nice stay and would stay here again when in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Higher floor with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
5 stars, that's a big compliment, thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic location only 5 mins from the train stations and close by for all other attractions. The sky lounge is fantastic with stunning views and the breakfasts were top notch! Would recommend a stay here just to experience the sky lounge!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Extremely gratefull for your kind recommendation. Always welcome in our SkyLounge, also if you are not staying in the hotel. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

5 mins walk from main railway station and 5-10 minutes walk into all the fun of Amsterdam. Hilon standards of cleanliness and service throughout the hotel and despite the 24Euro bill, an excellent breakfast room with lots of choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. Hope to welcome you back soon. Note our executive rooms include breakfast, so we would definately recommend to book the upgrade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just returned from a weekend trip and stayed in this hotel. This is a very clean, comfortable modern hotel, with friendly staff all round.
Coveniently situated approx 5 mins walk from Amsterdam Central Station it makes a great base to explore this beautiful and interesting city.
The rooms are a very high standard. We stayed in a deluxe twin room and had a hairdryer, ironing board/iron, mini bar, Apple TV/PC, tea & coffee facilities, complimentary bath robes and slippers and air conditioning.
The Sky Lounge on the top floor has amazing views across the city and the outdoor terrace would be fantastic in summer.
Breakfast is buffet style with a range of usual continental and English type breakfast, along with the not so usual chicken broth and noodles!!
Although we did not take a look, there is also a health/gym and free WIFI throughout the hotel.
Although it is in a quiet part of town, try to ask for a room at the front of the hotel (city view) or the middle as the rear backs onto the main rail line and our friends said they had the noise of the freight trains all night..
The only other thing to be wary of is that they do ask for a 5% city tax at check out. Make sure you look at your booking and see if this has been included before agreeing to pay it.
All in all I would recommend this hotel and would visit it again.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front or in the middle away from the railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We are all extremely gratefull for your kind words and recommendation. We do defintely aim to publish values inclusive of city tax on all our online channels to prevent any surprises upon check out. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have just returned from my stay at this hotel in the centre of Amsterdam. I only stayed here for one night as a stopover en-route to Rotterdam.

The hotel was very comfortable, rooms were all very modern and clean. Staff at reception were very friendly. Our room wasn't ready for the check-in time so they gave us an up-grade on our room.

The hotel is in an ideal location for exploring Amsterdam, lots to see and do in the immediate area, as well as having excellent transport links on your doorstep, e.g. tram station, Amsterdam Centraal railway station etc. Plenty of bars and restaurants outside the hotel as, well.

The hotel has a rooftop bar which has excellent views of the city. I found the staff that worked in the bar a little bit cold, and the drinks were expensive, however, definitely worth paying the price.

All in all, I found this hotel very pleasant and would definitely return. The hotel is especially good for business customers, as well as those wishing to explore the city on a weekend break.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel backs onto the main railway. Although I'm quite a light sleeper, I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
A guest recommendation is worth a lot! Thank you so much for sharing your experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I decided on a quick break to dam. Picked the Hilton due to location and me being a Hilton Honors Card holder. Paid extra for an upgraded room, but whilst we started enjoying out stay someone used a key and walked in. I shouted out and the person promptly closed the door and left. I rang to complain and they still couldn't find who it was! Also had a shower that never drained! They transferred us to a club room immediately which was superb. I think this hotel needs a refresh or a regular check as the room was in need of maintenance. On the whole the breakfast was excellent and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Really appreciate your choice for DoubleTree and sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. Please rest assured we check our rooms regularly and paint them 6 times per year to keep them in top shape. I do apologize for the unexpected interuption in the room. If you share with me your exact details of stay we can definatley check the locks to investigate what happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.