We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €143
Ranked #48 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Upon arrival we were given complimentary fresh cookies. The hotel was clean and the rooms were amazing - the imac computers were brilliant and the room was spacious and the bathroom was lovely. The bed was very comfy. The only problem with the room was that the view wasn't that great but I suppose the more expensive rooms would come with the better view (we were in a basic twin room) However, the view from the skybar made up for the lack of view from the room. The location was spot on - right in the centre of Amsterdam with many tourist attractions nearby. I would recommend this hotel and if I came to Amsterdam again I would certainly stay here. Staff were friendly and more than happy to help.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms would have the better views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,874 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,358
    1,091
    297
    80
    48
See reviews for
278
1315
153
468
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

In typical Doubletree fashion this hotel was orginally "The Mint" hotel which is still evident on some of the Bath Towels and signage in the hotel. We were upgraded to a City Suite which included 1.5 baths (with seperate shower and bath), seperate bedroom with iMAC TV, a Living room with dining and sitting area, the room was spacious and had floor to ceiline windows in each room with closable shutters. The downside to our room was that it was a long walk from the elevators but we enjoyed the solitude being at the end of the hall. We were able to look at the standard rooms they offer there which are rather small but they do have balconys.
They have an extensive breakfast buffet that we enjoyed every morning and a nice rooftop lounge were you could see the city at night while enjoying food and drinks. The front desk staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the transit system and we were able to purchase tram tickets at the front desk. The fitness center seemed like an after thought and was on the bottom floor of the hotel where the staff checked in for the day at; it included a couple of cardio machines and free weights. This hotel is located 5 mins walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station which allowed us to catch a ride every day to explore other parts of the city, it is also convient when catching the Ibahn or Thayls international trains as well. We'll definitely be back to stay, you cant beat it's awesome location and great views of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If at all possible try and get upgraded to any of their suites; they have the best views of the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

First of all, I chose this hotel because of the reviews on tripadvisor, so thank you! And what an excellent choice it was. First of all the staff are super friendly and made me feel so welcome from the very beginning. My room was large, clean and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was very good. The iMac TV-computer took a little getting used to but then was fantastic (free wifi). I had a room facing the canal and city which was amazing as there are ceiling to floor windows. The buffet breakfast although a little pricey was lavish with so much to choose from. The Sky Lounge has spectacular views of the whole city and it is worth buying a few drinks to see this. Other reviewers have mentioned that the drinks were expensive; I thought it was very reasonable for a 4-star hotel in the city. It is so close to Amsterdam Centraal Station; about 5-8 minutes walk (hauling luggage). There is a train from Schipol Airport which goes right to Centraal Station, so again, very convenient. The hop on-off bus stop is within easy walking distance as are the trams. Day tour buses will pick you up very close to the hotel. I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and loved it and will always stay at the Doubletree when in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Having a city facing room is magnificent, although I found the curtains not to be sufficiently black...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Simply fantastic! From the cost of the stay, to the superb location, clean, bright, smart modern rooms, with more tech than I have ever got from a hotel. The shower is so powerful it gives you a personal massage every time you step into it. The bed was a sheer pleasure to sleep in and I have had some of the best nights sleep ever. The hotel is just so calm and peaceful. The gym is small but very user friendly. Bars in the The sky lounge and ground floor cafe are very good to, but a bit on the pricey side. I do recommend a visit, but you can find better in Amsterdam. The hotel on the other hand I think you would struggle to find better in this fine city. We will be back again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here on my to and from a cruise. Hotel location is perfect if you want to want to the ship. It is on the edge of the city. Beds are comfortable, bathrooms super and service is great. Breakfast buffet is very good with a ton of choice and the Skybar is a perfect place to end a day.

This is a very modern hotel and very European and I liked that. As a Hilton Gold member, I was upgraded both times.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the city are quieter. The hotel is just down from the train station and you can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Booked this trip as a birthday treat for a friend - I emailed the hotel ahead of time to let them know it was her birthday...wow! When we arrived, after receiving the customary cookie, we were shown to our room, which had been thoughtfully decorated in balloons! Small hitch though, it was a double room, not a twin. After assuring the hotel guy that my friend and I were not that close, the room was changed with minimum fuss - we even ended up with a balcony, a significant improvement. But it doesn't stop there - as a birthday present from the hotel, we were given a ticket each for a canal tour around the city.
I cant praise the hotel staff enough, everyone was friendly, helpful and chatty, and in my mind, they made the stay. One morning we decided to order the continental breakfast to our room and not only did the gent on the other end of the phone personally come up to our room to help us decipher the menu, he also threw in a free portion of scrambled eggs when the feast actually did arrive. And boy it was a feast - well worth the price, and ended up as a two for one deal, which was even better. The hotel itself, as the other reviews will tell you, is brilliantly close to the station, and the ideal starting place from which to make your way around the city.
The hotel itself was about what you'd expect from this company, and the star rating - there was an ugly stain on the carpet at the door of the bathroom caused by a leak, the twin single beds we ended up with were a tad on the small side and wheeled around annoyingly when you were least expecting it.
The real praise has to go to the wonderful staff that make the experience great.
I can't wait to return to Amsterdam, and this hotel in particular.

Room Tip: Ask for a smoking room - you may end up with a balcony, which are high up, spacious, and give you aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station. We are happy to hear it was a success! We look forward to welcoming you again to Amsterdam – We enjoyed taking care of you.

Thanks again!

With kind regards,

Caroline Receveur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Great hotel. Great rooms. And loved the iMacs int the rooms the most.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your nice comments. Whenever you are in Amsterdam, stop by the DoubleTree by Hilton. We will take good care of you!

Witk kind regards,

Caroline Receveur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.