We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, very nice; good location for travel and exploration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, Amsterdam 1011 DK, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #45 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
607 reviews 607 reviews
316 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
“Overall, very nice; good location for travel and exploration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We spent U.S. Memorial Day weekend 2012 exploring the wonderful city of Amsterdam, and the DoubleTree Centraal station was our home base. Overall, the hotel offered a solid experience. In our case, it was also a superb value since we were using points for the stay. I always appreciate when a hotel treats you as they would any other guest when staying on points, and this hotel delivered in that regard...I felt like a paying guest.

The room was lovely. We were in an upgraded room. It had a spacious seating area, great in-room technology (TV is on an iMac, which can also be used for computing), plenty of plugs, and a pleasant, modern design. I appreciated that the hotel achieved stark modernity without losing its soul or appearing too trendy. The bathroom was excellent -- although the shower stall was small, it had a great shower head. The mattress could have been a bit softer, but we slept very comfortably each night.

Public spaces at the hotel were nice -- clean and modern, well-equipped. It's not a plush kind of decor, but it feels very nice.

The hotel's location was excellent. It is located within walking distance of Centraal Station, which makes getting to the airport a breeze. It's on the edge of the old city. If you are going to exclusively walk during your visit to Amsterdam, the location might not be as preferable as some hotels that are more central. However, we rented bikes (from the hotel, for a very reasonable 15 euro per person, per day) and with the bikes we had incredibly easy access to all of the neighborhoods we wished to visit (Newmarkt, Jordaan, De Pijp, etc.).

The hotel's services were what you would expect of a full-service property. We bought tickets to the VanGogh Museum directly from the concierge, which was such a convenience (and saved us lots of time by avoiding lines at the museum itself). Bike rentals were a breeze to arrange. The concierge staff took care of a dinner reservation. Check-in was extremely welcoming -- I was put in a room long before check-in time, which is so appreciated after a long flight from the U.S. -- and check-out was also excellent.

The hotel's breakfast was superb -- an ample buffet with a great selection of typically European cold items (meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, etc.) as well as more traditionally American hot selections.

There were two glitches during the stay. The first came when a housekeeper failed to give us washclothes or soap. We called and asked for these to be delivered; when we returned to the room after dinner hours later, they had not been. However, to the hotel's credit, when I called again the operator was extremely apologetic and sent the items immediately. My only other 'complaint' is about the service at breakfast. It was inconsistent -- one morning, we had a superb waitress who was personable and welcoming. The other mornings, however, the breakfast servers were less than welcoming and it seemed as if the restaurant struggled to keep pace with the number of guests (the buffet was consistently well-stocked, but dirty tables were not cleared in a timely fashion, etc.). I think much of this boiled down to a maitre-d at breakfast who sort of barked commands at both guests and staff and didn't do a great job of setting a welcoming, service-oriented tone. However, superb food made up for this small matter -- service at a buffet breakfast isn't a huge deal in the scheme of things.

So, overall, it was a lovely stay: great services, an excellent room, a modern vibe, a great launching point for days spent exploring Amsterdam's charm. I would happily return.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,181
    967
    254
    69
    43
See reviews for
243
1126
140
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

+ Great location, very close to station so you can pretty much get anywhere with great ease
+ Fairly new, so pretty modern and clean
+ Reasonably sized rooms
+ Free WIFI! They also had an iMac in the room that served as a TV as well as a computer. That was very convenient.

- Not up to Hilton standards... I actually haven't stayed at a Hilton, however having stayed at many big chain hotels, I assume that Hilton is usually up there with the others. This one is not, so don't expect it, then you won't be disappointed.
- Poor service.. It could be just a Europe thing, having visited a lot of south east asian countries that give very efficient service, the service is pretty slow and inefficient.. A part from a few key ppl (like the manager at city cafe and the head man at Guest Services), service was pretty poor. It can take ages to check in and check out, be seated for breakfast and for reception to answer the phone.
- Housekeeping: our room didn't get any house keeping on the second day! What kind of a hotel forgets to clean a room? Luckily as it was only the second day, we only need a few towels refreshed which they brought up to our room when we complained
- Cleaning products could have been better. They only offer 2 in 1 shampoo and conditioner combined in a bottle. So if you're not a fan of combined hair products, make sure you bring your own.
- Finally the hotel really needs to do something about their breakfast system. There were soooo many people sneaking in and having breakfast when it wasn't included in their room package. I felt annoyed as there were people genuinely paying for this stuff and yet others were able to get away with it so easily.

Overall though, even if it was just for the modern-ness and the cleanliness, I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the city side. You get a nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

all round a very good hotel,a little overpriced i may say for what you get.Really nice staff though,very helpful and polite.Like a previous reviewer said,beds arent massive but then i am 6ft4,you also dont recieve a lot with the complimentary mini bar.all in all i would stay here again and if you can get over the cost id urge anyway to try it

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We booked our room using hilton honors points. This hotel is in a great location, right beside central station. We took the train from the airport (8 euros)...took about 20 minutes. There was an ATM in the train station. The rooms were nicely furnished. We had a Apple Mac in our bedroom and the main room, mini fridge, coffee/tea. The bathroom had tub and separate shower. Our breakfast was included (buffet loaded with everything). We rented bikes from the hotel (15euros which included 2 locks). This was more than the bike place down the street but the bikes could be parked at the front door of the hotel and we were able to return them anytime vs only open hours (9am-5:45pm) at the bike places. The SkyLounge at the top of the hotel has awesome views but prices are much higher than elsewhere. Would definitely come back again!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS HELLAS
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Hotel very central, clean, with many facilities and amenities. the staff were polite and very helpful. Compared to other 4 * hotels ranging ansterntam the same values ​​that I think is worth the money (if we exclude the breakfast was quite expensive). large end of the chip is skylounge rooftop with amazing views and works at night as a bar with nice music and pleasant atmosphere!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We found this hotel excellent - early check in and a late check out wasnt a problem, the imac and wifi is great the breakfast one of the better hotel breakfasts and the chocolate cookie - fantastic. We were not in the room much but were not bothered by any noise and slept soundly, we were able to walk to all attractions, nice to get away from the loud touristy area, good views attentive staff .... the only thing i would add would be to have some of those lovely cookies on the breakfast menu

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Great location, walking distance from train station, to connect to airport or main line rail.
Also walking distance to old town.

Room was nice. HH gold provided city view UG and a few things in the minibar included.
I missed the breakfast due to a 7am flt, so out early.

They 17" Mac was nice touch, although not everyone might appreciate. I liked being able to skype my family without turning on my laptop, and it worked well replacing the TV once i figured it out. Power sun shades for the windows.

Otherwise mid line toileteries. Oh, yes they do have the choc chip cookies at check in.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, Amsterdam 1011 DK, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.