We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €143
Ranked #47 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Cavan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is located really close to Centraal Station so it was great when we were dragging our luggage off the train that we did not have far to walk. The staff are super friendly at check-in. We were given a delicious warm cookie on arrival. We were able to get a smoking room without any trouble. The room was lovely, perhaps a little smaller than I thought but still very comfortable. The iMac TV was great and not like anything I had seen before in a hotel. We had a view of the train tracks but could also see the water and boats coming in. Once the window was closed we could barely hear the trains so they certainly did not disturb us. Even though we did not leave the room until midday or later when we returned in the evening the housekeeping had still been done each day. The skylounge is a little expensive for drinks but definitely worth it for a treat. We were given delicious snacks and the staff were lovely. I really cannnot commend the staff in this hotel enough, they were so friendly from check-in to check out. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us on Tripadvisor after your recent stay at our hotel.

I am very happy to read that our staff was so friendly and really contributed to your pleasant stay. It is great to see that you enjoyed the confortable room you were in with an iMac for your convenience.

Thank you for your recommendations and we are truly looking forward welcoming you back again at the DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station, where we will have another Warm Chocolate Chip Cookie waiting for you!

With kind regards,
Caroline Receveur
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,853 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,348
    1,081
    294
    81
    49
See reviews for
272
1300
152
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel over easter and had a wonderful time. From the minute we booked in the staff could not have been more helpful. It was our anniversary and my husband's birthday. We had booked a standard room without breakfast as it would have cost 50 euros per day for breakfast which we felt was a bit steep, and there were plenty of places outside to choose from.However, the receptionist spoke to a colleague and upgraded us to a city view deluxe room, which included a free mini bar and full breakfast !! We appreciated this very much and had a fantastic stay. The mini bar was replenished every day with beer, coke, bottled water, pringles and nuts. The breakfast was superb, everything you would want. The staff were fantastic, our waiter, Tranuosfillios (hope spelling right) had to have a special mention as he was tremendous. Nothing was too much trouble, he was very attentive, courteous, always had a smile and it was a pleasure to greet him each morning. We have stayed 3 times before in Amsterdam but can honestly say this was by far the best hotel yet. The sky lounge on the 11th floor has wonderful views over the city. I would thoroughly recommend staying at this hotel and can't thank the staff enough for making our stay so special. Well done Hilton !!

Room Tip: Request city view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was with great pleasure to read your positive review on TripAdvisor and I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much, especially on such a festive occassion!

I have shared your kind words with the entire team and they are always very happy to contribute to our guests pleasant stay. I have specially passed on the congratulations to Triantafyllos for going the extra mile.

Thank you very much for "excellent" review and rating and for your recommendations.
We are truly looking forward welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Caroline Receveur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Spent only one night at this hotel, its new and has a great location, only a few steps from the central station and within an easy 10 to 15 minute walk to all of Amsterdams tourist sites.If you are going on a River cruise its also minutes from where the ships dock. The staff was very helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed in this modern hotel (formerly Mint Hotel) Friday to monday in early January. We got an amazing deal online. I dont care for cookies but the warm signature cookie on check in was amazing.

I mac in every room is excellent.

We had a corner room, with access to a balcony overlooking the City - amazing (I presume an upgrade but they never mentioned when we checked in). I hear standard rooms are compact, but who travels to Amsterdam to stay in the room.

Gorgeous hote in a fantastic location (couple of minute walk from Centraal station). Bathrooms modern and spotless, shower only.

Although we had breakfast included, we never made it any of the three days.

Loved our stay here and will be back.

Room Tip: corner rooms seem bigger with amazing views over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Lovely hotel, the maid was impeccable, staff very helpful and friendly, the mac in the room was great for looking things up/checking the weather. I was really impressed. It was also great to step off the train and a few minutes later be at the hotel!

Room Tip: We had a corner room facing into the courtyard and it seemed a lot bigger than the regular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here last year after it had just opened (as the Mint). Liked it but, there were a few teething problems. Went back for Easter this year and happy to say had a faultless excellent stay. Had a room on the front of the hotel this time so had no problems with noise from the trains. Fantastic staff service from check-in to breakfast to bars. Cookies at check in are a nice touch, good to see Hilton have kept the IMac TVs in the rooms - they are a real bonus. The Sky lounge is one of the coolest places in Amsterdam. We went to the Floriade at Venlo (don't bother) and the bulb fields at Kuekenhoff (brilliant) so location close to the station was great for us.
We've stayed in over a dozen different hotels in Amsterdam over the years and this has now become our favourite.

Room Tip: Stay at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over the Easter weekend in 2012. Overall the hotel is fantastic. It is right across the street from the Centraal Train Station which is extremely handy. Finding a hotel in the somewhat confusing "Canal Belt" would prove very difficult if you weren't familiar with the area. For us, being new to Amsterdam it was perfect. We had a room that faced the city and had floor to ceiling windows. We had a fantastic view. The room and bathroom were new and modern and of quite good size. There was an IMac computer in the room as well as free Wifi throughout the hotel. The breakfast was not included with the price we paid and was 25 Euros each so we only had it once. It was nice and had lots of selection but you can get much more for much less eating at one of the cute little cafe / bakeries not far away. All in all it was a great stay for us and would definitely stay here again if we were to return to Amsterdam. Would highly recommend booking museum entrances / bike tours in advance. Sometimes it can save you a few Euros but also lets you skip lines. You can print directly from your room and pick up at the concierge. We did this for the Keukenhof, Joyride Bike Tour and the Van Gogh Museum.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.