We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, topped off fabulous weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 10%
Ranked #53 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Watford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, topped off fabulous weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We can not fault the hotel, from the moment we arrived and was upgraded to a balcony room as it was my husband's 40th, it only got better. We had the most beautiful view over Amsterdam, good room service and guest service - as we couldn't operate the Imac computer/TV! The room was immaculate and comfortable, although a little small and no sign of the dressing gowns as mentioned in the hotel details. However, very comfortable, with lots of lovely touches and relaxing. The Sky lounge was also a good place to chat while looking over Amsterdam. The breakfast, although it got a little crowded, had a good selection of food. The staff throughout the stay in all areas where friendly and pleasent and couldn't do enough for us. The hotel looked like something out the Jetsons! but refurbished in a modern and comptempoary style. The hotel was well located from both the station and the centre of town and made it an ideal choice. We would very happily stay there again! Thank you Hilton for helping to make a memorable and fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,902
    1,476
    404
    111
    69
See reviews for
417
1,770
208
691
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,074)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night, however would have loved to have stayed for longer.

The hotel is located a 3 minute walk from Centraal Station, which is perfect because the train from the airport will take you to the station in 20 minutes for around 5euros. It is also located close to the main areas you want to see, red light district, cafes and coffeshops, madam tussauds etc We had no trouble exploring the city then getting back to the hotel, despite the state we were in.

The rooms are very clean and well presented as you'd expect with hilton (the hotels, not the sisters). In place of a television there is a Mac computer, which you can use to listen to music, watch tv etc or do what we did, put your travel photos on and review them all! The bathroom seems new and is clean, we had sufficent towels and no 'flooding' issues.

We found the service excellent, the staff gave us a late checkout for no additional cost and the breakfast was fantastic. We also enjoyed a drink at the sky bar which is well worth it, gives you a great view of the city.

Downsides: the rooms are small (not teeny tiny, but definitely smallish). We stayed in room 536 which faced into other rooms, so didn't have a view. Also, the shower is quite small and you would only really want to have one person in the bathroom at one time.

Overall though, we found the hotel very clean and enjoyable, location great, staff friendly, breakfast delicious and would definitely recommend it and stay there again ourselves.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 536 which faces into another side of rooms, I would ensure I got a room with a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel right by the station is quiet and very nice. The building and rooms have been renovated recently so it provides a nice and contemporary atmosphere. We had a corner view room facing canal and the city, very nice. Size of the room (junior suite) was nice with a sofa part. Furnitures are pretty nice and new so fair enough! Bed was quite small (queen size only). The hotel is just outside city center so very easily reachable just walking. Very good price/quality level!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just returned from the Doubletree by Hilton (formerly The Mint Hotel) Amsterdam with my family of 2 adults, a 15 year old and a 10 year old. The hotel is quite central and new and only 5 minutes walk from Centraal Station. It is also walking distance of many of the sights such as Madame Tussaud, the outside shopping areas, the indoor shopping plaza, red light district (we gave that a miss though), numerous affordable restaurants, the Canal cruise etc. The staff were very attentive. The rooms were quite nice if a bit on the small side. The Sky lounge has a beautiful view of the city in the evening. The beds are quite comfortable and there was free internet (MacPC/TV), which the children enjoyed tremendously.
A few negatives - The hotel backs onto the multi Centraal Station railway tracks (14), so at all hours of the day and night you had trains arriving and departing. It took some getting used to. The hotel food was expensive. On checkout leave your room 30 minutes early as the queues get very very long.
I must say though that I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors on the opposite side of the train tracks should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a wonderful weekend break in Amsterdam staying in the Doubletree by Hilton Centraal Station hotel. From the moment of our arrival when we were greeted with hot cookies to the time of our swift and hassle-free departure we had a wonderful stay. We were on the 7th floor with a room facing out towards old Amsterdam.

The room was immaculate and as shown on the website pictures. Having access to a free and fast internet service courtesy of the iMAC was great and it also doubles as your TV. There were complimentary teas (including peppermint which is a rarity) and coffee in the the room together with a hair dryer, ironing board and iron and a well stocked mini-bar. There were even spare adaptors if needed. The room was air conditioned but my only minor gripe was that the room could get quite warm (this was february) even with the air con on. However, you could open a small window which helped bring the temperature down.

The breakfast was great with a huge selection of hot and cold foods to choose from at the self-service bar. Room service was quick and courteous and you are liteerally just 5 minutes walk from Centraal Station. The hotel also had additional desk staff on at departure to avoid any delays.

Tip: when walking to the hotel from the station keep the hotels downstairs cafe and restaurant to your left and walk past to locate the hotel entrance (it feels a little like you may have missed the entrance but you haven't - just a few metres more).

All in all, a great stay in a great city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights for the football at Ajax hotel is in a great location for the train station and the Metro which you can take direct to the stadium, hotel even sells metro tickets.
room was great, Apple tv is fantastic and the bed is the most comfortable i have ever had whilst staying away.
staff all very helpful, will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room facing city. they also have smoking rooms so make sure you request your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Me and my partner stayed for valentines week and it was perfect! The location was spot on... Close to trams, walking distance to main tourist attractions and not far from central station. On arrival we asked if it was possible for a city view room and they were able to do it for us! The staff were very helpful! The sky lounge at the top of the hotel was the best part! You are able to relax after a long day out with a drink and nibbles and watch the city go on underneath you.. PERFECT :) Adisable to get day tram tickets instead of singles.. Can hop on and off when wanted to!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.