We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel, Modern, Clean and Perfect Location!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, Amsterdam 1011 DK, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €143
Ranked #47 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel, Modern, Clean and Perfect Location!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Myself and my Fiance stayed here on the 31st Dec for 3 Nights. We were delighted from the very start with the location of the hotel , only 2 minutes walk from centraal station. If you take the city centre train from the airport it takes about 15/20 minutes to get to centraal station, when you leave the station you turn left and walk straight up the road for 2/3 Minutes and you will see the hotel on the corner in front of you. The hotel is huge and you could not miss it. On entering the hotel we were checked in within 5Minutes, the reception staff were very friendly. The room was lovely, not very big but OK for a short stay/romantic break. The room was spotless clean including the bath room. There was a well stocked mini bar also ( very expensive) but comes in handy.The bed was very comfortable. There was an apple computer in the room and there was also free wifi which we really made use of, listening to music etc. Our view was over looking the river which was nice. We had great nights sleep on the 3 nights and had no problems with any noise.
The Location was another brilliant aspect of staying at this hotel. When you leave the hotel you cross over the river and the centre is right in front of you, this is where you find all the shops/ bars/ restaurants and coffee shops. The red light district is only about a 5 minute walk away and you can also find lots of bars and coffee shops here also. No need at all to get any taxis when you stay at this hotel. The Anne Frank musuem is about 15min walk from the hotel also. I reccomend a visit to the Heineken Ice Bar where you can go the 'Ice Experience' which includes a 3D show and free beer/cocktails.
The Hotel Restaurant didnt have a very wide choice of variety and it was very expensive but there is also a bar where most people ate and they have a good selection of foods and its not too expensive. The hotel bar is not very lively but its perfect for food and a few drinks but if you want a good night out I would reccomend the Red Light Distrct or the centre.
Overall we really enjoyed our visit to Amsterdam and the hotel really contributed to this. Its a bit more expensive than the rest of the hotels in Amsterdam but well worth it as you get what you pay for. A lot of the Hotels in Amsterdam are more like B&B'S or hostels but the Doubetree truly is a luxury Hotel. I would defintitly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,809 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,327
    1,065
    289
    79
    49
See reviews for
269
1280
149
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (808)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Beautiful hotel, good size of rooms with a lovely view over looking the water. Sky Lounge offers amazing views over the city. Great location, five minute walk to Centraal Station.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Good location, friendly. Very very clean and prestine. It is smaller than ant room we've stayed in before, but adequate. Lovely i-mac in room. Only a shower which kept filling up in the bottom. Lounge on top of building to see over Amsterdam. Didn't like the breakfast for 24 Euros-not a lot there when we ent for breakfast, wasn't topped up. We didnt have cookie on arrival as weren't any, but we did on departure-nice touch!

Room Tip: Ask for front facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness and location of our hotel.

However I regret the fact that the breakfast buffet did not meet your approval and the food was not topped off at all times. I will make sure this will be reviewed and improved to prevent this from happening again in the future.
With regards to the shower that kept filling up, it would be great if you could inform us about your room number so we can make sure to fix the problem immediately.

Next time you will visit us again we will make sure we will welcome you at DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station with our special Warm Chocolate Chip Cookie!

On behalf of the entire DoubleTree team, thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are truly looking forward walcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Caroline Receveur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is a top class hotel, staff, food and rooms were great. The imac in the room is a great extra and free wifi throughout the hotel..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Sparmac,

I would like to thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station.

We are very pleased to read your positive comments on our hotel rooms, restaurant and rooms. It's great to see that the imac and free WiFi was such a convenience for you!

On behalf of the entire DoubelTree Team thank you very much for staying with us and we are truly looking forward welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Caroline Receveur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We made reservations at The Mint Hotel, a newly branded UK hotel chain (formerly City Inn) in Amsterdam, their first foray outside of the UK. We arrived, however, to learn that it had been taken over by the Doubletree just days before (after the Blackstone Group, owners of the Hilton chain in the US purchased the Mint Hotel group). Not a place I would normally choose to stay, but I figured they couldn’t have messed it up that quickly, and they didn’t. The hotel is situated right by Centraal Station. The location is somewhat away from the city centre, but it’s right by all of the tram lines so there was no problem.
You enter the hotel’s modern reception area. The decor is sleek, minimalistic and the cool music in the background tells you that you are (or you want to be) in the trendy spot in town. While there was a slight confusion around our reservation, it was quickly resolved and we were all settled into our rooms quickly.
The hotel has a lobby bar, a cafe and the Sky Lounge which provides some of the best views of the city. There is an outdoor terrace off of the Sky Lounge but it was too cold in January.
There seemed to always be some action in the bar, one afternoon there was a band hanging out after what was clearly a late night. The restaurant was acceptable, but having only managed breakfast there one morning my experience was limited. Our first attempt to visit the SkyLounge was aborted when we tried to get into one night and were turned away. A bit strange to turn away your hotel guests, but we did manage to return later that night to a much quieter scene and again, beautiful views of Amsterdam.
The rooms are small but clean (except for the accent pillow on the bed which was stained and oddly enough, never switched out). The rooms all have Macs in them which conveniently operate as a computer, your TV and a radio. The bathrooms were very modern with slate flooring and Groehe faucets.
With any luck Hilton will maintain the level of service and amenities that were introduced by the Mint and it will remain an exceptional value in the city.

Room Tip: Get a club suite room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is an excellent hotel, central for everywhere in Amsterdam
Rooms are lovely, but even with an upgrade they are still small.
Lovely White Company toiletries.
We had a lovely view and the balcony is a bonus.
Breakfast is fantastic. You wont need to eat till teatime.
Will def re-visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. This ensures a quiet room away from the trains at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for yourrecent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station and for taking the time to share your experiences with us on tripadvisor.

I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much and everything the hotel has to offer!

on behalf of the entire team thank you for your kind words,we are already looking forwad to your next visit!

Warm regards,
Caroline Receveur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

From the friendly and speedy check in to the comfort and cleanliness of our room we were very impressed with the Doubletree. Although it says you can't get into your rom until 4pm we arrived at 10am and were told our room was available - wonderful:) We were given a warm chocolate chip cookie which was a lovely welcoming touch too. The room was very well appointed, iMac's and very fast wifi was an added bonus. The beds are very comfy and the everything seems to have been thought of, there was even a basket of goodies that you could purchase from if you had forgotten anything - shoe cleaner, shaving kit, travel plug, mouthwash etc. The very best thing about this hotel is the location, it is right next to Central Station and easy walking distance to the red light district, the trams, buses and canal boats. The view from the Sky Bar at the top of the hotel must offer one of the best views of Amsterdam so is well worth visiting. So overall very impressed and I would have given the hotel five stars if it wasn't fort the fact that when we ordered room service we had to ask four different people to take our order, we had to wait a long time for the food to arrive and when it eventually did it was cold and almost inedible - very disappointing!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Joshandsam,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station.

I am very grateful for your praising words regarding the location of our hotel, our hotel rooms, facilities and services. We were happy to give you a warm welcome with our Warm Chocolate Chip Cookie!

I regret to hear that the room service order did not fullfil your expectations and that we failed in delivering your order on time and warm. We have already discussed this matter internally and noticed the several errors that have occured. I completely understand your dissapoinment and I promise we will take your comments very seriously and we will do everything we can to improve and make sure this will not happen again in the future.
Hopefully you will give us a change to make up to you during your next visit.

On behalf of the entire team, thank you very much for your kind words. We truly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station.

Yours sincerely,
Caroline Receveur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, Amsterdam 1011 DK, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.