We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central hotel but can be noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 10%
Ranked #50 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
412 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Central hotel but can be noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

The Mint Hotel is located right beside the Central Station in Amsterdam, which makes it a great location for anyone who plans to travel into the city by train from Schiphol airport (the quickest and easiest way to get into town). It also means that you’re located right by a central hub for trams, taxis, and buses and that you’ll be in a place where you can easily walk to attractions such as the Anne Frank house or Rijksmuseum.
The hotel is brand new and it shows in the furniture and fittings that have been used. Rooms have an iMac that can be used as a computer (obviously) or to play the DVDs that the hotel makes available free of charge. The iMac is also used as a TV so it’s got a smaller screen than the usual flat-screen TV that now seems to be the norm for hotels. Both wired and Wi-Fi Internet access is free. The Wi-Fi signal was good for PCs, iPhones, and iPads throughout the hotel.
The hotel personnel are cheerful and made checking in an easy process, even though we arrived before noon. Everyone seemed pleased to help, which is a nice change from the dour attitude that is sometimes met in other hotels.
We had a room overlooking the canals and Central Station square. The rooms on the other side of the hotel overlook the railway line, which isn’t so attractive. In our case, we could still hear the noise of the trains as they passed over a steel bridge en route into the station until approximately 1am.
The rooms are small and compact, which is what you expect in a city center hotel, but they are comfortable and clean so they are a nice place to spend a couple of hours relaxing while you figure out what to do next in Amsterdam. The beds are very firm and seem to be a small queen rather than king size, which might be important to some.
Like many hotels the contents of the mini-bar should be avoided unless you delight in spending large amounts on items such as EUR4.50 for 0.5L of water (sparkling or flat). There are supermarkets close to the hotel where you can stock up on items at a more appropriate price.
The breakfast buffet is a tad expensive at EUR24/head (the continental breakfast is EUR14/head). Cheaper breakfasts (less than EUR10) can be found if you take a short walk across the bridge in the direction of Dam square or you can grab a pastry and coffee in the Central Station. Alternatively, you might be able to book a rate that includes breakfast and save some money that way.

Room Tip: Take a room on the opposite side from the railway lines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,981
    1,531
    418
    113
    70
See reviews for
429
1,855
212
721
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed at this hotel in August and greatly enjoyed our stay. Booked a club room but on arrival found that we had been upgraded to a suite because they had overbooked their club rooms! Can't complain in this instance as we benefitted from their mix up!! The hotel is situated about 5 minutes from Centraal Station which was ideal for me as it had been some time since my last visit to Amsterdam, so wanted somewhere nice and central. Its in a great location for sight seeing as you can get to all the attractions quite easily. Everywhere is easy walking distance. We didn't have to wait too long at check in and the young lady who sorted us out - I think her name was Samantha was extremely friendly and helpful.

The Suite was a little on the small side but ok for us. It had two MACS which was good one for us to watch television if we wanted to and the other to keep the children occupied. Food in the hotel is very expensive but there are lots of good places to eat nearby but watch out for one or two the shops over the bridge almost opposite the hotel as they overcharge greatly. For example a grocery shop beginning with "L" opposite charged 8 Euros for one packet of crisps and 2 milky way bars!! So watch out! The best thing to do is stock up on provisions from the supermarket situated in the station, can't remember the name but know the initials are AH.

The hotel is a non smoking hotel but whilst we were there someone was probably smoking in their room which set off the fire alarms which meant everyone having to leave their rooms. It was good to see that the staff were calm and in control of the situation and once everything was checked out we were soon back in our rooms - so well done there!

All in all a good hotel which nice helpful staff and I would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a canal side view. Its a better view and quieter than the station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed at the Mint hotel for a week long seminar (held at the hotel).
Location was ideal as it was 5 minutes’ walk from the main train station and close to the bustling “Red light” district.
The hotel is located at a modern, brand new building, and the views from the south side (facing the old city) were stunning. Hotel facilities were awesome, including a modern gym, very nice public area and a great dining hall which served a superb, fresh breakfast.
Enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend this to any business traveler visiting Amsterdam

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing south, on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintAmsterdam, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Mint Hotel Amsterdam.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and all facilities the hotel has to offer. We are always very pleased to receive such nice feedback.
I hope the Seminar was a succes! For us it was a great event.

On behalf of the Mint Team thanks again and thank you for your recommendations. We are truly looking forward to welcome you back again in 2012!

With kind regards,

Caroline Receveur
General Manager
Mint Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I have just returned from a fantastic weekend in Amsterdam which was made perfect by our choice of hotel. The Mint hotel is a modern, trendy, clean, friendly hotel which is excellently located right beside centraal station. We were made feel like royalty for the duration of our stay. Our room was brilliant with Imac and all mod cons and a view of the city. We were given a complimentary drink in the sky lounge upon arrival as it was a special occasion for us and we were immediately impressed by the breathtaking views from here over the city. The staff couldnt have been nicer and the 'guest services' provide a wealth of advice and information on how best to sample the city highlights!We were just a walk away from the bustling red light area and Dam square and also from all the boat trips which set off from here to all points over the city. Our only complaint was we ran out of time to do everything we wanted to this time but it means we've an excuse to return again. We will definately stay in the mInt hotel next time!

Room Tip: We stayed in a club room on the 10th floor- amazing views and fantastic room overall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel is very easy to get to from the train station & has great views of the city. When we arrived it was very foggy & cold so we were thankful that we did not have to walk too far to our hotel. Check in went smoothly & the staff was nice. We had a room on the 5 th floor near the train station side, so every now & then you could hear the train whistle. Our windows had metal shades that were stuck & the shower had a control on it that wouldnt allow it to get too hot. After having the techs in our room a couple times trying to fix things, I asked to speak to the manager the following day. He was very understanding & helpful & arranged for us to switch rooms. Our new room was on the other side of the hotel (no train sounds) on the 10th floor with a balcony & amazing views! Oh and the shower got much hotter!
It really made a huge difference in our stay.
The hotel also has bikes for rent which I highly recomend as the city has dedicated bike lanes to help you get around.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I stayed in this Hotel for a business trip for 4 days. The hotel overlooks the Canal and the city. It has a Skylounge on the 11th floor with a splendid view of the Amsterdam city, canals and the Centraal Station.

The first day, they offered me a room that faced another wing of the same hotel, I asked them to move me to a city facing room and the did that the the next day! I got a room on the 7th floor with a view similar to the Sky lounge! it was just superb...

The hotel seems new and the rooms are modern. Every room in the hotel has an iMac that can be used as a TV as well!

The hotel is located just 5 mins from the Centaal Station and the city centre, location wise this was the best to have!

I was very happy with my stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: Insist for a city view room on a higher floor (6+). The view is superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed in late November. Located next to the Central Train Station, and within walking distance of most other attractions. Hotel is new with modern facilities and very clean. Excellent staff who are very helpful and knowledgable.
All trams lead back to central station, so you can go anywhere and then hop on any tram to head back to the hotel. would stay here again, and recommend it. Can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.