We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location near Dam Square / Flower market” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #152 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tuticorin, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Location near Dam Square / Flower market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

I stayed in NH City centre during my business trip to Amsterdam. As I read in trip advisor review, the room size is very small and would accomodate only a couple. If you travelling with kids, it may not be suitable.

The location is excellent - walkable distance to DAM Square, Flower market and many restaurant.

The reception staff are friendly and helpful in guiding me as I was travelling for the first time.

The breakfast is normal to any other hotel

The doors are heavy and always hear a heavy noise and disturbs a lot during night

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    693
    313
    111
    44
See reviews for
207
547
57
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt am Main
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

For a long-weekend trip to Amsterdam, we (mid-thirties-couple) chose the nh Hotel.
We booked the hotel based on Internet-research via an online-system.

When we arrived, our tiny (approx. 12m²) room on th 5th floor was almost 30°C as it got full afternoon-sunlight. As there is no fan nor air-condition and only a small window to be opened, we were suffering a lot - Beginning of June is not highest temperature season, we will not imagne what happens in August!
This room had also twin beds, although we've booked a regular double room.

We switched rooms next morning to an equal room in the 2nd flloor - same temperature but different sun exposure - and a regular bed.
We requested a fan at the reception and got it promptly delivered at our room- which made the stay a little bit more convenient.

We therefore stayed in two rooms which both had following characteristics:
- no air condition or fan
- very small
- large mordern flatscreen
- clean
- modern
- great view
- complete exposure to sunlight with no possibility to lower room temperature


The hotel is located directly in the city center and in a very interesting area - which makes it PERFECT for tourists.
Garage/ day: 35€

Staff was nice, VERY helpful and even did our room-switching move (we only had to prepare our suitcases)

----->AVOID in summer, perfect fit for citytrips in spring, fall or winter!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Nice hotel, very good location, breakfast is not very exciting.

Hotel is located very central in downtown Amsterdam within the inner grachten, walking distance to museum area and central train station. Comparably quiet. Hotel itself offers a good standard concerning room and technical equipment, Wifi only free of charge in the lobby area, bar is closing very early, however no shortage of pubs, bars and restaurants in the neighbourhood, no gym and spa. Breakfast is not up to the standard, just basic dishes offered.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Clean simple rooms in a nice hotel located in the centre of town. An easy walk with a heavy suitcase from the Spui Tram stop. Serves a nice breakfast with a resonable spread of items to choose from. For an Amsterdam Hotel the room had plenty of space (we had 3 in the room).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

The hotel is in a good location. A newer building, more modern than many other hotels I've stayed in nearby. Clean bathroom, good Internet access. I had a nice size corner room. I would return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

This was a good 3 star hotel in an excellent location near Spui and Dam Square and surrounded by good restaurants. Our room overlooked the canal at the rear and whilst this can be a bit noisy at night it is no more than you'd expect in central Amsterdam. Staff very helpful. Didn't try breakfast due to high price and lots of good cheaper alternatives nearby.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

stayed at the hotel for 2 nights with my partner and friends excellent location just off dam square 5 min walk. breakfast was excellant could eat as much as you like and plenty of choice. booked a standard room but for some reason we were upgraded to a superior. the room was spacious clean and had everything we needed. we arrived early (10.30am)and they let us book in early. staff very helpful and pleasant. would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam City Centre offers guests a gateway to the historic and beautiful Amsterdam. Located in the heart of the city and overlooking the Singel Canal, the hotel is only a very brief walk to the famous floating flower market, the powerfully moving Anne Frank House, and the bustling shops of Dam Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, NHHotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.