We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, cozy rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam City Centre

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Amsterdam City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #158 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Milan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, cozy rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Quite large 5 stories three star hotel for the Amsterdam standards. Book this hotel if you're looking for a nice hotel with great location: you can get there by a short ride (3 stops) by tram from the Central Station (connected to Schipol airport by train, 25 minutes ride) or by foot (15 mins) and you can reach almost any part of the town walking.
Lots of bars and restaurants mostly visited by international students from the near University just around the corner.
My room on the second floor faced the (silent) Spuistraat, definitely small in size but cozy and with a renewed large bathroom with a powerful shower. Nice staff.
Note you've got no minibar in room (you've got a fridge but it's empty) only vending and ice machines on each floor. Nice LCD screens in room.
I do suggest to book early in order to get bargain (prepaid) rates.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    667
    311
    108
    44
See reviews for
199
537
55
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

I stayed at this hotel in May with two of my friends. We arrived about an hour early for checkin and was told that our room wasn't ready yet but that the front desk would store our bags for us and to come back in about an hour. Once we got into our room we realized even though there was a elevator to get to most of the rooms for our room we had to climb a large flight of stairs with our bags. It would have been nice for the front desk to let us know but it was better then having to climb all flights of stairs to the 5th floor. Our room ended up being on the 6th floor even though they don't tell you its on the 6th floor. Our room was very large with 4 beds and a large bathroom and balcony. Everything was very clean and modern looking. We had a beautiful view of the canal and actually of the city since we were on the roof. The front desk was very helpful with booking tours for us and getting us discounts for the tour. One of the tours that we did was the Red Light District Tour which is a must. We were grateful that we went on the tour because we are three girls in our early twenties and it made you feel much safer to be in a group with a tour guide that knew where we were going. The only negative about this hotel was that it was a little expensive, but when you see some of the other hotels that are cheaper and the reviews that they get I was glad to pay a little extra for this one.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Been to other NH hotels before -- Barcelona and Amserdam. This one is more spartan (therefore I found it less pleasant than the other ones). Middle-sized room with widescreen TV and signature Agua de la Tiera toiletries. Upgrade to superior room: Euros 25/night; to suite: Euros 100/night. Would have been interesting to see, but it was a waste for my short trip.

Recption staff OK but not always helpful -- "Are you sure you're staying at this hotel?"

Breakfast abundant and at very convenient hours.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West London/Surrey
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Chose this hotel after reading numerous positive reviews here on Tripadvisor. Overall, no complaints, the hotel is approximately a 20 minute walk from the main railway station, so no need for taxis or trams unless you cannot do a 20 minute walk. The area around the hotel has a few bars/cafes, and the rear of the hotel overlooks the canal. The main shopping area in Amsterdam is only a 10-15 minute walk away. Red Light District is 20 minute walk maximum, Van Gogh Museum 20 mins also, so no need to get on a tram at all during my 3 night stay.

Hotel perfectly clean, the rooms were a modern style, but slightly showing a bit of wear and tear. Could probably have got a slightly better standard hotel further out for the same price, but could not beat this one for location.

Breakfast expensive if not included in your price, 19 euros I think, although the breakfast room was large and not at all overcrowded, I'm assuming it would be much busier at weekends - I stayed tuesday to friday.

Overall, I recommend this hotel if it fits in your budget range, no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, sc
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

we stayed here for two nights on the weekend during a two-week trip around europe. the location is great, right on the main street through the city leading to the city centre. our room had a fabulous view of the canals. bathroom was decently sized. they offered sunday 5pm late checkout at no charge, which we gladly took advantage of. there was a bit of confusion with a trainee front desk staff member regarding our being charged for breakfast after i asked three times whether breakfast was included in the room, which was comp'd (thank you for that). our room had a kind of odd smell to it but nothing to really complain about. high speed internet was available at a rather hefty charge, which is apparently the norm in europe. i sure do love the US and their generous internet!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

I have travelled to, and stayed in Amsterdam many times. Without question, the NH City Centre is by far the best place I've stayed.

Now, lets just put this in perspective, yes, the rooms are a little small and perhaps compared to other cities, a bit pricey, but you have to compare this hotel, not to all hotels in the world but to other accommodation in Amsterdam - and it is by far and away the best deal you can get for your euro - for Amsterdam City centre, it is great value.

The location is perfect - just off Spuis - which puts you on the main tram lines and within minutes walk of Jordaan, the best area of Amsterdam and within minutes walk of all the tourist attractions in Amsterdam.

The decor is modern, and clean, simple, all you need for a weekend break. with a few nice touches that remind you, you are in a friendly place. I found our room to be spotless.

Finally, the staff are Brilliant. Everyone from cleaning staff to reception and above had a warm smile and were always attentive and happy to help. I cannot rate their service highly enough. Considering the amount of tourist traffic this hotel gets, I can tell you this is no mean feat.

In my opinion the reviews here that give this hotel less than 4 stars do not understand the accommodation market in Amsterdam or are expecting way too much for their euro.

in short, perfect price, perfect location, perfect staff.

[ by the way, if you do travel to Amsterdam, do yourself a huge favour - don't bother with the red light area, it's horrible. Hang around the Jordaan and go to the great art galleries and café's and eetcafés. You will go home relaxed and feeling brilliant, instead of frazzled, ripped off and vaguely disappointed in humanity ]

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

Great location, nice staff, good breakfast buffet. Really needs to be renovated!!! The room was a tad small. Bathroom really needed updating. There was dirt in places that really shows lack of thoroughness by a cleaning supervisor. This hotel has potential if the NH chain gives it more attention.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam City Centre offers guests a gateway to the historic and beautiful Amsterdam. Located in the heart of the city and overlooking the Singel Canal, the hotel is only a very brief walk to the famous floating flower market, the powerfully moving Anne Frank House, and the bustling shops of Dam Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your NH Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.