We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH City Centre Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH City Centre Amsterdam to your Saves list
NH City Centre Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #158 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Very good location in the center of the city, close to everything. Stayed there 3 nights in July and enjoyed it. Good breakfast, also. The room size was ok considering that is an old hotel located in the city center. Would recommend it for short stays.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet!

Hope seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    839
    409
    133
    59
See reviews for
270
680
65
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Ideal location for short stay leisure visit. A good variety of cafés and restaurants available immediately adjacent to the hotel. A Tram stop (Spui) covering 3 lines is located just around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your reaction.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel.

We hope we may greet you once more as our guest.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Very old hotel that needs renovation and cleaning. Not so well organized - we have received stinky smoking room despite having booked non-smoking one. Very good location though - Spuistraat street is in the center of old town and close to all must-see places.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your reaction.

I am happy to read that you liked the location of our hotel. I would like to appoligize for the fact that you were booked in a smoking room despite the fact that you booked a non-smoking room.

Can you provide me with more information why this was done? Did you contact the receptions desk to ask for a roomchange maybe? Your answers will help me to dig in to this matter untill the bottom and upgrade our service for future guest.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levanger, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My wife,my son and I had only a one night stay here,next time we'll take some more days. Very nice hotel and staff. We also ordered breakfast and had a goodbmeal in pleasant surroundings. A very discrete lady tended the diningroom in an exellent way. We then left the hotel well fed and ready for our return to Norway. We really would enjoy coming back to your nice hotel and your wonderfulncity of Amsterdam. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very mich for the comment you left us!

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and especially the breakfast was of your liking!

We do hope seeing you again in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel is right in the heart of Amsterdam, we did not have to walk more than 5 minutes to get to main attractions and shopping! The staff were great, the rooms were small but had Air con so we were comfortable! Our room had a view of the canal which looked amazing at night!

Only 5 minute walk to Anne Franks house, Wax museum, main shopping strip and the red light district
Will be coming back and recommending to friends and family

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank your very much for your comment.

I am happy to read you recommend our hotel to all your friends and family as the hotel to stay in when visiting Amsterdam!

We are happy to have you as our ambassador!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We got an apartment in ground floor with view to the channel - very pleasant. The breakfast is very complete, although a little bit expensive. Very well located, nearby everything attractions and tram.

Room Tip: view to the channel is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment following your stay in Amsterdam.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to NH City Centre Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH City Centre Amsterdam

Address: Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH City Centre Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH City Centre Amsterdam Centre offers guests a gateway to the historic and beautiful Amsterdam. Located in the heart of the city and overlooking the Singel Canal, the hotel is only a very brief walk to the famous floating flower market, the powerfully moving Anne Frank House, and the bustling shops of Dam Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, NHHotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your NH City Centre Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH City Centre Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.