We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH City Centre Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH City Centre Amsterdam to your Saves list
NH City Centre Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #159 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    838
    408
    133
    59
See reviews for
269
679
65
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel is right in the heart of Amsterdam, we did not have to walk more than 5 minutes to get to main attractions and shopping! The staff were great, the rooms were small but had Air con so we were comfortable! Our room had a view of the canal which looked amazing at night!

Only 5 minute walk to Anne Franks house, Wax museum, main shopping strip and the red light district
Will be coming back and recommending to friends and family

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank your very much for your comment.

I am happy to read you recommend our hotel to all your friends and family as the hotel to stay in when visiting Amsterdam!

We are happy to have you as our ambassador!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We got an apartment in ground floor with view to the channel - very pleasant. The breakfast is very complete, although a little bit expensive. Very well located, nearby everything attractions and tram.

Room Tip: view to the channel is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment following your stay in Amsterdam.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This NH hotel is within walking distance to numerous restaurants and bars. It has a lovely restaurant that serves a full breakfast. The rooms are spacious and clean. We had a nice quiet room in the back corner and it was lovely. Also, we were on a business trip so it was important to us that the hotel have free wifi. We have been to Amsterdam several times but this hotel is our favorite. Can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one on the top floor in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you comment.

How nice to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. What fills me with joy is the fact that you consider staying with us again when visiting Amsterdam again.

We are looking forward seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I had a great stay. The staff was amazing. The people at the front desk were very very helpful, especially Jennifer and yaiza. They treated my party with experience. I recommend it for anyone else wants to come to Amsterdam

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am happy to read that Jennifer and Yaiza did whatever it took to help you fulfilling your needs.

Obviously I would like to thank you for your kind words and also on behalf of the two ladies I do hope to greet you again as our guest.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel twice. The first visit was on our second trip to Amsterdam in September 2012. We were impressed and returned for our fifth trip in February this year.

During the first visit the staff were attentive and approachable. The room was comfortable and cosy but not certainly not claustrophobic. We had a standard room facing the street. We woke to the usual hustle and bustle but this was only loud if you opened the window. We found ourselves opening the window on purpose and soaking up the vibrant atmosphere!

Unfortunately we visited on a very rainy day but umbrellas were available from reception. The location was perfectly situated within the Spui district. We didn't have to travel far so the rain certainly didn't defeat us! A tram stop is located opposite the hotel but it's within walking distance of all the major attractions.There are plenty of restaurants, bars, pubs, clubs and coffeeshops nearby.

On our second visit, the receptionist saw that we had stayed there before. She went out of our way to look after us and was one of the nicest people I've ever met. We stayed in a premium room overlooking the canal. A bridge was being constructed so it wasn't entirely quiet or picturesque but something is always going on in Amsterdam. It was interesting to watch and the room was so lovely I could have actually lived there. I'm serious! It wasn't huge but it would have made the perfect studio apartment!!! I didn't want to leave!

The bathroom was clean and the shower was efficient. There was plenty of wardrobe space. The flat screen TV had a good choice of channels. The bed was comfortable and the decor was clean and stylish.

We had no problem finding places to eat and we were also able to order takeaway using the free WiFi. We didn't eat at the hotel but the food smelled good and we heard positive comments from the other guests.

Our second stay was amazing. I would consider this hotel to be my Dutch home - at least until I win the lottery and can move there permanently!!!

Room Tip: If you want a canal view you will need to get a Premium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words!

Is is a pleasure te read your comments and consider our hotel as your home away from home when visiting Amsterdam.

I will pas on your comments to the staff involved to make sure they will also take notive of your reaction.

Thank you once again and we surely hope to greet you once again as our guest.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

A wonderful centrally located hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. The rooms are very comfortable. The staff is wonderful. It is just a few footsteps away from all the fun and amazing restaurants. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, General Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding your stay in NH City Centre.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and are considering staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to NH City Centre Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH City Centre Amsterdam

Address: Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH City Centre Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH City Centre Amsterdam Centre offers guests a gateway to the historic and beautiful Amsterdam. Located in the heart of the city and overlooking the Singel Canal, the hotel is only a very brief walk to the famous floating flower market, the powerfully moving Anne Frank House, and the bustling shops of Dam Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, NHHotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your NH City Centre Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH City Centre Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.