We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but could be much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam City Centre

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Amsterdam City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #157 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Not bad but could be much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Excellent staff service, standard rooms very small, air conditioning is hard to detect, good location, breakfast not worth taking unless you can eat a lot of food. Will look for a better hotel next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your reaction.

I am happy to read that our staff provided you with excellent service and I will surely pass on this comment.

Furthermore I am very sorry that the room you stayed in was not of the standard you expected.

Kind regards,

Rick van Schijndel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    667
    310
    108
    44
See reviews for
199
536
55
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
madison
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The location is excellent for seeing lots of sites. The hotel is good and has a very good breakfast for a reasonable price. We had a triple room which not all of the hotels do. And it had 1.5 baths and a great view of the canal behind the hotel. Trams close by and easy to get to and from airport via tram to Centraal and train from there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words.

We are happy to read that NH City Centre contributed to the succes of your stay in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Rick van Schijndel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week and it was very nice, and very comfortable. The staff were helpful as well.
We didn't buy the breakfast because you can buy cheaper breakfast if you go out.
There's some really good pancake and bagel cafes nearby.
Lots of bars and shopping nearby too.
It a little bit loud at night, but if you're tired from walking and touristing all day it won't bother you.
Great experience, I loved Amsterdam and this hotel was a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for your reaction following your stay.

I am glad to read that you liked the city of Amsterdam and liked discovering it while staying in NH City Centre.

I do hope to greet you once more as our guest.

Kind regards,

Rick van Schijndel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

nh City Centre in Amsterdam is a hotel with a good location, one block from Spui square and five minutes from Kalverstraat. A tram station is also very close. Our room had a nice view over the Gracht and the city, but only 1/3 of the rooms get this view. It was reasonably quiet and with Oropax, you could keep the windows open during the night. However, the room was small and crammed(you could barely open the closet door) and the bathroom was dirty and worn. Breakfast is expensive and characterless, so we resorted to bistros nearby, which there are plenty. Also, WiFi was slow (1 Mbit up and down), but staff was helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your effort to leave us a reaction following your stay in NH City Centre.

I am sorry to read that the layout of the room was not completely to your satisfaction and I do appoligize for that fact.

One aspect in your reaction I will pas on to the staff is the fact that you mention their helpfullness. Thank you very much for that compliment.

Kind regards,

Rick van Schijndel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The hotel very nice clean and very quite, the room was excellent jus as described the location was straight forward easy to locate. Not far fro shops, I like the decoration and how the staffs are friendly, it was nice.


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very greatfull for the time you invested in sending us your comments following your stay with us in Amsterdam.

I really liked your comment on the friendlyness of the staff and I will make sure to pass forward your kind words.

One again thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Rick van Schijndel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel was fine for a weekend break, and I would happily stay again. Staff were extremely helpful, and the only criticism I had was that there seemed to be a lot of young people congregating outside the main entrance to the Hotel, who didn't hurry themselves to get out of our way when returning.

Room Tip: We had room 442 which is a corner room, this is a Double/Twin room which we had 3 beds in. 3rd bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your kind words.

I am very happy to read you had a nice time staying with us.

The team sure hopes greeting you again as our guest.

Kind regards,

Rick van Schijndel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Drab, dowdy, dull.

Decor in this hotel is woeful. From the unwelcoming brown and cream reception it gets worse.

Rooms are small and badly designed, requiring us to squeeze around a large table to get to the cupboard.

Flooring was cheap laminate.

Beds were uncomfortable and itchy.

The window from the rooms looks in to a central closed area, surrounded by other rooms. We could not see the sky from our window.

This hotel is not cheap, but it is nasty. Only it's decent location makes it worth even cursory consideration.

Also, unfortunately despite being able to tidy a room, service cannot replace tea bags (roibos on the first night, never seen again) or understand the difference between coffee and decaf. Creamer was there one day, gone the next. Like Brigadoon ffs. A joke of a hotel. Please go bust.

Also - the bottles of water in the room are the 'mini-bar' but you will find no info as to this in your room info folder, nor details on the price, which is left out beside the kettle and instant coffee leading any reasonable person to assume it is complementary. You will then be scammed for drinking this water upon checkout. A cheap shot by NH hotels.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time taken to fill out a reviw following your stay in NH City Centre Amsterdam.

Clearly we did not match your expectations and I am very sorry for that.

You have indicated very clearly where the discrepancies were regarding your stay. I am happy to use your reaction towards the teams to improve our product and service.

Your comments regarding the in room F&B service had been passed on to the responsible department. the Head of Department insured me to make sure this will not happen again.

I am happy to tell you that we will be replacing all our beds and matrasses over the next months.

If there are any further questions or remarks, please do contact me directly.

Kind regards,
Rick van Schijndel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam City Centre offers guests a gateway to the historic and beautiful Amsterdam. Located in the heart of the city and overlooking the Singel Canal, the hotel is only a very brief walk to the famous floating flower market, the powerfully moving Anne Frank House, and the bustling shops of Dam Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your NH Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.